We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Went to this establishment for afternoon tea yesterday, first of all, what a lovely place, the receptionist was really nice and very helpful. The Restaurant is lovely, there is a beautiful view from every window, afternoon tea consisted of a lovely glass of prosseco, a selection of sandwiches filled with salmon, ham, chicken and egg, fruit & plain scones with jam & cream, lovely lemon drizzle cake, strawberry tart, bannoffee tart just to name a few but everything tasted absolutely delicious. I hope to return again & try your mouth wattering meals very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheenamcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Sheena,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent Afternoon Tea at Lochside. Thank you for such lovely comments, I will ensure these are passed on to the revenant staff. I agree with you on the views, its no wonder that during the warmer months many of our Afternoon Tea guests chose to dine outside on our patio area! Thanks again and we hope to see you very soon.

Warmest Wishes,

R.Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had a two night stay with friends over the New Year. Faultless. Everyone was really helpful and the Hogmonay Ball ran like clockwork. Food and the setting were first class. Nice relaxing day on New Year's day/night. Yes there were creaks, but I think you'd get that in any old property! Would definitely stay again. Afraid we didn't use the Spa on this visit.

Room Tip: Room 8 had a lovely view of the Loch and surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you Pamela for such a short yet sweet review. I am pleased to read such positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. The view from Room 8 is great and a good tip to leave for future guests! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that next time you are able to take advantage of our thermal suite facilities.

Kind Regards,

R.Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

People friendly, food good, rooms nice but reception staff not got a clue we were seriously overcharged and the staff could not deduct what we had already paid from our bill even after we challenged them for over half an hour and we weren't the only ones other people were doing the same and their only reply from the staff was" I don't like numbers."

Room Tip: get a detailed print out of what you are to be charged as they seriously scammed us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Having stayed at the Lochside before , we booked last minute for a two night Hogmanay stay. The hotel has undergone some renovations since our last stay but you wouldnt know as they merger seemlessly into this former hunting lodge.
Our room was a standard one clean, spacious and modern although the bathroom could do with some attention as there was some paint on the ceiling which has flaked off, part of the shower riser rail was missing, the tile inserts have never been grouted and the grout in general was grubby.
We ate dinner in the Afton Resturant on the first night of our stay and despite there being two dinner dances on that night the kitchen and waiting service was first class and the food was absolutely delicious. The only option we had on our second night was 'Hogmanay' lunch so we opted for a late sitting. Again the quality of food and service was first class.
We made use of the Thermal suite in the Spa which was lovely and relaxing and found the member of staff on duty to be very friendly and helpful.
The only negatives to our lovely stay was not noticing that we had been charged for an extra tea and coffee/soft drink in the Nithsdale Bar till after we had got home. I know that the building is old but something has to be done with the squeaky floorboards in rooms 5 and 7 and the corridor outside. Every footstep day or night is exceedingly loud and with the large number of partygoers heading to bed late after the Hogmanay celebration did result in a very disturbed nights sleep.We should also have been made aware at the time of booking that the hotel bars were closed as soon as lunch service was finished and the only communal place to sit with a drink was in the reception area.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 5 and 7 unless the squeaky floorboards have been attended to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stegman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to learn that you feel that both the quality and service was first class, it really is great for staff to hear such positive comments. Unfortunately as you rightly commented, parts of the building are older, floorboards etc can wear with time. Thank you very much for highlighting these issues and we will aim to give these items the attention they deserve. It should have been highlighted to you at time of booking that the hotel lounge would not be fully operational that evening, for that we apologise. I'm pleased to hear that you took advantage of our thermal suite facilities and would advise you to indulge in a treatment on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

R.Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My mother and I stayed dinner, bb in one of the suites, the room was lovely, spacious and we enjoyed sitting out in the patio (although it was a wee bit cold) the spa is nice, but small and easily over crowded. The spa staff were unhelpful when we pointed out there was an safety issue with the step leading into the spa
The restaurant staff were friendly but service extremely slow and the food was not worth the wait. They have an extensive menu but unfortunately the food is only average.
The rooms and views a re lovely and if you stay you really are forced to eat in the restaurant and it is ok, but not great so go for pre theatre or a food deal. All rooms are lovely but the suites are decently worth the upgrade.

Room Tip: Up grade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamC_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you felt our spacious Garden Suites was worth the upgrade and that, despite the cold temperatures, you were able to enjoy sitting out on the patio. Addressing the issue of the step leading in to the spa, thank you, we will take your comments on board. I am sorry to hear that the food within our restaurant was not to your specific tastes but hopefully this does not deter you from staying with us once more.

Kind Regards,

R.Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed here last month after a Wedding. Stunning property in Beautiful surroundings. Had a renovated room on the lower floor (beside the SPA), which was very stylish and spacious, although I understand there are older rooms upstairs yet to be renovated. Staff very friendly and Breakfast the following morning was splendid. Will certainly return

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FAYEBRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is always great to get such fantastic feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words, we will pass this on to the team at the Lochside House Hotel and Spa.

Kind Regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This was a Sunday night stay as I had to work locally on the Monday and my wife sampled the spa whilst I worked!! Attentive and friendly staff and an upgrade to a garden room, the hotel setting did not disappoint. Room was excellent and well equipped. The evening meal and breakfast were very good and value wise it was outstanding. I'm told the spa was equally good!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Five star review.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lochside House Hotel and Spa. Feedback is most important to us it’s great to read such a fantastic review. The team are extremely for such kind feedback, and can't wait to see you back again in the future!


Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumnock
3.8 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
500 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,105 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 5 in Prestwick
679 reviews
16.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
23.8 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochside House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochside House Hotel & Spa

Address: Nr New Cumnock, New Cumnock KA18 4PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > New Cumnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Price Range: $132 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochside House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 20 acres of land and overlooking two Lochs to each side, the hotel boasts magnificent views of the surrounding countryside and local 9 hole golf course. Lochside House Hotel is ideally situated for people wishing to tour Ayrshire and the outlying districts and also for those who would like to indulge themselves in The Spa at Lochside. The hotel was taken over in 1999 by Robert and Vivien Kyle and was extensively extended and refurbished to achieve a Four star rating from the Scottish Tourist Board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lochside House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochside Hotel New Cumnock
Lochside House Hotel & Spa New Cumnock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing