We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“MAGIC SCOTTISH WEEK END”
other travelers have booked this property
High Wards
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
High Wards
Parking Back Lawn!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
High Wards
Parking
Back Lawn!
Gazebo
Bridge to Gazebo
Tennis Courts
Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Great Room
Great Room Picture Window
Great Room Games Area
Hallway
Kitchen
Kitchen Table
Conservatory Dining Table
Conservatory with Log Burner
TV Room
Laundry Room
Boot Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Bath
Shiny Tap!
Master Raindance Shower
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 2/3 Ensuite
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 Ensuite
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 5 Ensuite
Bedroom 6
Family Bathroom
Bedroom 7
Bedroom 7 Ensuite
Bedroom 8
Bedroom 9
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cocoon14
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“MAGIC SCOTTISH WEEK END”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were 19 friends for my husband 50th anniversary, and we spent a fantastic stay in Highwards. The bedrooms, beddings and mattresses are wonderfull. The estate itself was beautiful, great views and lots of space to relax and Emily, the owner, was very friendly, helpful and accommodating to us. We have all left High Wards with memories that will last a lifetime, and many of will hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanb2120...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful weekend”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I were celebrating our seventieth birthdays and chose High Wards as it was close to Edinburgh in term time for school age grandchildren and seemed to provide luxury for adults while being child friendly.It was everything we could have hoped for - spacious, comfortable and well-equipped with spectacular views of the Conic Hill and Ben Lomond. We all enjoyed the pool while the children were delighted to find a well-stocked playroom, an outdoor adventure playground with Wendy House, a tennis court and a garage full of ride-on cars, bikes and scooters. We sailed on the mailboat round the islands on Loch Lomond on Saturday morning but otherwise enjoyed our beautiful holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious,comfortable beds, lovely bathrooms, well appointed public rooms.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wards Estate!”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

After falling in love with the place we decided to book High Wards for our wedding. We had 35 of our closest family and friends with us for the weekend staying between the house, the cottage and a neighbouring B&B. We couldn’t have imagined when booking how amazing it would have been, it certainly exceeded our expectations!

Emily (the property owner) couldn’t have been any more helpful in the run up to the wedding offering lots of suggestions and answering any questions we had. Her friendly, relaxed and welcoming manner made the stay at High Wards so much more enjoyable.

The house itself is stunning and as you drive down the private road you can’t help but gasp when you see it for the first time. Its surroundings are spectacular, so colourful and very peaceful. It is beautifully decorated and very well equipped with everything you could possible need, and more! It’s an excellent size for a large group, we could be gathered together in one room and not have the feeling of being over crowded but there was more than enough space if you wanted to take time and have a quiet five minutes. Each of the rooms were large and spacious and with all but one having an en suite it allowed all of our guests comfort and privacy from the rest of the party when they needed it. The house is also very well equipped for children. We had two young boys with us for the weekend and they were well entertained, from time in the swimming pool to time in the games room they were never bored.

For us the weekend couldn’t have gone any better. Some of the special moments included the pre-wedding dinner having everyone round the kitchen table, the wedding dinner itself in the conservatory surrounded by our family and friends, the evening ceilidh starting in the Great Room and spilling outside, the BBQ the following day and of course being able to hold the ceremony outside under the fixed gazebo. The comments we have received from those who attended our wedding have been wonderful, one guest said it was the best event (not just wedding!) he had ever had the pleasure of being invited to.

There’s so much more that could be said for High Wards but the best thing would be to go and see for yourself. It lends itself to every event you could think of, from a wedding to a relaxed weekend with family and friends. This place will not let you down. The only disappointment it brings is that you have to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I wouldn't know where to start!
Liked least: Having to go home!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion L
North Queensferry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Corporate ladies event”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A fantastic event. From arriving to a very warm welcome by Emily ( think she was) the owner, until leaving,the event was so very well organised and relaxing. A special location, great food, spa treatments were great and very relaxing. The quad bikes are so much fun, then a swim in the beautiful indoor swimming was a must and if we had energy left we could have played tennis, but some of us chose not to because we wanted to relax in the great room, just chatting with other guests. Bedrooms are lovely, immaculate and well equipped. We had a lovely lunch, cocktails and dinner all great. I would definitely recommend having a corporate event here for mixed groups, ladies or gents. Would also rent for family breaks.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine M
Kelso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been any better”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here as a family of 12 adults & 9 children aged 7 months to 8 years for a long weekend for my daughter's wedding held in a castle locally. We could not have found anywhere that would have suited us any better. The kitchen was unbelievably well equipped, with an amazing quantity of glasses & crockery & cutlery so that we never ran out. The toy cupboard in the TV room & the range of outdoor toys & the swimming pool meant the kids were very happy & well entertained. When they all went to bed the adults were spoiled for choice for which beautiful room to relax in, though the 'great room' was truly splendid. All the bedrooms were gorgeous & the beds extremely comfortable. And of course I haven't mentioned the views Wow doesn't do it justice. Hope to have the occasion to book this again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge amount of living space
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsbux
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hen Weekend”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the stunning High Wards House on the May holiday weekend. There were 23 of us and each and every one of us were blown away by the views and the house. Each bedroom and bathroom was lovely, most bedrooms had great views. The kitchen was also very well equipped.
On the Friday evening, we had a fabulous dinner party which was catered for by the wonderful Jam Jar catering company, the waiting staff served us our lovely canapes and champagne in the Great Lounge, then into the fabulous conservatory for our dinner. Each and every one of us thoroughly enjoyed our meal.
On the Saturday morning, Lomond Beauty came and treated us all to some well received pampering.
On Saturday evening we used the local Chinese, Chimes, for a takeaway, it was satisfactory.
We have all left High Wards with memories that will last a lifetime, and many of will hope to return one day.
We also rented the cottage which was a great retreat for a few of us.
Thank you Emily for creating such a stunning venue that made my daughters Hen Weekend one to remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing not to like
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaakk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at the estate with our family for our wedding. The house is just excellent. It is very luxurious and spacious, the bedrooms are big and clean, and beds very comfortable. It was important to us that almost every room in the house had its own bathroom. The space downstairs was great, big enough to fit in the whole family but still very cosy. Kitchen was clean and very well equipped, and the games room and swimming pool only added to the unforgettable experience. The estate itself was beautiful, great views and lots of space to relax and Emily, the owner, was very friendly, helpful and accommodating to us and our dogs. We were offered advice prior to and during our stay. We will definitely consider staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard and size of the house and great customer care (very accommodating for us and the dogs).
Liked least: Two of the bedrooms were joined together and sharing a bathroom. Although it may be no problem when travelling with kids, it would have suited us more if they were separate rooms with separate doors.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing