We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant with Quality hotel accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Schoolhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Comber B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Restaurant with Quality hotel accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the inn which is nearly 4 star with super large bedroom and v comfortable bed equally large bathroom and large screen TV and good wifi
Great working area desk. Breakfast includes a creative fruit dish, full irish is good. Tea coffee and biscuits not in room but on tap in separate room with fresh milk in fridge.

Bathroom and Shower needs upgrade.
Great spot for accommodation outside of Belfast but accessible for travelling.
Now for the real Fire!
The attached restaurant is run by William Brown an exciting new chef and son of inn owners. Incredible Michelin star presentation and quality at half price. Enjoy before prices double or triple! He has starred in NI great British food tv
competition, not winning but on his way. His fish pie with hake, cod, salmon along with crisp cheese top over the creamiest potatoes was the v best! He sources local food with NI mussels and rabbit dishes.
Dessert was lemon tart with strawberry marshmallow and coconut nut ice cream and meringue shards see photo. I am in NI on business and will return on next visit how I envy locals who can travel to visit anytime it makes a great eating destination not just for special occasions.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndwarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    32
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
50
97
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Rozas, Spain
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had Sunday lunch at this restaurant near Comber. The setting is splendid, just beside Castle Espie Bird Sanctuary and, clearly, in an old schoolhouse building. The welcome was very pleasant and the service throughout attentive and discreet. The restaurant was perhaps a little spartan. That day was really sunny and we had a problem with the sun blazing through the unprotected windows, making us move around the table every so often to get a little shade - they really need to invest in some window coverings to avoid this happening. The food was generally speaking excellent although my beef was seriously overcooked (in spite of the "100 lines" on the blackboard saying that the chef must not overcook the beef). Apologies were given and accepted. All in all, an enjoyable meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisyphus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a review of the restaurant, not the accommodation. Friday lunch for four in a largely empty room -only one other table was occupied. We chose from the set lunch menu and had chicken or hake. Both mains were beautifully presented and full of interesting flavours. For dessert to follow we had creme brulée with raspberry foam or a selection of ice cream, again with unusual flavours. The food was delightful and the service excellent. Two suggestions: provide seat pads on the rather uncomfortable wooden chairs; and offer a wider selection of main courses on the prix fixe. And spread the word - this place should be full at Friday lunchtime.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinkle176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Went here for lunch with two friends yesterday, our first visit, we found the welcome, surroundings, restaurant and the food to be outstanding. Gareth's service and Will's food were memorable and it is our intention to return possibly staying overnight in order that we can enjoy even more the food and wine.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groomsport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

You know the trip was worthwhile when you spend the entire journey home again talking about the lunch you just had.

It's 21 years since I was last here and boy has it changed, physically. It was always good, Avril Brown had a reputation for bloody good food and bloody good food was what she delivered. Day in, day out. It's now evolved into being more of its time and although the decor wouldn't be to everyone's taste, although. I can't really find fault with it whatsoever, it's just different to what it was. It's moved on. It's 21st Century.

Seemingly Avril's ethos has passed down to her son tenfold. And then some.

A bloody reasonably priced lunch menu, working out around the £17 mark if you go for the full three courses and the most expensive options, (although they're far from expensive in the scheme of things) and a separate la carte menu that won't set you back more than around the £38 for three courses.

If you fall into the 80%+ of Norn Iron diners who judge a meal by how stuffed they feel after eating and insist on ordering a plethora of potato options as 'free' side orders, not knowing whether to eat or climb their meal when it finally arrives, then this place isn't for you at all. Thank God.

What do you get is genuine skill, knowledge and a desire to ensure that everything on the plate works. And works very well. The food's not trying to be clever, it isn't trying to dazzle you with science, it's just done as it should be done. Each dish we sampled was created from the ground up. There was no room for error. We got the impression that (and rightly so) each dish had been tried, tested, adjusted, tried again and then it was allowed on the menu. Without even knowing there was a mention of MPW on the Chef's CV, two of my courses had him written all over it. Memories of him at Harvey's in the early 90s came a flooodin' back...

To me and actually to both of us, we can't think of anywhere in the North that can hold a candle to this. It's somewhere we both intend to visit again and again. It was simply magical cooking. For me in particular, being a nightmare to dine out with, this was, as the title suggests, simply peerless and I wish both Will and his team the success they so rightfully deserve.

Stunning. Simply stunning. 11/10

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank postcode70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

A warm welcome despite our very late arrival (1115pm) and the staff were more than happy to serve us a couple of drinks as well. The rooms were clean,warm and comfortable followed by an excellent breakfast in the morning.
The bathrooms were an excellent size with nice toiletries(sp), my only tiny criticism is that the showers were not very powerful but was told by friends who live in the area that it is possible that the water pressure was not very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Issey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Dinner with good friends on a Saturday night is always a treat but last night's meal at Will Brown's Schoolhouse was exceptional. Thought has been given to the interiors, simple and warm while retaining the most interesting features of the building. The atmosphere is buzzy without that dreadful 'jazz mood' music the city restaurants seem to favour. The staff were very welcoming and just on the right side of attentive without being fussy. We had a special menu request which was handled with accommodating grace. But the food here is the real hero. Will Brown is clearly a talent to watch. Sumptuous flavours expertly combined and food that though beautifully presented is clearly meant to be eaten and enjoyed. Portion sizes were right on the money. Two gents with healthy appetites were very satisfied after 3 courses. One suggestion might be to give the wine list a little care and attention, but that seems picky after a fantastic experience. Already dreaming up reasons for a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill_Col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comber
5.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
9.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
5.1 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
10.0 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
2.1 mi away
Anna's House
Anna's House
#2 of 2 in Comber
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Schoolhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Schoolhouse Inn

Property: The Old Schoolhouse Inn
Address: 100 Ballydrain Road | Castle Espie, Comber BT23 6EA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Comber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Comber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Schoolhouse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little piece of Heaven situated by the shores of Strangford Lough in an area of outstanding beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Schoolhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Schoolhouse Inn Comber, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing