We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining experience”
Review of Ducks Restaurant

Ducks Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Aberlady
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $65
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ducks Restaurant is an intimate two AA Rosette fine dining restaurant with a long history originating in Edinburgh’s New Town, with just ten tables it is one of the best in East Lothian. It has an A la Care Menu and two tasting menus one of which is vegetarian. Ducks restaurant is open WEDNSAY to SUNDAY, November to end February. March to October it is open Wednesday to Saturday
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is an excellent fine dining experience and is everything you could ask for...and more. The food is first class with the taste living up to the fabulous presentation. The young staff are polite, very able and add to the overall enjoyment of dining in such pleasant and relaxing surroundings. There is nothing pretentious about Ducks; it is a small, enticing menu that you know is going to be fresh, locally sourced ingredients and you won't be disappointed. Owner Malcolm Duck made a point of coming round all the tables and spoke to everyone, thanking them for choosing to dine at Ducks. We travelled for an hour to enjoy this meal and I would gladly make twice as long a journey to enjoy this standard of meal again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much for writing, I am glad you enjoyed Ducks and its ambiance. The staff are really trying hard and very much care about customers, I am glad you thought the drive worthwhile. Remember we do great room deal for those eating with us especially in the winter; from about £60.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    49
    20
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant birthday dinner”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just had an amazing dinner in the main restaurant. Fabulous food from the new chef team, along with great personal service from Malcolm and his staff. The wine list is exceptional and worth splashing out on. Relaxed and friendly environment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindesay I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much for writing, I am glad you enjoyed your visit. I hope we see you again soon.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, even better service”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We ate their because we also stayed at the hotel the Kilspindie House. Malcolm and his staff had a great breakfast (as part of the stay) and we also ate at their restuarant which was very good and the people were super friendly.

I would go back any day!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Huskerfan8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much for writing, sorry to have than so long to post a reply. I do hope you come back and see us, hope life is treating you well kin Nabraska.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Weekend Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for my husband's birthday. Everything about it was excellent, food amazing, lovely little touches. Staff and locals very friendly. Accommodation was first class. Looking forward to our Hogmaney stay.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for writing, very kind words. I hope we see you in the not too distant future, sorry for being slow in responding.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent host .. Just perfect”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We ate in the bistro and the food was perfect .. A fantastic haggis starter and then mains of fish and chips and chicken with risotto .. First class and a fine selection of wine .. Couldn't ask for more

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jambo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Very glad you enjoyed Donald's bistro, we have changed the menu road a wee bit. You have posted your review on Ducks Restaurant site which is Donald's sister restaurant; linen table cloths, candles etc all in all avert different and slightly more serious experience. Remember we also do great value rooms if you want to stay over. Thank again for writing.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ducks Restaurant also viewed

Aberlady, East Lothian
Gullane, East Lothian
 

Been to Ducks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing