We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best full Scottish breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School House
Ranked #2 of 2 Gartocharn B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My partner and I have just enjoyed a night in this lovely B&B and would recommend it if you are planning a trip to the area. The owner, Hilary, was most welcoming and her accommodation was immaculate and extremely comfortable. She guided us to a local family run inn for a superb meal, and she went out of her way to take my partner back there the following day to pick up his car. I had the full Scottish breakfast and it was the best I have ever tasted! A truly great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaretrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

The rooms are average, but stylish. The bathrooms are excellent. The Old School House is located directly at the road.
However, the landlady Hilary is extremely welcoming. The breakfast is great. We were there with three kids and a dog and had a very nice and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesHerriot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

On a bike tour around scotland from the Midlands, this was our first stop! The Sat Nav took us the long way I am sure!. Hilary met us on the doorstep, making us feel very welcome. Helped us to plan our next route too. Great Breakfast, Lovely warm, toasty room too. She even took us into the nearby village, taxis are few and far between. Managed to get one back though. Fantastic view from the back garden!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annafalshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

we arrived on the saturday with the intention to go for a walk round the loch then climb ben lomond on the sunday. Hilary was very welcoming, showed us the route up benn lomond on her map and also let us borrow it. She keeps a lovely, immaculate guesthouse. Room upstairs was lovley with beautiful views of the garden and hills. Bus stops right outside to pick u up to take u in to into town for food, drinks etc. would highly recommend

Room Tip: room upstairs is the best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haylster66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My family and i have just had a very enjoyable short break staying at The Old School House at Gartochan. We were going to a wedding at Ross Priory on the saturday. We arrived thursday lunchtime having flown up from Portsmouth ,and then had taxi from airport which i had booked earlier. Ariving at B&B we were met by Hilary who took our luggage inside and then made us coffee, hilary then asked us if we would like a lift into village as she was going and we didn't have a car. We used the local bus which stopped outside B&B, not cheap(oap bus passes no good in scotland )but our only means of transport. Went into Balloc,Balmaha & dryman on bus.would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pomponiangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you are planning on walking in the Loch Lomond area and want a B&B that is well located, is very clean, has a spacious guest lounge and offers excellent breakfasts, then stay at The Old School House at Gartocharn. Hilary is an excellent hostess, she was very helpful and kindly lent us her Ordance Survey of the local area.

I highly recommend the upstairs double room - it has lovely views of the garden, looking towards the Loch.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Very comfortable room and excellent breakfasts. Great attention to detail - an iPod/iPhone speaker and charger in the room was very handy. We stayed at The Old School House as some friends were getting married nearby at Loch Lomond - Hilary even offered to drive us to the wedding venue which was a lovely, considerate gesture.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartocharn
4.7 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
6.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Dumbarton
Travelodge Dumbarton
#2 of 4 in Dumbarton
225 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
1.2 mi away
Ardoch Cottage
Ardoch Cottage
#1 of 2 in Gartocharn
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School House

Address: Gartocharn, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8SB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria > Gartocharn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gartocharn
Price Range: $60 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century converted school within Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park with beautiful views down to the Loch. Small owner/occupied bed and breakfast with personal service at all times. Great for a short-term stop off as part of a Scottish Tour or for longer term breaks. A great base for access to countryside walks, Lochs and Glens or visits into Glasgow and Stirling. 4 star accredited by VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old School House Gartocharn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing