We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hailes Castle

Hailes Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hailes Castle is lovely; a bit of a challenge to find, but if you download the GPS coordinates from Historic Scotland for all of their sites, it certainly makes it easier. This is in an absolutely stunning location and the pit prisons are pretty interesting, although creepy. Definitely worth a stop. No staff or shop at this location.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank celticdragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“What a hidden gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hailes Castle is only a few miles from where I stay but I have never visited before! It’s just one of those things – you never seem to visit the interesting places that are on your own doorstep!

So, on a lovely sunny day recently, my husband and I took ourselves off to visit Dirleton Castle then Hailes Castle. It’s not too difficult to find, but it is quite hidden in a dip and surrounded by trees. The road to get to it is a single track and there are not too many passing places! When you get to the castle, which is a ruin and unmanned, you can park outside the entrance, but there’s only space for around three vehicles. As it was a sunny day when we were there, it was actually quite busy and we found it difficult to get our car parked off the road, but we eventually found a spot a short distance away.

Although unmanned with free entry, the grounds are well kept and the gardeners were doing some grass cutting at the time we were visiting.

I was surprised to find that the castle stands on the banks of the River Tyne, but you can’t really see that until you walk into the grounds of the castle. It was so tranquil and families were enjoying picnics on the banks of the river and within the castle grounds. There were also lots of swallows flying around and I could see many swallow chicks in their nests actually inside the castle building.

This castle really is a hidden gem and is well worth a visit, especially on a gloriously sunny day when you could take a picnic with you (be aware though that there are no toilet facilities).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Always a quiet and interesting medium sized castle to visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Its peace and its slightly hidden posistion also hides the comfort within secure walls the Hepburn family once enjoyed

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScotLadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely unmanned castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a lovely place to come to in the summer for a picnic. It sits on the bank of a river and so there is plenty to see.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ruined but amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Well worth walking to....ruins but lots to see when you venture in to the grounds...well preserved with info boards and a fab view over the surrounding countryside...we visited on a damp, misty morning and it was very atmospheric...so glad it is being looked after by Historic Scotland.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dottybGalashiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hailes Castle also viewed

 
Dirleton, North Berwick
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to Hailes Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing