We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb cottage!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Curlew Cottage

Curlew Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Curlew Cottage
Open plan living space, wood burning stove, doors to patio,great views across open countryside Ground floor double bedroom, wheelchair accessible
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Curlew Cottage
Open plan living space, wood burning stove, doors to patio,great views across open countryside
Ground floor double bedroom, wheelchair accessible
Spacious 1st floor double bedroom with en-suite shower room, great views
Loch Lomond landscape including Ben Lomond - the backdrop to our cottages
Time to relax, planty of spcae for the whole family
two adjoining cottages which sleep 12-14 if rented together
The spacious kitchen is well equipped
Comfortable living room in Curlew Cottage
Dining for eight in Curlew Cottage, however the table can be extended to seat 12
Ground floor bathroom, Curlew Cottage, with double ended bath and seperate shower
morning cup of tea with a great view - lovely start to your day!
Large kitchen to cater for large celebrations
Super-insulated eco-construction keeps things cosy
Spacious 1st floor twin bedroom
Plenty to do here for the kids
Our welcome pack includes eggs from our hens
Worth the 20 minute walk to our local viewpoint!
Messing about on the Bonnie Banks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jlkyle
2 reviews
“Superb cottage!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Just back from a fabulous weekend stay at 'Curlew Cottage' where we had a great time. The cottage & surroundings were beautiful & had more than enough room for 8 adults, 3 toddlers & a baby! Our welcome 'treats' were such a nice touch along with the age-appropriate toys, a highchair/booster seat & travel cots! The woodburner made our evenings very cosy although the house was already a very comfortable temperature! Our correspondence with Deborah before our break was so helpful & we were made to feel very welcome on arrival. Will definitely recommend to family & friends!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2014
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review the cottage. We're pleased to hear our 'family friendly' approach hit all the right buttons for your group. Thank you for recommending us to your friends too.
Best wishes, Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HettyPrim...
Morzine, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning, spacious, well located Holiday Home”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We have just returned from a weeks break in the beautiful Curlew Cottage in Gartocharn. The cottage is large, well equipped and in a great location. From the doorstep there are numerous walks including down to the shores of Loch Lomond and up the famous 'Dumpling' hill from where the views are some of the best we have ever seen. We enjoyed day trips to Glasgow (30 mins by car), Edinburgh (45 mins by car) and the nearby Loch Lomond Shores (5 mins by car) where I enjoyed the shopping and the children enjoyed the aquarium which also shows regular movies. The attention to detail by Deborah and Steve is second to none. They have thought of everything you could possibly need on holiday and they have created a stunning home from home. On arrival we were greeted by some fresh eggs, homemade bread and jam, butter and some Halloween treats for the children. My favourite discovery though was the bubble bath as a long soak was just what I needed after sightseeing and shopping for hours! The children loved the freedom that comes with the location of the cottage and were excited to meet the resident hens and of course Zoe the dog. We would have no hesitation in recommending Curlew Cottage and hope to be back very soon ourselves! Thank you Macken family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind and enthusiastic words, that's exactly how we want our guests and visitors to feel. Thank you for booking with us for 2014 too, look forward to seeing you and your family again later in the year.
Regards, Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arancha G
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“SIMPLY WONDERFUL”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We loved Curlew cottage and felt absolutely at home with Deborah and her family. The cottage had all you could desire, it was impeccable and bran new, details like "all the things you can need" in the kitchen really impacted us (you don't find that level of detail anywhere). Real client orientation listening to all and being there for our needs made us feel very welcoming. The location is superb and everything you needed at hand. The girls (4 of them, ages between 13 and 16) absolutely loved it and didn't want to leave. Thanks for that lovely recommendation to take the walk up that lovely little hill near the cottage, the view was breathtaking of Loch Lomond!!!. For my country fellows coming from Spain: OS ENCANTARÁ ESTA CASA ES LO MEJOR QUE HEMOS VISTO EN MUCHO TIEMPO, ANIMAOS A VENIR (Translation: You will love this house, is the best we have seen on a long time, do come and visit!!!). Splendid!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!
Liked least: Nothing!! well, having to leave :)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2013
Thank you for such a glowing review, it was a pleasure to meet you all and we're glad you managed to explore so much of Scotland from here. We're pleased your teenagers enjoyed it too!
Very best wishes, Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krohanlon
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Modern, very clean, spacious and perfect for family holiday.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a great stay at Curlew Cottage. The cottage was more spacious than we expected and is finished to a very high standard. The outdoor space was perfect for the children, there was a good choice of games and DVD's available and the welcome pack was a lovely touch (including delicious homemade bread and jam). We wouldn't hesitate in returning. The owners were very welcoming.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2013
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the space and the provisions suited your whole family. Many thanks for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Regards, Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Family get-together”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Nine family members have just stayed at this wonderful cottage, raging in age from 56yrs to 9 months! The cottage had everything we could have wanted, four bedrooms, two with en-suites and then a family bathroom too. the kitchen was well equipped with a range of equipment second to none. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, airy and light. The whole cottage was very tastefully decorated throughout. There was a good bbq and table and chairs outside for us to sit and relax while enjoying the view and the beautiful sunsets with a glass of wine/beer. We had a superb weekend.....
While the guys played golf at Buchanan Castle and Greenock the girls took the train into Glasgow and did a spot of retail therapy. Callendar is also a lovely place and worthy of a stop to visit some of the lovely individual shops. We spent a fantastic day picnicking, paddling and swimming on the shores of Loch Lomond as the weather was so hot!
I would certainly recommend this cottage to anyone who is reading this review. Deborah and Steve were on hand if we needed them and were a mind of useful information when we couldn't quite decide what to do!
Thank you so much for making our stay so easy and enjoyable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and cleanliness
Liked least: Absolutely nothing, it was perfect!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2013
hello and thank you for a lovely review; we're glad you all had such a good time and enjoyed the great variety of things to see and do around here; there's nothing so refreshing than a swim in the Loch on a hot day!
best wishes, Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy B
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect retreat near Loch Lomond”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Curlew Cottage is a very classy retreat for a group of friends, whether for a long weekend or more extended stay, with its four spacious double bedrooms, three bathrooms, comfortable and cosy beds, underfloor heating and a brilliant wood-burning stove we all wanted back in our own homes. Everything is new, spotless, tastefully decorated and well-equipped and the welcome pack of home-made and locally sourced goodies went down a treat. The huge picture windows make you almost feel part of the lovely hills all around. It is blissfully quiet apart from the quadraphonic dawn chorus and slightly nosy neighbours - a group of sheep that stare somewhat and the odd chicken wandering past. Well done, Deborah and Steve Macken - we hope we will be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything really
Liked least: Having to leave after just four nights
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2013
We're very pleased you had such an enjoyable stay in Curlew Cottage and made good use of the wood burning stove in the evenings. Thanks for you kind words in our guest book too.
Best wishes, Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyBarb...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning location and beautiful building”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I cannot recommend Curlew Cottage enough. We stayed there for my brothers Stag do in April. The accommodation is designed beautifully with a mix of natural wood, open plan areas and stunning views at every turn. We received a warm welcome on arrival with home baked bread and marmalade. The house is very spacious and easily catered for the needs of 8 very tall men! The owners are extremely friendly and accommodating, they were more than happy to give advice on the local area when I was planning the trip. The kitchen and showers are fantastic and there is plenty of parking spaces. There was a large screen TV and great wireless connection (which didn't require a password). The location is so peaceful and isolated although there is a supermarket/shops/pubs only down the road. All of our party thoroughly enjoyed their stay and I’m already planning a return visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design of the building
Liked least: We didn't stay long enough...
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write, your kind words are very much appreciated and we hope to see you all again soon. Best regards
Deborah & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing