We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wee stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Booked the hotel as a wedding guest-food was lovely at the wedding. All beautifully presented and piping hot. Full Scottish breakfast was delicious. Bar prices very reasonable for a hotel. Room was lovely and had a fantastic nights sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polkadot-pyjamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

We booked a 2 night stay at the Lochside house hotel and spa in April 2014. From the moment that we arrived we found the staff very friendly and very helpful, we were staying in one of the Cottages and were very pleased with the size and comfort of the accommodation. The restaurant was very well staffed and the food quality was superb. The highlight for us was the thermal spa which was first class again the staff were very helpful. Will definitely return there again would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed at the Lochside a number of times over the last year or so on business. Chosen initially as there wasn't much choice ion the area but now we go out of our way to try and stay there, even when there are perfectly good hotels nearer. Garden suites I think they are called are very plush with nice comfy beds.We always stayed on the dinner, bed & breakfast deal which is very reasonable considering the quality of the rooms and food. A bit more choice with regard to beer would be nice, maybe an ale or two in the bar (but that goes for Scottish bars in general - sorry) would be good but the breakfast makes up for it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJLucas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Wasn't overly impressed with this hotel even though I have heard people speak highly of it before actually staying in.

Yes, location is outstanding and staff in the bars and restaurant are very lovely and cheery.

I stayed in one of the garden rooms, modern, very spacious and with a big comfy bed. However I was given the last room at the end of a corridor where the exit door seemed to always stay open for staff cig breaks and chit chat. The shower fixture was punctured, making the water burst to the side. I also wasn't impressed with a few odd cream-white stains on the bed throw - which I can only hope were glue or washing powder.

However the most inconvineient details was that I had no wi-fi. The room was simply too far away from the any routers, but staff seemed to denny the issue and suggest that my devices are not strong enough to pick up the signal. My room had a walled ethernet cable plug, but requesting a cable several times also seemed to do nothing. I might not have been so bothered if staff would have been more helpful in acknowledging there is no wi-fi in that room.

All in all, not sure if this would be my first choice if in the area again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveleralice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights with work. Very nice hotel. The variety of food on the menu and the quality of the meals was good. Lovely eating breakfast and watching the birds out on the loch! Room was adequate though there was a damp patch on the ceiling. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay! It's likely that I'll be coming back to Cumnock and I'll definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frostfromfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Had an amazing time here last week staying in the luxury Lowes Suite. Can’t really fault anything about my experience here. Found a great deal which as well as the Lowes Suite included dinner and breakfast, plus use of the spa and a 45 minute massage. The spa was extremely nice, and I opted for the 45minute back ritual which was very relaxing. Dinner in the evening was off a set menu, but there were some great choices on the menu and the food was brilliant, as was the service. Also had a couple of cocktails which again were very good. As the room was so nice we decided to get breakfast ordered to the room the following morning – the food and service was brilliant. Really loved the Lowes Suite with its jungle room, balcony overlooking the lake and Jacuzzi style bathtub. If there was one fault I would give, it was the shower in the room which was really poor – the water just kind of trickled out. Thankfully the bath more than made up for it. Great hotel thought with excellent service. Have already recommended to friends and family.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Lowes Suite and it really was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fish151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our group of four mums had a superb lunch with attentive smart staff during our latest visit to our local friendly hotel&spa. As usual our lunch was very well presented and delicious. Menus had so much to choose from but we were all agreed our choices were perfect. I see a "Girls Day Out" on the horizon, a great day not to be missed ladies!

Room Tip: All rooms quiet as the hotel sits well back from the main road in its own ground beside a loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hielsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumnock
3.8 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
517 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,138 reviews
17.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
134 reviews
16.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
16.9 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 5 in Prestwick
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochside House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochside House Hotel & Spa

Address: Nr New Cumnock, New Cumnock KA18 4PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > New Cumnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Price Range: $135 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochside House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 20 acres of land and overlooking two Lochs to each side, the hotel boasts magnificent views of the surrounding countryside and local 9 hole golf course. Lochside House Hotel is ideally situated for people wishing to tour Ayrshire and the outlying districts and also for those who would like to indulge themselves in The Spa at Lochside. The hotel was taken over in 1999 by Robert and Vivien Kyle and was extensively extended and refurbished to achieve a Four star rating from the Scottish Tourist Board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Lochside House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochside Hotel New Cumnock
Lochside House Hotel & Spa New Cumnock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing