We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Re-energising in the lap Of Luxury on my Doorstep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Certificate of Excellence
New Cumnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and Re-energising in the lap Of Luxury on my Doorstep”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Fabulous overnight stay in the Garden Rooms which provided a spectacular view of the Loch and surrounding hillside.
Rooms are amazing , so warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Spa staff were so accommodating and revising treatments to suit our needs as I currently have a health problem. Entering the Spa area provides an instant calming and relaxing feeling and the vitality pool with steam room and saunas were so enjoyable.
The food is amazing and it was no problem to adjust the meal i.e. vegetables instead of salad or mashed potatoes instead of boiled. Breakfast was suited to every taste with all foods anyone could want from toast and Jam to Scotch Porridge Oats to the good old Full Cooked Breakfast.
The Hotel staff could not have been more attentive and so pleasant and therefore it was a real pleasure to stay overnight and an experience that everyone should attempt at least once. I for one will certainly be returning. I only live 2 miles away and felt like I could have been miles from anywhere.
Lochside House Hotel and Spa is certainly a credit to Owners, Managers and all staff involved in its running. Thank You

Room Tip: Garden Rooms open to a small patio to allow you to enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W999LMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    171
    74
    25
    19
See reviews for
256
460
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at The Lochside on an online deal mid week. I had been there a few years ago for a wedding and thought it was lovely so decided to go back again with my husband. Unfortunately it wasn't as good as I had remembered.

Check in was really efficient but we didn't receive very much information about facilities, times etc. We had lunch in the main restaurant, the food did take a while to arrive and was quite average. We had a glass of sparkling wine as part of the package and the weirdly the waiter asked us what we thought of it whilst half laughing?

We had booked a spa treatment and this was amazing, the thermal suite and facilities were really relaxing and I would recommend. The only let down was the unfriendly receptionist at the spa.

We had dinner at night and it was very disorganised. The Maitre D' didn't seem to have any control over the evenings proceedings and was quite rude. We placed our order with the waiter and he informed us that there would be a bit of a wait as we hadn't ordered starters, something I have never encountered eating out anywhere! However the food was lovely. The Maitre D' had a car sales man type attitude and was very forceful about ordering a dessert which we declined in the end to which he replied he was disappointed!

Our room was lovely and, very comfortable sleep. Breakfast was a huge improvement (possibly as previous nights Maitre D wasn't there!) and the girls who served us were great.

Overall a nice break but I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roundtheworldscots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed for 1 night on 20th oct 2012. Was in a garden suite which was a stunning room with loch view. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The spa facilites were relaxing and inviting. We had lunch dinner and breakfast. The food was delicious and good value. portions were certainly not skimmped on. I would recommend this hotel and hope to go back myself soon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynseycoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

When we arrived we were impressed by the views. Lovely grounds and lots of space for parking. We used the £69 groupon deal with dinner, b&b and sparkling wine in room. Check in was speedy, even though we got there before 2 ,our room was ready. Room was clean, stylish and had great views. However the sparkling wine was cheap and nasty!

We ate lunch and dinner in the hotel. Food was tasty and well presented. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Spa was disappointing. The pictures made it out to be much grander than it was. It is a small space with a sauna, steam room, small vitality pool and a few chairs. It was a struggle to spend half an hour there. I would have been annoyed if I had payed extra to use it.

Overall it was a nice night away, but nothing that makes me go wow I want to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LA0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here overnight after a wedding and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The stunning views of the grounds and surrounding country side make this hotel an ideal place for a relaxing break. The staff are very helpful, friendly and can't do enough to help you. The food is excellent particularly the breakfast. We stayed in a family room but these are the same standard as the other rooms which are stunning, very large and of a high standard in decor and fittings.
Overall the Lochside House Hotel was brilliant, I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Having been to the Lochside House Hotel for many years over the last 10 years, we were disappointed by our meal there on Christmas Day 2010. However, we decided to give them another chance this weekend when visiting beautiful Scotland.......
We were very disappointed. The 'new' restaurant (the lovely old one now being used only for weddings, it seems) was unbelievably hot and stuffy. We commented on this only to be told that the aircon was on and there was nothing they could do.
The food was OK - avoid the roast beef on a Sunday as (apparently) it comes 'pre-sliced' so rare is not an option!! Does this mean it was then microwaved???
Great setting - go for a drink or a coffee if you're in the area. Otherwise - head for a good pub!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Meryl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here overnight with my husband just for a break, had a wonderful stay, beautiful hotel inside and out, lochside view from our room which was fantastic, staff very friendly and happy, rooms and spa were great too, food was amazin and breakfast prob the best I have ever had at any hotel. would def recommend, brilliant value and will def be back, thanks to all staff for making our stay so pleasant.fantastic value....
Carol and John Merrigan

Room Tip: We stayed in Creoch Suite which overlooked the loch with a small balcony, room great size too, lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolMGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumnock
3.8 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 6 in Prestwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
23.8 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
16.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochside House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochside House Hotel & Spa

Property: Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Address: Nr New Cumnock, New Cumnock KA18 4PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > New Cumnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Cumnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochside House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 20 acres of land and overlooking two Lochs to each side, the hotel boasts magnificent views of the surrounding countryside and local 9 hole golf course. Lochside House Hotel is ideally situated for people wishing to tour Ayrshire and the outlying districts and also for those who would like to indulge themselves in The Spa at Lochside. The hotel was taken over in 1999 by Robert and Vivien Kyle and was extensively extended and refurbished to achieve a Four star rating from the Scottish Tourist Board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lochside House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochside Hotel New Cumnock
Lochside House Hotel & Spa New Cumnock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing