We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disastrous”
Review of Ducks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ducks Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aberlady
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

A friend and I tried this place for the first time today and we will never go back.
We chose to sit outside as we each had our dog. My son and his friend were ravenous after a day at the beach.
The bad impression started when we walked in. Neither of the 2 staff standing at reception greeted us. I had to ask if we could order meals to take outside. We were told we had to order at the bar.
On approaching the bar, staff were fairly busy however nobody thought to smile or say 'I'll be with you in a minute'. Again nobody greeted us and I had to wait 5minutes to ask for the menu which was not on display. We ordered drinks then took menus out to ask the boys what they wanted. We were told we could start a tab and did not have to pay for drinks at this point. We placed our food order at the bar. Soon after a man came out and said we couldn't have a tab and would have to pay up front. I duly went back in and paid for the drinks and food at the bar. I thought our order had gone through as a waiter at the bar recognised the order I was paying for. My son went in to ask for a jug of water for the table. It never arrived. We waited 25 minutes and no food had arrived. It was only burgers and fishcakes and the restaurant was not busy. After 10 more minutes I went to the bar to enquire. I explained we were in a hurry to get back to Edinburgh. After a further 5mins, the staff member came back. He did not offer any information. When I asked if he knew of any progress, he said the order hadn't gone through! Meantime, the owner had spoken to my friend outside and offered free drinks but it was too little too late. I asked for my money back and was repaid for the food. No apologies were given. Considering the bad service I think we should have been refunded for the soft drinks too.
The whole place seemed much more geared to keeping golfers in drink than providing a pleasant atmosphere for families and friends to have a meal in. The golfers are welcome to it.

Stayed: May 2013
6  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

I spoke to no one about this as is claimed by the writer, no one on my staff seems to know about this incident and they all pass feed back to me very fast. If the kitchen is under too much pressure with walk in business we stop taking tables for a while to preserve quality and make sure bookings are looked after. There is an area for dogs inside so no need to have to sit out. We have out side tables at the rear which is where we encourage folk to eat so we can give them table service, we try to limit the front to drinks and nibbles which have to be paid for at the bar because so many leave with out paying. If we have to use the front for food we have a member of staff allocated to it giving table service.
It has been a very busy week with the US Kids Open on in the area but we did adjust the menu for speedy delivery and upped the staffing levels.

I am very happy to hear from the reviewer directly, most who write this sort of thing do so anonymously sadly which befits no one.


Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 370 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at Ducks for one night over the May weekend holiday, received a very friendly welcome at check-in, and room was lovely with good facilities. We were not sure If we were going to dine @ Ducks restaurant, but very glad that we did!. The food was to die for, 10/10. Ducks fine dining restaurant is quite unique, it delivers all the quality you would expect from fine dining, but without the stuffiness or pretentiousness that sometimes goes alongside this. I loved the character and intimate ambiance of the restaurant, the service was very professional and attentive with out being intrusive. The cosy bar area is well stocked, again staff are very professional and pour a great Guinness. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return one day to see Mr Duck and his fabulous flock.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vesper_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

'10/10. Ducks fine dining restaurant is quite unique' Thank you very much for you very kind words and for taking the time to write. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff very much appreciate your comments. Though young they are a very good team.

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A clean well appointed establishment which maintains its high standards. Meals can be taken in the restaurant or bistro, both of which offer an imaginative choice of delicious and well presented meals. The hotel staff are friendly and courteous . The choice of malt whiskies in the bar would delight a connoisseur! I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book early as the hotel is very popular. Honeymoon suite is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for recommending Ducks at Kilspindie, I am glad you enjoyed our malt whiskys and Ducks Restaurant and Donald's Bistro, both have there own Trip Adviser sites. We are very much a restaurant with rooms so the focus is on service, Ducks, Donald's and the bar. We work hard at the rooms and they are very clean and tidy with free wifi and free view tellys.

Thank you very much for your kind words and taking the time to write.

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed at the hotel whilst taking part in the four-day Links Golf Cup. Lovely, clean, comfortable room, with excellent breakfast. The staff were brilliant - very helpful, friendly and efficient. Unfortunately the weather wasn't as good, but couldn't detract from the wonderful coastal scenery. Would recommend without hesitation. Will hopefully be back next year. John and Chris Freeman

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write, the weather was a bit miserable! To think this time last year we were in short sleeved shirts sitting outside. We very much enjoyed having you with us and in spite of the weather the tournament was great fun and played in good spirit. Thanks again for coming and I hope we see you soon.

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a three day golfing trip with friends last week. A warm welcome greeted us from Fiona on our arrival. This is a perfect location for golfers who want a clean friendly place to stay. Due to changing weather Fiona made several phone calls to book tee times to check which courses were open. We ate in the bistro from a wide and varied menu which can be thoroughly recommended. Overall a very pleasant experience which I will repeat and pass on to fellow golfers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philipryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to write. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us, sorry about the weather, it is normally very dependable but the past fortnight has been awful. With a bit of luck the bad stuff has all come at once and is out of the way. The golf courses are always very helpful to us in times of bad weather which is tremendous because together we have a better chance of making your stay more enjoyable. Look forward to seeing you next time.

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

For one of our friends, this was his 25th consecutive biennial visit ( for the rugby international), and I have been coming here for many years. As ever, we received the warmest of welcomes from Malcolm (the owner) and his wife, Fiona; and from Ros. The staff go far beyond the call of duty in being friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. we look forward to returning in two years' time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 429Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write and for your very kind words. We very much enjoyed having you with us and look forward to seeing you in two years time. Thank you very much for filling in the feed back form in your room and for sharing your thoughts of what you like and don't like with us. This kind of feed back has helped us make many of the positive changes we have made over the past few years. Thanks again.

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

,The weekend was very enjoyable my husband made this his 25th visit over 50 years, and I have joined him for the last 4 visits .Our room was lovely, the hotel was clean and fresh , the decorations were bright and interesting, the bar , Bistro and dinning rooms were friendly , tasteful and enjoyable . We found Mr Duck and all his staff helpful, even to the extent of joining in our celebrations after the rugby match .We ate in the Bistro and enjoyed tasty meals with a good choice , specials as well as the menu each night .The breakfast was again of good quality and you could request changes to the menu .Our group of friends enjoyed a good selection of wines and beers each evening. We have no hesitation in recommending the Kilspindie Houseand very much look forward to our next visit .

Room Tip: Quiet area so all rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eider, Owner at Ducks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

50 years not out!!! A remarkable achievement, well done, I am glad you enjoyed the weekend's proceedings and that you got to the game. I have not heard the piece on BBC Wales but I will get it from Brian. It was very interesting to hear about the place over the the last 50 years and I am very glad you appreciate the changes we have made since 2004. We can get too close to it all and let it become too personal, its great to have some one like you who has been consistently every two years and can see the changes. Honest feed back is so important. Congratulations on a great win in Cardiff, the Welsh team were fantastic, England played well and made a fantastic contribution to one of the best games I have seen in a long time. Thanks for coming and taking time to write.

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberlady
5.9 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,429 reviews
2.8 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
5.9 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
8.9 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
13.1 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ducks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ducks Inn

Address: Main Street, Aberlady EH32 0RE, Scotland (Formerly Ducks at Kilspindie House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Aberlady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aberlady
Price Range: $101 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ducks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1638, the eight bed roomed house and the neighboring school were converted into a 23 en-suite bedroom hotel in 1970. All rooms have central heating, hairdryers, ironing facilities, direct dial telephones, wi-fi access, colour televisions and tea/coffee making facilities. In Duck's Restaurant you can enjoy fresh local produce prepared skilfully with care. Other facilities include Donalds bar/bistro with an extensive whiskey collection, real ale and a sheltered courtyard for alfresco dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ducks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ducks At Kilspindie House Hotel Aberlady
Ducks At Kilspindie Hotel
Ducks At Kilspindie Aberlady
Ducks Inn Aberlady, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing