We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travelers have booked this property
High Wards
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
High Wards
Parking Back Lawn!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
High Wards
Parking
Back Lawn!
Gazebo
Bridge to Gazebo
Tennis Courts
Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Great Room
Great Room Picture Window
Great Room Games Area
Hallway
Kitchen
Kitchen Table
Conservatory Dining Table
Conservatory with Log Burner
TV Room
Laundry Room
Boot Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Bath
Shiny Tap!
Master Raindance Shower
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 2/3 Ensuite
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 Ensuite
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 5 Ensuite
Bedroom 6
Family Bathroom
Bedroom 7
Bedroom 7 Ensuite
Bedroom 8
Bedroom 9
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Victoria...
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 21, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We rented this amazing house for a hen weekend it was out of this world and more than we could have asked for. We will definitely be back and the owners Jim and Emily are so nice. Going above and beyond as there was heavy snowfall and some of our friends were stuck and had to abandon their cars. Emily even drove them home!! Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful property. Could not recommend enough huge fridges, 4 ovens and everything you could ask for in a kitchen. Swimming pool was lovely and warm and every room more or less had an ensuite. Beds were extremely comfortable and luxurious all the furniture is to a high standard just amazing!
Thanks again
Victoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lana S
1 review
“AMAZING”
Reviewed November 30, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

What can I say, above and beyond all expectations. Blew everyone away and suited a the wide range of ages perfectly. Will def be back with my family after a fantastic memorable hen. The whole place was fantastic, above and beyond and the food was brilliant. The catering also wonderful, Even the fussy veggies who are difficult to please loved it which is huge ;) Everyone saying how fabulous it was. Thank you, thank you xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughSchoe...
Didcot
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The PERFECT family- or large-group venue”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had our wedding at High Wards in July 2017 and could not have had a better experience, thanks to Emily and her team (with a special mention to Jim too!). We stayed in the house for five days, from the Friday to the Wednesday, with the wedding on the Saturday. As the house sleeps 21, we had close family and friends to stay with us too.

On the Friday night, Emily catered for all our wedding guests with a meal and drinks, and this was delicious, yummy, scrumptious - whatever! The wedding day catering was praised by all too, with special dietary needs even being taken into account, and the evening buffet again was superb. On the day after the wedding, all our guests enjoyed a BBQ, again being characteristically sumptuous.

The house is stunning and kept to an immaculate standard. It is luxurious but also homely, and we did not feel awkward with children & grandchildren in tow, with our dog present for the full five days also. The whole venue, the little touches like the swimming pool, garden games, tennis courts, the well appointed kitchen and the grounds are all magnificent, and lend weight to High Wards being an excellent venue in which to relax.

Emily and her team were brilliant. She is so easy to work with in helping to plan the Big Day. Clearly, she is a fount of knowledge for someone wanting to arrange big events there, and she could not have been more helpful in making things happen, with all the small touches we wanted. She has gone "over and above", in our opinion, in helping us with some extra detail to make our wedding so very memorable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C
1 review
“Great house in a great location.”
Reviewed September 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A great house in a great location. There were 13 of us staying for a work / social event and the house and the surroundings were exceptional. The house was of a high standard and Emily and the team were only too willing to accommodate us. A huge house with great social space. Highly recommended and I have been told by my team that we are going back next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSmallwoo...
Stoke on Trent
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Strictly Fab-u-lous!”
Reviewed August 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

And it's a 10 from us.
We have hired a number of properties for family holidays over the years and have sometimes been disappointed. We had high expectations of this one and we're not disappointed in any way.
Everything about High Wards is six star. The rooms (including every bedroom and ensuite) are spacious and beautifully furnished. The house is well stocked with everything you could possibly want. All the appliances are top quality. The kitchen is fantastically equipped - three double ovens, three dishwashers, coffee machine, enormous fridges and freezer. One almost needs an app to discover everything in the cupboards.
The bed linens are top quality and best of all luxurious full size bath sheet towels in all the nine bathrooms and the swimming pool. Unlike most rental properties they supply all the basics - tea, coffee, sugar, toilet and kitchen rolls, olive oil, foil, washing powder, dish washer tablets etc etc. Also they supply body wash and lotion in all the bathrooms.
We were a family group (age range 3 to 72 ) and there was lots for the children of all ages to do. The swimming pool is warm and provided hours of fun. Also there is a tennis court and a pool table. The play room has a toy cupboard. Full WiFi for the teenagers and a fulll Sky package which enabled them to watch Manchester United win their first match of the season 4- 0. Also a good stock of DVDS in the playroom for the little people.
The enormous gardens are well maintained and the views spectacular. There is lots on offer in the immediate area but there was so much to do at the house that we didn't venture out much.
There are two barbecues and top quality garden furniture on the various patios around the property which allowed the grandparents to escape and enjoy an early evening glass of wine in the evening sunshine.
The owners Emily and Jim are really helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
I could go on and on but perhaps I should just say that we have already booked it for next year.
In the words of my five year old grandson - Brilliant!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great House, Great Garden, Great Host”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The House is so spacious and comfortable without being overwhelming. Just so easy to move in and feel at home. The gardens are beautiful but also fun to play in.
Emily is a star who keeps it all calm and efficient.
We stayed for a week, loved every minute and were sad to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhona T
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly magnificent property”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed her with 16 friends and family to celebrate a birthday. The house was ideal and the standard of comfort exceptional, such comfortable beds. I highly recommend this property, suitable for all ages.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing