We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, will be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Schoolhouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Schoolhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Comber B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We had been here about 15 years ago and were passing so decided to try it again. Has changed for the better – good food, good service and well decorated. The menu was excellent and varied, with a good value 3 course option available, and we all were able to select to our own varied tastes. The food when it arrived was beautifully presented and very tasty. We all enjoyed our experience and will be back again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojodo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    30
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
91
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Very often, a Mother's Day meal out has meant a cattle-market approach married with mediocre food and harried service. However, on Mothering Sunday just past, previous dubious experiences were not repeated.

Overall, our party of five had a lovely afternoon. The atmosphere was convivial, the surroundings were classy and the food was superb! The service, whilst undoubtedly courteous, was somewhat perfunctory and a smile would have been welcome at times! We did laugh out loud when Granny's leek & potato soup arrived in a large Pyrex mixing bowl arrangement, but she did declare it to be both satisfying & delicious. A cornucopia of starters, mains & desserts were enjoyed and quickly despatched, and although the portions were not large, everyone appeared to be satisfied at the end of what turned out to be a beautiful meal. Not inexpensive, but worth it for a flavoursome dining experience which could only be improved by the warmth of a friendly welcome!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank EllieMac5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Visited the Old Schoolhouse today with my family. Four adults and two children for Mothering Sunday lunch and what an experience! The decor and warmth of the restaurant are so welcoming, along with a very friendly staff. Our son recommended the old schoolhouse and we certainly were not disappointed.

I cannot describe how delicious the food tasted. When we had all finished our meals, we wished we were only starting!! The menu was exciting, and the grandchildren loved the home made breads as their starter.

We as a family enjoy our food immensely, and our compliments to a very skilled chef. I can honestly say that the food is the finest I have tasted in a very long time, and that I will be returning soon.

We travelled to Kinsale in September and had some fantastic meals in excellent restaurants, but the Old schoolhouse came out tops.

Congratulations to a warm caring staff also for making Mothering Sunday a day to remember. Can't wait to return!!!! Thank you.





Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stumbled upon............ Food to contend and better anything in Belfast including the critically acclaimed "Ox". Made all the more appealing with its rural location. Current chief has trained under marco pierre white and Gordon Ramsey. Menu, food,service and Tim Burton like décor are faultless. Go, try and keep it to yourself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

After a gap of many years since our last visit and on hearing encouraging reports, we booked Sunday lunch recently and were pleasantly surprised. There is the great combination of the chef/proprietor in the kitchen and his 'on-the-ball' friend front of house. The result is marvellous food, artistically served, with enthusiastic service from the young servers and all at realistic prices We can't wait to return and maybe take advantage of the accommodation on offer to really go to town and have an even better experience

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Birthday weekend B&B and dinner, well what an amazing night, fantastic maître d, fantastic service and food, everyone enjoyed and we're very impressed by what was on offer......... food has to be tried - make your way here -you will not be disappointed..........
We were in a group of 8 meeting up in the B&B, friends having a drink in the lovely cozy communal room when we arrived, we were shown a room by one of our friends. The better rooms having probably gone, we were disappointed on the 'old fashioned' style of the rooms, with blow heaters! When we returned that evening after dinner - we realized our room the Roosevelt I think was 2 singles pushed together, one was a sunken mess and we had to sleep in one.
They hopefully will sort this out and will have an amazing place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We took our mum here for her birthday and were very impressed with the service and excellent quality of the food. Would highly recommend it and believe that the Sunday lunch provides excellent value for money - keep up the good work!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comber
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Schoolhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Schoolhouse Inn

Property: The Old Schoolhouse Inn
Address: 100 Ballydrain Road | Castle Espie, Comber BT23 6EA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Comber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Comber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Schoolhouse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little piece of Heaven situated by the shores of Strangford Lough in an area of outstanding beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Schoolhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Schoolhouse Inn Comber, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing