We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no beef with this ayreshire hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Well where do i start?This was a complete experience from walking into reception to driving back out the lovely grounds.Check in was a breeze arriving a bit early wasn't a problem we were given the key to garden suite 23 or as we called it the beckham suite.Im sure david and victoria wouldnt have been disappointed,well appointed room huge bed every creature comfort.We dined in the afton restaurant with a gorgeous view over the loch,the food of a standard and taste way beyond a normal 4 star hotel it was a proverbial gastronomic delight.Finally and most importantly the staff were different class amberley and caitlin were marvellous waitresses efficient quick and very friendly nothing too much trouble.We are coming back in september for a family wedding but will try and fit in another overnight before then .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for such a fantastic review of Lochside House Hotel and Spa, its reviews like this that really do make us love our job and motivate us to keep providing such fantastic experiences for our guests.

I am delighted to hear of the high levels of customer experience you received from all the staff and to hear that you enjoyed your evening meal in Afton and will pass your comments on to Head Chef Nicola.

I am glad to hear of how you are already planning your return visit!

Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

988 - 994 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We regularly eat at this restaurant with family. Luckily on this occasion we had booked as they were excedingly busy both in the restaurant and in the function room where a wedding was taking place. As they were so busy we did have a short wait between our starter and our main course but nothing excessive. We passed the time watching the beautifully dressed wedding guests arrive. We all chose diferent meals from the Sunday lunch menu and everything was delicious although our Aunts struggled to finish their meals as the portions were generous as usual. On this occasion we passed on desert. The waiter advised that they are getting very popular and so it is always best to book. I am looking forward to trying out the spa at some time in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is always great to get such fantastic feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words, we will pass this on to the team at Afton Restaurant and pass on your kind comments to Head Chef Nicola.

Kind Regards,


Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have just returned from a wedding at this hotel, I can highly recommend it, the food was absolutely outstanding, although the service at times was a little slow, the bar area is very cosy, and the hotel is well kept and clean, the only negative advice would be to make sure you don't get room number one, as it is the first room to be built, and is not of the same standard as the others I saw, it also has a terrible view of the roof, which is especially unpleasant if you have travelled thousands of miles to spend a couple of days.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't have Room number 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michy312595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay at Lochside House Hotel and Spa. We hope you enjoyed the wedding. Thank you for your comments and we will take these all on board, and pass your comments regarding the food onto Head Chef Nicola.

Kind Regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have been here 3 times in the last month for a meal every time perfection had the duck in orange sauce totally amazing. Have had 2 spa days and coming for a 3rd in a few weeks spa is stunning garden suite is beautiful. Staff are always friendly and helpful :). Off to sister hotel the carlton next weekend for our 1st wedding anniversary we got married in carlton well done robert and vivian brilliant hotels you have

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephxbx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Congratulations on your first year anniversary! Thank you for such a fantastic review of Lochside House Hotel and Spa, its reviews like this that really do make us love our job and motivate us to keep providing such fantastic experiences for our guests.

The team at Lochside really appreciate your kind words and we can't wait to have you back again soon!!


Kind Regards,


Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just returned from overnight spa break at The Lochside and can't compliment it enough. The treatments I received from my therapist Claire and her attention to detail were excellent and believe me I have been to enough spas to warrant this praise. The Thermal suite and the spa area itself are fabulous and certainly create a wonderful ambiance of rest and relaxation.
The stay in our garden room was also a pleasure, it was spotlessly clean with warm comfortable beds. The food was also lovely throughout our stay with an excellent choice for breakfast. If would also like to compliment all the staff, polite, courteous,helpful and smiling!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is always great to get such fantastic feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words, we will pass this on to the team at Lochside House Hotel and Spa.

I am very pleased we were able to be consistent in providing you with the great service we give to all of our guests. I am pleased to hear how you liked the Garden Suite this really is a great room.

Kind Regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just returned from a weekend at the hotel for my sons wedding. Everything was perfect from the staff on reception, restaurant, spa and the wedding reception staff. We stayed in a garden room which was clean and comfortable and we did'nt hear a sound from the other rooms. Food was delicious. I can't fault anything about the hotel and would recommend for a wedding which they excel in and will definitely return for a spa/golf break in the not so distant future. Thank you for a wonderful weekend and for making my son and new daughter in law's wedding day a perfect day to remember.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are beautiful, I was in room 29 other family members were in 18 also a garden room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R0nmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for such a fantastic review of Lochside House Hotel and Spa, its reviews like this that really do make us love our job and motivate us to keep providing such fantastic experiences for our guests.

Great to hear how you were looked after by the team – I am glad to hear of how you are already planning your return visit!

Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We returned yesterday from a wedding at The Lochside. What a fantastic venue. Everything went like clockwork, the room , a garden suite, was fab, the food was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel as a fantastic place for a wedding but also a romantic getaway. Loved it!

Room Tip: Garden suites were very big with a lovely small terrace with fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALIBALI63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Lochside House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Five star review.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lochside House Hotel and Spa. Feedback is most important to us it’s great to read such a fantastic review. I am delighted to hear how you enjoyed the Garden Suites, these really are great rooms.

Hope to see you back in the future,

Kind Regards,


Robert Kyle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumnock
3.8 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
516 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,137 reviews
17.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 5 in Prestwick
703 reviews
16.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochside House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochside House Hotel & Spa

Address: Nr New Cumnock, New Cumnock KA18 4PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > New Cumnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Price Range: $132 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochside House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 20 acres of land and overlooking two Lochs to each side, the hotel boasts magnificent views of the surrounding countryside and local 9 hole golf course. Lochside House Hotel is ideally situated for people wishing to tour Ayrshire and the outlying districts and also for those who would like to indulge themselves in The Spa at Lochside. The hotel was taken over in 1999 by Robert and Vivien Kyle and was extensively extended and refurbished to achieve a Four star rating from the Scottish Tourist Board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Lochside House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochside Hotel New Cumnock
Lochside House Hotel & Spa New Cumnock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing