We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARTY NIGHT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our second year at the "Party Night" with an overnight stay. On arriving in mid afternoon, Reception had us booked in very quickly even with a slight complication over rooms. Being in the company of two other couples, we settled in the Lounge for some pre party drinks and conversation. The staff were very attentive and had our drinks served very quickly and accurately, despite the varied order. A quick break for afternoon tea/coffee and jam scones was also served by very pleasant staff.
We then went off to change for the night to our room. This was very large and well heated at this time of year, with a "Queen" sized bed, plenty of space for clothing, a flat screen TV with many channels, and patio window leading to a balcony that stretches the full length of hotel and has a view of the local hills. The bathroom is also large with full size bath and separate shower cabinet. One minor point that could be addressed here was that there was no "Bath mat" and could cause problems of slipping on the wet tiled floor on stepping either bath or shower.

The Party night started with meeting in the lounge for pre dinner drinks and then on moving to the Function room a nice quick "Shot" before settling done at our own table. The meal, for a "Full House" Christmas Function had a varied menu that would suit all palates. Even with regard to the numbers involved, the young staff had the meals from starters through entree and desserts to coffee and mints, served quickly and where required on hot plates. Clearance of tables was also done smartly, allowing room.
The Party night went with a "Swing" with dancing from the very first tune. This, however, is where a further point is made. The band, "Escapade" (to my mind) unfortunately made up for some inadequacies by playing LOUDLY (two days later my ears are still ringing). This didn't deter from most people's enjoyment.
"And so to bed" after a late night nightcap.
Breakfast was equal to previous night, with a wide selection of cereals, fruit, croissants and buns. A main "Full Breakfast" had choice of all the normal items and again was served quickly (and accurately despite six differing orders) on hot plates by pleasant young waitress. Tea, Coffee and Toast (white or brown) was available for self help and finished off excellent start to the day.
Check out was next and again was done quickly and a problem in registering the Hotel's Card was easily solved.

The "Party Night" would be recommended for those who like the music loud, however, the Hotel for a night out for Meal and Drinks and conversation in company, even to include an overnight stay is highly recommended.
We will, no doubt, return.

Thanks to a well run hotel and excellent young staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and well appointed.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IAIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write down an account of your experience at our party night. Feedback is important to us as it enables us to address any issues and improve our overall service. In relation to the bath matts we will certainly have a look in to this as well as a few other comments mentioned within this review. It is fantastic to learn that you highly recommend the hotel and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

R.Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,137)
There are newer reviews for Lochside House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here on business for a couple of nights and this place is great as are all the staff, they are the hotels greatest assets.
Rooms are clean and very spacious. Bar has good selection and the food looks good, tastes good and is good value.
John was especially helpfull he is always ensuring the customers are happy and looked after. I even got a tour of the hotel.
Breakfast is great too.
There is also a wonderfull spa which is free for guests a couple of hours in the morning and a couple in the evening.
Overall very nice place to stay, if I'm in the area again wouldn't look to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKLeices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Five star review.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lochside House Hotel and Spa. Feedback is most important to us it’s great to read such a fantastic review. The team are extremely for such kind feedback, and can't wait to see you back again in the future!


Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We recently returned to this wonderful hotel for another two night stay and yet again it was an extremely enjoyable experience. From check in to check out we could not find fault at all. Our room was brilliant, huge with comfortable chairs, big flat screen television and bathroom had bath and separate shower.
Breakfast is delicious, great choice, we had full Scottish breakfast, emphasis on the full, it certainly filled us up, excellent.
We had dinner in the Afton restaurant on both nights and this too was brilliant, great choices and absolutely delicious.
All staff are very friendly, professional and capable.
This hotel is a real gem in Ayrshire, lovely modern hotel with beautiful surroundings.
We will be back sooner rather than later.
Well done all at Lochside Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homecomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely words regarding our hotel following your recent stay at Lochside House Hotel and Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meals in the Afton Restaurant and will pass your comments on to Head Chef Nicola.

Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Whilst I haven't stayed overnight at this hotel we did visit 2 weeks ago for a Wedding. What an amazing day. Today I was at "Ladies Day". So much better than the day at SECC. We stayed for dinner. It too was 1st class. All the staff are so attentive. A look forward to our next visit !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moorieIrvineScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is always great to get such fantastic feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words, I am delighted to hear how you enjoyed your our ladies day and we can't wait to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

What a great find out in the middle of no where within such beautiful settings.
Was attending a family wedding, Was good too see how efficient the staff were at each stage of the wedding the organisation was on a different level than Ive ever experienced, there were no long waiting periods or awkward moments .
The staff so attentive and helpful. this hotel had everything: Even the most poshest toilets ever!
Loved every minute.

Room Tip: If you like the window open. Make sure you get a room away from the Air conditioning units.. or lik...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for such a fantastic review of Lochside House Hotel and Spa, its reviews like this that really do make us love our job and motivate us to keep providing such fantastic experiences for our guests. I am delighted to hear of how you had a fantastic day and we can't wait to have you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is our 3rd overnight stay at this hotel and we have never been disappointed. The hotel is most comfortable and the staff are very attentive and make their guests feel welcome. The bedrooms are a delight and so comfortable. The food is excellent and I can certainly recommend the steaks at dinner. These are cooked to perfection in my opinion. Breakfast is most enjoyable and the view overlooking the loch contribute to a lovely, relaxing start to the day. When you want a treat or want to treat someone - come here, you won't be disappointed. We will certainly be back for a 4th stay shortly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank argala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely words regarding our hotel following your recent stay at Lochside House Hotel and Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your steak and will pass your comments on to Head Chef Nicola.

Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a birthday treat for my husband's birthday and boy what a treat it was. We were blown away by the friendliness of all the staff from the moment we walked through the door. The room was fabulous, twice the size of any hotel we have ever stayed in, and very luxurious and cosy. The bathroom was a four piece suit all tiled and spotlessly clean. The deal we had was overnight stay with dinner bed and breakfast, The evening meal was superb, we both had a starter then the steak which was perfectly cooked, my husband had a pudding which was also lovely and I had liqueur coffee. In the morning we were warmly greeted to breakfast which was equally as good and filling. I had tried to get my husband in for a massage but the spa was fully booked(should have booked it when making the hotel reservation). However they allowed us to use the thermal suit for an hour at no extra cost which really rounded the experience off. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, and in fact have raved about it to most of my friends. We will be returning to the Lochside House Hotel, hopefully very soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be great
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Five star review.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lochside House Hotel and Spa. Feedback is most important to us it’s great to read such a fantastic review. The team are extremely for such kind feedback.

Hope to see you back in the future,

Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumnock
3.8 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
495 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
129 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 5 in Prestwick
669 reviews
23.8 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
598 reviews
16.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochside House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochside House Hotel & Spa

Address: Nr New Cumnock, New Cumnock KA18 4PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > New Cumnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Price Range: $124 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochside House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 20 acres of land and overlooking two Lochs to each side, the hotel boasts magnificent views of the surrounding countryside and local 9 hole golf course. Lochside House Hotel is ideally situated for people wishing to tour Ayrshire and the outlying districts and also for those who would like to indulge themselves in The Spa at Lochside. The hotel was taken over in 1999 by Robert and Vivien Kyle and was extensively extended and refurbished to achieve a Four star rating from the Scottish Tourist Board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lochside House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochside Hotel New Cumnock
Lochside House Hotel & Spa New Cumnock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing