We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This property is truly stunning inside and out...”
other travelers have booked this property
High Wards
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
High Wards
Parking Back Lawn!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
High Wards
Parking
Back Lawn!
Gazebo
Bridge to Gazebo
Tennis Courts
Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Great Room
Great Room Picture Window
Great Room Games Area
Hallway
Kitchen
Kitchen Table
Conservatory Dining Table
Conservatory with Log Burner
TV Room
Laundry Room
Boot Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Bath
Shiny Tap!
Master Raindance Shower
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 2/3 Ensuite
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 Ensuite
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 5 Ensuite
Bedroom 6
Family Bathroom
Bedroom 7
Bedroom 7 Ensuite
Bedroom 8
Bedroom 9
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shona K
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“This property is truly stunning inside and out. Didn't want to leave!!”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I can't rate this property highly enough. It's a beautiful house in a beautiful spot. I want to go back asap. Very well equipped, it has everything you need

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing property, beautifully decorated & the views are just incredible
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Falkirk
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Supercalifragalisticexpialidocious !!”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Excellent, Superb, fabulous, wonderful. Words are not good enough to describe this marvellous house. Where will I start. Bedrooms out of this world with such comfy beds and lovely linen, en-suites, each one better than the next, and lovely white fluffy towels. On the ground floor the public rooms are luxurious, kitchen fully equipped, (maybe a bigger oven when cooking for 21) (but all parties may not have a qualified cook as we did). There was a big enough table in the kitchen for us all to sit round and the same in the conservatory for breakfast. Pool table was well used by all age groups. Swimming pool provided great fun. (maybe a wee handrail to help those not so fit but still wanted to swim). Terrace where we all sunbathed one day and watched the snow falling the following morning. Lovely grounds with pleasant walks. This was my daughter's Hen weekend and we are talking about a reunion next year. Thank you Emily.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There is nothing to dislike here.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndar541
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous venue leaving wonderful memories!”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Celebrated our pearl anniversary with a few family and friends and couldn't have wished for more. A stunning venue inside and out with idyllic surroundings (and the weather was fantastic too). Had our renewal of vows outside with a wonderful backdrop of the Trossachs and Ben Lomond. Facilities in the house are excellent. We were all very sad to leave but great memories created. Thanks to Jam Jar Catering for lovely food and Loch Lomond Shooting School for a fun (and competitive) morning. Our expectations of High Wards were more than met! Thanks Emily and (Cosmic).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and amenities
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FuzzyCudd...
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at High Wards for my hen weekend and from first view we were deeply impressed!
The house is beautiful and set in amazing surroundings.
Every room we walked into was filled by sounds of appreciation & awe.
The bedrooms are stunning, comfortable and well furnished.
The living rooms are beautiful - the Great Room lives up to its name and the view is spectacular.
There is not one bit of the house which I didn't love - it is so well stocked with equipment and toys that you would never need to leave the house!
I would like to personally thank Emily - the phone call to check everything was fine & to wish us a great time was appreciated - a really nice touch. High Wards has made my hen weekend the highlight of everyone's year! I don't even think the wedding will be talked about this much!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
111janett...
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

High Wards was our chosen venue to celebrate my husband's birthday and it certainly didn't disappoint.
16 adults were blown away by how spacious, luxurious and well equipped the house was. Definitely an ideal location for a party or just to relax in the tranquil surroundings.
We would highly recommend this beautiful house to anyone looking for that "somewhere special place" whatever the occasion.
Emily the owner was there to welcome us and she couldn't have been more helpful.
A real treat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat L
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hen Weekend”
Reviewed March 24, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed at the Highwards for two nights in March for my hen weekend. Wish we could have stayed longer. The house is fabulous and very well equipped. So hard to decide which bedroom to stay in. Every bedroom has an en suite apart from one which had a bathroom next door to it which is just as good as an en suite. We were a large group of 21 and found the house very spacious with lots of things to do. Enjoyed my morning swim and thereafter lounging around the pool. There are two large fridges and a large freezer which provided more than enough room for all our food and drink. There was also an ice maker which came in very handy. The dining area in the kitchen is ideal for a large group with another dining area in the conservatory. The grounds are very spacious and would be great in the hot summer weather. The view is spectacular. We booked Lomond Beauty who came and provided massages and treatments which we all enjoyed. We used Chimes Chinese restaurant nearby and they were very helpful with our large order and delivered to the house no problem.

The owner Emily met with us when we arrived and she was very helpful and made us feel very welcome. Really recommend the Highwards and look forward to returning at some point in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPetersen...
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday celebrations”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Had a fantastic weekend at High Wards to celebrate several family birthdays. House was fabulous and had everything you need for a perfect break. Fun for all ages with the swimming pool, toy cupboard and pool table. Extremely high standard of accommodation, well maintained and exceptionally clean. Look forward to going back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All aspects of house
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing