We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic for families!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Collalis

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JANS06
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic for families!”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a really lovely stay at Collalis. It was the perfect house for our family gathering with plenty of space both in and outside - including a tennis court! The house is in a beautiful location and very close to Loch Lomond.

Lois was a super host - incredibly flexible and super helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janefrsr
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family weekend away”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Excellent. A well equipped beautiful house. We were a party of 9 and everyone was well accommodated. Awesome weekend and would definitely visit again. Well done Lois you have excelled in letting your family home as a holiday retreat. It is amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassado...
1 review
“Spacious, well equipped, family friendly cottage in idyllic setting.”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lois, the owner was there to meet us. She responded to our texted questions promptly, and was always very helpful. Beautifully furnished and spacious accommodation in a wonderful setting with picturesque landscapes.
We had a brilliant stay and we would love to visit again.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetNeal...
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect family location”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely house in quiet location with pretty views. Perfect for a family gathering , very peaceful and private location. Lovely walks and lots to do locally. House very comfortable and well equipped .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valtos
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for a family reunion”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Lovely weekend in such a cosy house. Great location for a family get-together. Dog freindly too. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannahb11
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay!”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed here for three nights for a family get together before my husband and I were moving abroad.

Lois (the owner) was great, sent me lots of information by email and got back to me quickly.

Price was great, the place sleeps 10 so worked out affordable for everyone.

Location
It is set only about a fifteen minute drive from Balloch but up away in the countryside with no neighbours - lovely middle of nowhere feeling while still being close to a town! Huge grounds ideal for good weather and kids running about.

House
Beautiful, living room good size with enough seats to comfortable fit all 10 guests in. Fire was lovely (logs provided free). Very cosy for such a bug place. Rooms all charming and comfy. Bathrooms lovely and clean. Kitchen well equipped we cooked easily without needing to being any utensils.Lovely touches such as a welcome basked, high chair for my niece, lots of book cases so lots of reading material.

We had other family and friends popping over from Glasgow and Edinburgh during the day for lunch and it was easy to have them over as there was plenty of space and seating areas for everyone. And its such a good central location to be able to do that. One of my family members who popped over is in a wheelchair and she was able to be taken into the house, living room and kitchen easily. As there is downstairs bedrooms they may stay themselves another time as it has such good access for wheelchairs so that is worth knowing.

Cons
The only thing I would say is that it may be worth having some lighting or fencing near the burn as its a bit of a steep drop in the dark!

I would definitely recommend the place for anyone looking to have a family gathering! Thanks for such a lovely stay Lois!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmc3349
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A fabulous home from home, exceptional.”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A great country home near the town of Balloch yet surrounded by beautiful views of the countryside. The house was very spacious and perfect for our party of 10 family members. The beds were very comfortable and all the rooms were perfect for our needs. Plenty of space to socialise as a group or have wee quiet spots to read or relax. The open plan kitchen and dining area was great for small breakfasts and family mealtimes. The large garden surrounding the house was great for barbeques, relaxing and outside games with the family. Everyone has a great time and we will definitely be back. Lois, the owner was very friendly and welcoming and couldn't be more helpful. Can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and the privacy
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing