We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch and staff”

The House of Darrach
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Gartocharn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch and staff”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We passed this shop/coffee shop many times during our stay and on the final day decided to stop, pleased we did as the lunch was lovely. The shop was good too but couldn't browse too long as they had all of the Christmas musical items going and it was starting to drive me mad. Poor staff! Highly recommend the seasonal chicken salad with fruit and the homemade chips. Cakes were good too! Friendly service

Helpful?
Thank sutie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    70
    28
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Day Out”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

From the moment i stepped in until the moment i left this establishment i was extremely impressed with every little detail.

On entering this lovely little place you are taken through the amazing and well presented shop which has been transformed into a winter wonderland throughout which the grandchildren loved. The huge variety in this shop is unbelievable, from different foods to clothes, bags, gifts, cards, toys the list is endless. I found a beautiful cardigan for this season thanks to the lovely ladies who worked in the shop being so attentive and helping me find the correct size and perfect fit.

On reaching the coffee shop i didn't know i could be anymore impressed but i was when i came across the beautiful display of all the different cakes, the strawberry tarts were huge and very tempting. A young friendly girl saw to us quickly and sat us on the upper level next to the window. The menu which was already on the table for us had a wide variety available from lunch to a light snack, including afternoon tea and a carvery available. Once ordered our cutlery and drinks arrived promptly and all well presented. Our food arrived not long after and it was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. Every staff member who served us was very efficient, helpful and extremely pleasant which was really nice to see.
The decor throughout the coffee shop was extremely new looking and had a cosy feel to it with the winter wonderland theme continued from the shop. I particularly liked the carol singer display up the main window sill area.
On paying my bill the young gentleman who handled my bill was very pleasant asking if we enjoyed everything etc we couldn't help but praise this place and the staff.
I would definitely recommend this to everyone for a lovely wee day out for some lunch !
I never managed a strawberry tart this time but i will be back for one !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well worth the stop”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were in the area visiting some friend so decided to stop for a meal before we headed back! The food was delicious,and was served by a Spanish girl with a lovely Scottish accent!
We would definitely go back,food was great and the service was exceptional!
It's well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank David4perth4sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day Out!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The restaurant is wonderful - strawberry tarts to make your mouth water and wish you had room for more than one! Gifts and food departments carry lots of unusual and quirky items, perfect for that gift for the person in your life who has everything. Staff efficient and pleasant. Looking forward to my next visit. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaintyDinah08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It was great - good service, excellent food - clean clean clean!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A short drive out of Balloch, this venue is ideal for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea or a light snack. Cleanliness is high on the list of our priorities - and this place is very clean.

There was a wide variety of food available on the menu. We had the Darrach pate / king prawn & apple starters. The food was beautifully presented. Cutlery was immaculate. Service couldnt have been better. There is a carvery - which looked great. Afternoon tea also looked good. The cakes looked good - yeum - all very tempting!

The decor was very new and fresh looking - particularly liked the ultra modern spotlights in the section of the restaurant we were in, in comparison with the chandeliers at the bar area.

Having lunched around the Loch Lomond/Callander/Strathyre areas for many years, we felt this was the nicest place we had been.

As for the prices - you pay for what you get. Im Scrooge McDuck when it comes to prices for lunch out, but the location, facilities, service and cleanliness made up for the slightly higher priced menu.

Would we recommend - yes. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House of Darrach also viewed

Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Lochwinnoch, Renfrewshire
 
Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The House of Darrach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing