We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting & Friendly”

Myreton Motor Museum
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Aberlady
Attraction details
Dumfries
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Interesting & Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

It appears fundamentally to be someone's private collection of old cars and motrobikes that they let the public see. It's not a formal museum in that sense. I thought it was a little pricey at £7 each for adults too to walk through three sheds of cars but as the kids were let in free (not sure they were supposed to be) I've no complaint at the overall price. They were also allowed to get in and on some of the exhibits and get their photos taken and they loved that.

Friendly host who was happy to chat and some genuinely interesting exhibits. Not sure how easily I'd actually have found the place without satnav but it's certainly worth a visit if you or your kids are interested in old cars.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyline_Drifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    6
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quirky and interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were the only visitors at the time we visited,so we had plenty of time to look at the collection . Some very old cars with facts about their history on the side .A little dusty but for a private Icollection the owners had found some fine old cars . The men with me were talking happily , while I found a Talbut Sunbeam my father had when I was a child . A nice way to spend an hour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good private collection”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have to agree with other reviews in all respects, but as a private collection to visit if you happen to live locally is OK. Don't bother travelling too far out of your way. But these guys don't seem to be making much effort. The exhibit cards are ancient, many mis spelled and many silly mistakes. Obviously typed on an old typewriter. The place is dusty if not grubby, and several nice exhibits appear unloved and neglected. They are deserving of a better home, and clearly a substantial amount of money is needed to achieve their rightful place in motoring heritage.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GJSturgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quirky motor museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Myreton is a quirky collection of fascinating old vehicles flung higglety pigglety into a big, leaky, shed ! However, it's well worth the visit and ideal for passing an hour or so on a wet day. Just don't expect squeaky-clean up to the minute displays.

Helpful?
1 Thank Snoopycat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very interesting, a shame about its condition and price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

This is a private collection and yes the location is a little way out and the admission a bit pricey, but the collection is great!
Of course you are not allowed to touch it, when ever can you!?
It's not child friendly or accessible.
It's an old hanger, plus a shed and they are doing it up, but for a private collection I think it's good.
Toilets are available but not the best condition.
Dress warm as no heating.

Helpful?
1 Thank Themadhatter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myreton Motor Museum also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to Myreton Motor Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing