We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another amazing stay. Friendliest staff, first class food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Certificate of Excellence
eoinbaby
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another amazing stay. Friendliest staff, first class food and service”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I can honestly say I have never stayed in such a customer focused establishment. (I used to work in the Hotel industry!!)
My three friends and myself stayed on Saturday evening. The facilities were excellent and the Spa staff very professional and helpful. The bar staff certainly know how to make a cocktail! We dined in the evening in the restaurant where the scenery was stunning, staff welcoming and the food first class. An excellent venue for a Wedding too.
Thanks so much. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eoinbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Five star review.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lochside House Hotel and Spa. Feedback is most important to us it’s great to read such a fantastic review, I am delighted to hear how you enjoyed the cocktails and to hear of the high levels of customer experience you received.

Hope to see you back in the future,

Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    171
    73
    24
    19
See reviews for
253
457
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have had the pleasure of enoying Lochside House Hotel & Spa on a few occasions and can't fault it. Friendly staff, great food, beautiful rooms and spa treatments are the best i have ever had (better than Stobo Castle). Such a treat and looking forward to next visit. huge thanks to all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mairi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Great Review! Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay at Lochside House Hotel and Spa fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay. The team at the Spa really appreciate your kind words and we can't wait to have you back again soon!!

Kind regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We went to this hotel on the 3rd June 2013, for a special occasion, and it was truly wonderful, everything was just so perfect, could not find one negative comment.

We travel frequently abroad and in UK, and I have to say this was one of the most pleasant trips we have ever had, it was so tranquil and relaxing, all the staff were fantastic, as was the food, and the standard of the rooms.

The Spa was just wonderful and I would like to say a we special thank you to Isobel at the Spa, she is just so wonderful and makes your we pamper session all the more enjoyable.

The evening meal was fantastic and amazing views, my husband was a head chef for over 30 years and he was delighted with the standard of the food, the breakfast was equally as nice, and sitting in our rooms having breakfast in the patio, on a lovely day, looking out to the lake was just the nicest ending to a wonderful time.

All the staff were fantastic and so helpful, from reception, to waitress', to housemaids and of course Isobel in the Spa, nothing was to much trouble for anyone, they made you feel so at ease.

I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to chill out and relax in wonderful surroundings being taken care of by the most wonderful staff.

If you want to chill out on your own that was fine, the staf were very discreet and did not over power you in any way, but they were on hand and very friendly nd professional should you wish any advice, or to order anything.

Well Done Lochside House...........10 out of 10 and a big thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: A garden room is well worth it and the beds were very comfortable and rooms were spacious nd well de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the time together for 2 package and it was fantastic.
Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Room was beautiful and had lovely views from the patio seating area. Food was fantastic and the cocktails were delicious and very reasonably priced.
The spa and thermal suite were just heavenly and the girls were brilliant and very knowledgable.

I will definitely be returning to this hotel again and will definitely be using the spa, even for a day with the girls.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for one night on a special deal which included spa treatments and dinner.
The location is lovely and the grounds are immaculate around the hotel.
We had a smooth and speedy check-in on arrival and were given a quick run down on facilities on offer.
The room was nice, with most things you would need. The bed was comfortable with quality linens but the pillows were low standard in comparison. The bathroom was ok, looked like it had been upgraded all bar the dodgy tiles which didn't match the rest. The shower was weak in pressure and the toiletries were very basic. Both the room and bathroom were very clean.
Dinner was pleasant, but as we had a deal including this, we were offered a different menu from the standard one which offered a limited choice. Service was polite and efficient, maybe a little casual! We did witness at least 4 tables send plates back however, which then meant there partners were left eating alone until a replacement was brought out.
I had spa treatments on our day of departure, which were fantastic and Stephanie who was my therapist was exceptional in tailoring my treatments to my needs (I have a nut allergy and many espa products contain nut derivatives). The treatments were fantastic and the spa is really beautiful. I didn't use the thermal spa as there was a £25 charge even for guests unless you get there between 7 and 9am, which I felt was unnecessary, particularly as it was empty when I was there!
We could not access wifi in the hotel bedroom and in the public areas it was so slow it wasn't worth using, not really a big deal to me but unforgivable for my partner who reads all his newspapers etc via Internet.
Overall this is a lovely place with a few minor flaws that stop it being fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Went to a family here and this place is amazing. The hotel is fab very clean, fantastic decor. The staff were excellent to the wedding party very polite and helpful. Food was great enjoyed my meal. The location is lovely perfect for a wedding. Hope to go to another wedding here. 5 stars!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steph27Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for leaving such a great review of your recent stay at Lochside House Hotel.

So nice to read such great feedback, I am delighted to hear of the high levels of customer experience you received.

Hope to see you back again in the future.

Kind regards


Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a fantastic hotel! Had a 5pm deal on 22 May which included b & b, evening meal, spa treatment and use of the thermal pool. Hotel is beautiful, rooms are fantastic (we had a garden room), spa excellent, food lovely, staff friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Overall a wonderful experience and would highly recommend, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoggmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Great Review!

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay at Lochside House Hotel fantastic to hear you enjoyed the 5pm deal, and received to hear that the service you experienced was excellent!

I look forward to seeing you soon,


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumnock
3.8 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
463 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,004 reviews
16.9 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 6 in Prestwick
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
120 reviews
23.8 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
553 reviews
16.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochside House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochside House Hotel & Spa

Property: Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Address: Nr New Cumnock, New Cumnock KA18 4PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > New Cumnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochside House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 20 acres of land and overlooking two Lochs to each side, the hotel boasts magnificent views of the surrounding countryside and local 9 hole golf course. Lochside House Hotel is ideally situated for people wishing to tour Ayrshire and the outlying districts and also for those who would like to indulge themselves in The Spa at Lochside. The hotel was taken over in 1999 by Robert and Vivien Kyle and was extensively extended and refurbished to achieve a Four star rating from the Scottish Tourist Board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, LateRooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lochside House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochside Hotel New Cumnock
Lochside House Hotel & Spa New Cumnock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing