We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect retreat near Loch Lomond”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Curlew Cottage

Curlew Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Curlew Cottage
Open plan living space, wood burning stove, doors to patio,great views across open countryside Ground floor double bedroom, wheelchair accessible
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Curlew Cottage
Open plan living space, wood burning stove, doors to patio,great views across open countryside
Ground floor double bedroom, wheelchair accessible
Spacious 1st floor double bedroom with en-suite shower room, great views
Loch Lomond landscape including Ben Lomond - the backdrop to our cottages
Time to relax, planty of spcae for the whole family
two adjoining cottages which sleep 12-14 if rented together
The spacious kitchen is well equipped
Comfortable living room in Curlew Cottage
Dining for eight in Curlew Cottage, however the table can be extended to seat 12
Ground floor bathroom, Curlew Cottage, with double ended bath and seperate shower
morning cup of tea with a great view - lovely start to your day!
Large kitchen to cater for large celebrations
Super-insulated eco-construction keeps things cosy
Spacious 1st floor twin bedroom
Plenty to do here for the kids
Our welcome pack includes eggs from our hens
Worth the 20 minute walk to our local viewpoint!
Messing about on the Bonnie Banks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Dorothy B
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect retreat near Loch Lomond”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Curlew Cottage is a very classy retreat for a group of friends, whether for a long weekend or more extended stay, with its four spacious double bedrooms, three bathrooms, comfortable and cosy beds, underfloor heating and a brilliant wood-burning stove we all wanted back in our own homes. Everything is new, spotless, tastefully decorated and well-equipped and the welcome pack of home-made and locally sourced goodies went down a treat. The huge picture windows make you almost feel part of the lovely hills all around. It is blissfully quiet apart from the quadraphonic dawn chorus and slightly nosy neighbours - a group of sheep that stare somewhat and the odd chicken wandering past. Well done, Deborah and Steve Macken - we hope we will be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything really
Liked least: Having to leave after just four nights
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2013
We're very pleased you had such an enjoyable stay in Curlew Cottage and made good use of the wood burning stove in the evenings. Thanks for you kind words in our guest book too.
Best wishes, Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyBarb...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning location and beautiful building”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I cannot recommend Curlew Cottage enough. We stayed there for my brothers Stag do in April. The accommodation is designed beautifully with a mix of natural wood, open plan areas and stunning views at every turn. We received a warm welcome on arrival with home baked bread and marmalade. The house is very spacious and easily catered for the needs of 8 very tall men! The owners are extremely friendly and accommodating, they were more than happy to give advice on the local area when I was planning the trip. The kitchen and showers are fantastic and there is plenty of parking spaces. There was a large screen TV and great wireless connection (which didn't require a password). The location is so peaceful and isolated although there is a supermarket/shops/pubs only down the road. All of our party thoroughly enjoyed their stay and I’m already planning a return visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design of the building
Liked least: We didn't stay long enough...
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write, your kind words are very much appreciated and we hope to see you all again soon. Best regards
Deborah & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helenandr...
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Hello, I have just returned from a weekend away at Curlew cottage with 6 other friends. From start to finish it was a wonderful experience. We arrived friday eve to a modern cottage which was simply but tastefully decorated. There was more than enough room for 8 guests and the bedrooms were very spacious, 2 having ensuite bathrooms (3 bathrooms in total). It was lovely and warm on arrival and the owners Dinks and Steve had left some little treats for us all to enjoy (jam and biscuits etc). The kitchen was shaker style with everything you could ask for and more!.
Had a lovely nights sleep in a comfy bed with crisp white bedding and a hot, powerful shower in the morning.
The cottage was in a peaceful location, away from main roads but within short driving distance to loch lomond shore. Stunning views from around the cottage - you really felt that you were away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
Would definatley recommend these cottages, Dinks and Steve were great, very friendly and have a wealth of knowledge about the local area, things to do and places to visit- it was a pleasure to meet them and hope to see them again!!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2013
thanks for your kind words,they're much appreciated; well done on completing the bootcamp in the village that weekend, I'm sure you all appreciated the hot baths and comfy beds after that
best regards
Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryMac
Donaster
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning property in a fantastic location.”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage can't be faulted in any way. The friendly and helpfully owners have spared no expense in making the cottage perfect, all the furniture, fixtures and fittings are top quality and are of a much higher standard than I have experienced before in any other rental property.
There were 8 of us staying and we prepared some big extensive meals, and every utensil you could think of is available along with every piece of kitchenware and crockery you could ever need! There was even washing powder and dishwasher tablets, along with an extensive welcome pack containing numerous items including freshly baked homemade bread and home laid eggs. Also, the beds are really comfortable with crisp bedding and towels in all 4 bedrooms. There is also a folder with all the information you could possibly need about the surrounding area. There are numerous walks from the front door, including up to the top of the "dumpling" for stunning views over the Loch and down to Loch Lomond nature reserve which is only a gentle 2 mile walk away.
We won't ever bother looking for anywhere else in the Loch Lomond area again because you can't find better..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of furniture, fixtures and fittings
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, as its our first season we are particularly pleased to receive this feedback. Hope to see you all again. Best regards Deborah & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tfgarrod
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, luxurious base to explore beautiful part of the world”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We holidayed at Curlew Cottage as 2 family groups. The accommodation is warm, light, modern and sleek. There was plenty of room for all (8) of us and all our shoes, boots and outdoor gear, even allowing us space to be on our own when we needed that too! The house was always warm and the piping hot water was endless. The kitchen is really well equipped with everything you'd have at home and more. Beds and bedrooms comfortable and spacious. Welcome basket of goodies was fresh and delicious. The owners were on hand to provide invaluable local knowledge and could always get answers to any more obscure queries about the area. The views from every window were stunning and constantly changing, making it sometimes difficult to leave the property. The location is so central to the best Scotland has to offer, we walked and climbed mountains, visited Glasgow and Edinburgh, explored Loch Lomond. There is so much to do we will need to come back again and again to do the area justice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standards of comfort and finish in the property.
Liked least: Only being there a week.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2012
We are so pleased you had such a great time on your half term holiday here and very glad that you found so much to see and do in the area as well as further afield. very best regards
Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mari0n_ne...
Grenoble, France
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: En famille élargie
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you and thank you for your detailed review. You were very complimentary whilst staying here and it is much appreciated. Thank you.
Best regards
Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing