We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Year Ramblers descend on The Linton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse
Ranked #1 of 2 East Linton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Myself and 20 other thirsty walkers descended on The Linton after walking from Dunbar. The bar is quite small and we thought it would be quite a crush. However the very friendly landlady
ushered us all upstairs, including the muddy boots, to a function room with waiter service.
Walkers are not always made welcome at other establishments, and it was great to be treated the way we were. So thanks again to the Landlady and her staff.
Regards,
Matthew Greaves

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 157 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I stopped on a Sunday evening to have a meal in the Bistro and what a great meal it was. The food was cooked to perfection and the atmosphere was welcoming and relaxing. Staff were friendly and helpful we shall be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

After a wee drive out from Edinburgh, our Concierge suggested we stop here for a refreshment and some lunch. What a superb little restaurant with a great menu. Excellent hospitality from the manager, Michelle. There could perhaps be less Jack V artwork but nothing can hide the great food and warm atmosphere......
Try the ribeye with the pepper sauce - cooked to perfection.
We will definately be back even if it's just to hear the manager's laugh again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank VandMPeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Recently had sunday lunch here. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and so was our german shepherd. We were seated in the beer garden which was lovely,our dog was given a bowl of water then lay down content on the shaded grass. How great to visit a place where we had the freedom to feel at home while eating some great food. The staff were all very helpful and mannerly....we will definately visit next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

didn't know what to expect from The Linton .we were booked into the bistro and we were very impressed with the decor, the service was great, and the food was outstanding and very well presented. great choice from the menu plus a substantial specials board. highly recommend for any occassion. they also have a restaurant that is open on Friday and Saturday, the menu looks amazing for here also. the owner showed us around the restaurant and the gardens which look fantastic. we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed at the Linton for almost 6 months. Feb-through July-2011. After about 2 months I thought There is bound to be some place comparable to the Linton. I tried a few and came directly back. I have never stayed any place as warm and inviting as the Linton and I have been a business traveler for about 30 years. The rooms are Good, the staff is Briliant, and the food is beyond belief. If you are in the resteraunt and see a cheeky Yank seeting back in the corner backing in the joy of his seconf Home it will probably be me - Penn

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penn_2Spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I travel on business and the staff made me feel at home. I felt like one of the family. The Hospitality is great and only exceeded by the food. A great neighborhood bar. Come for a night and stay for a month. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a great view of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redstick100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Linton
6 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,355 reviews
5.9 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
325 reviews
5.7 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
520 reviews
7.5 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
8.1 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse

Address: 3 Bridgend, East Linton EH40 3AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > East Linton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Linton
Price Range: $78 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in this beautiful conservation village of East Linton in the heart of East Lothian, we are ideally located for fishing, golfing, walking and sight seeing. Our fantastic chefs offer menus featuring local and seasonal produce. Come and sit by the fire or in our unique walled garden (when the weather allows) and sample a few real ales or a chilled glass of wine. We hope to welcome you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms and Hotwire so you can book your The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing