We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing business trip”
Review of The Old School

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School
Ranked #1 of 3 New Cumnock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing business trip”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I travel a lot alone on business and found this hotel by chance. I was greeting with a friendly welcome and shown around the hotel, for the facilities. The hotel has kept many original features which add to the character. I stayed in the Geography room with an oversized comfy 4 poster bed, after a long day at work travelling there was nothing better than a deep large bath in a lovely bathroom. I was originally only going to stay one night but found it so nice stayed another. Breakfast was cooked to perfection, not a cold stewed buffet. I also had an evening meal which was cooked especially for me, you can choose in the morning what ever you may fancy for the evening and the products are purchased that day fresh. There were lots of extra little touches, like hand made soaps. Plenty of biscuits and tea/coffee. there is also a library and a large selection of dvds that you can use in your room.

I defiantly will be coming back soon and looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Geography Room has oversize comfy 4 poster bed and deep Victorian rolltop bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedeep1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review !! It was lovely having you stay with us.
We would love to see you again next time your up this way.
Mike & Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
168
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
boat of garten
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

5 star accomodation . The food and the rooms were fantastic we will be back.
Mike and Liz made us feel so welcome and that nothing was a problem.
We are not home 24 hours and we have already recommended it to some of our friends

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesboatofgarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you both for a lovey review and for choosing to stay with us. it was a pleasure having you here.
We hope to see you when next your in the area.
Mike & Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Found this b&b by chance when we could not get booked into a nearby hotel. Very glad we did . The owners Mike and Liz made us both feel very welcome and the property had a lovely relaxed ambience. Our room was a lovely size and well presented. Breakfast was of high standard with locally sourced produce . The dining room was again a warm welcoming room and we could have quite happily sat for longer. Nice to find a b&b of such a high standard and would recommend a visit. Chris and pauline

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulineMcBlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, It was a pleasure having you here.
We hope you would consider coming back if your ever in the area again.
Mike & Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The Old School was set a short distance from the beautiful Dark Sky Park along a quiet road leading to the small town of New Cumnock and Cumnock where there were a small, but ample selection of places for an evening meal.

The outside of the building was very smart, but did not prepare us for what a beautifully decorated and laid out place there was inside. The paint was fresh, the artwork interesting and unique, and furniture very sympathetic to the building and beautiful.

We were met by Mike who seemed to be one of life's genuinely nice people - nothing was too much to ask, so helpful with the local area, good places to eat, and where to visit.

The whole house was immaculately clean. The lounge had very comfy sofas and a good outlook to the surrounding area, complete with binoculars and a history of the building. There was a DVD and book selection to borrow for the evening should you wish.

As for the bedrooms, wow! We stayed in the geography room. As we walked in, the room felt so spacious even with a comfy sofa to lounge in and a beautiful and ridiculously comfy four poster bed (with fantastically fresh smelling sheets). The bathroom had a separate bath and shower and even had some home made soaps with a note to say take them with you.

Breakfast, set in a large and light room, had plenty of cold and hot selection to choose from- our scrambled eggs had some fresh duck eggs thrown in which was a special touch. I personally enjoyed the home-made place mats too - very quirky.

Some B and B's you enjoy and write a good review for even though there are clearly things you would change, this place does not even need that - we loved it all, it was simply perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
WOW ! what a fantastic review ! How do I reply to all your wonderful comments ! :OD It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. We hope if your ever back in the area you'll come back and see us at the old school.
Many thanks, Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Four night stay whilst visiting relatives nearby. Mike looked after us very well, even though he was busy with the refurbishment of the kitchen. Very comfortable History Classroom, with sitting area and en suite, facing to the rear, trading the view for peace and tranquility. Excellent full Scottish breakfasts. Art work by local artist Brian Carey an unexpected bonus, especially as it is available for purchase. We liked the Old School so much we stole our room key - sorry Mike, it is in the post!

Room Tip: The Art Room has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
It was a pleasure having you stay, thank you for putting up with the upheaval in the kitchen and the late bacon. The other keys have been miserable since the untimely departure of the History key. We look forward to welcoming it back ;OD .
Many thanks , Mike & Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night on 27th September while attending a wedding in a nearby hotel. On arrival we were upgraded without asking to the Geography room which has a beautiful 4 poster bed and a massive, spotlessly clean ensuite bathroom. I must say that we had one of the best nights sleep we've had anywhere. Mike and Liz were perfect hosts and we would definately recommend The Old School if staying in the area. We just wish we hadn't overslept and missed breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, When you stay next I'll give you a wake up call so you don't miss our beautifully locally sourced breakfast :oD
It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Liz & Mike gave us a very warm welcome. They could not do enough to make you welcome & to ensure that you were comfortable. In the foyer I noticed an old school desk which was lovely. The breakfast made by Mike was very tastey & lovely could not fault any part of our two night stay. We would definately recommend to all our friends & family, to which we would most definately go back.

Thank you Liz & Mike for such a lovely pleasant weekend.

Room Tip: We were in the History Classroom which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizMc1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeMacF, Owner at The Old School, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Old School.
Mike and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumnock
3.0 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
5.8 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
5.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
22.1 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
16.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School

Property: The Old School
Address: Dalleagles | New Cumnock, New Cumnock KA18 4QW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > New Cumnock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Cumnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old School Dalleagles is a 4*Gold B&B in rural East Ayrshire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School New Cumnock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing