We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”

Sugarcane Cafe Bistro
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Comber
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Eclectic little Bistro in Comber Square. Now recognised in The Georgina Campbell Guide Ireland. Winner of the 2014 Best Eatery and best licences premises at the Ards business awards. We source great tasting local produce, mostly from within Co. Down. We are open 7 days a week from 9am with a gorgeous Bistro menu running nightly from 5pm Wed to Sun. Join us for breakfast, lunch, dinner or just a coffee and cake.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

16 of us decided to visit the Sugarcane on their first late Wednesday night and we were not disappointed. The food was fantastic, great atmosphere and friendly staff. Would definetly recommend the Sugarcane. Thanks Sugarcane for a great night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lynda5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 358 of 477 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

Another fantastic visit to Sugarcane this time for my daughter's 21st birthday. 21 of us for a meal a big party this visit and we couldn't have wished for a better night. It all went off with out a hitch,the food was beautiful as usual and a fantastic wee team off staff made it a very special night for us all. It was so good the birthday girl and i were back the next morning for the amazing sugarcane breakfast. I would recommend Sugarcane for a wee coffee or a big party is the place to be in Comber.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

When the Sugarcane first opened you were always guaranteed good food, service and value for money. These days they overcharge for meals with small portions and service often leaves a lot to be desired. The last time I went here for breakfast was in August 2012 with a party of 8 of us. The chef managed to burn all of the fried eggs, the food was cold and the bill a joke. I haven't been back since and don't plan to unless I hear reports of big improvements.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarcaneCoffeeCo, Owner at Sugarcane Cafe Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Hi Darren,

Thanks for your comments. I'd like to take some time to respond to this review. Your title states,
"Not as good as once was" yet you clearly stated that you last visited in August 2012, some 6 months ago. You also state that we are expensive now, yet we are still cheaper overall than when we 1st opened in 2006 despite having absorbed many many supplier based price increases.

You also complained that your last dish wasn't to our usual standard yet I ask you if you actually brought this to our attention at the time? If you had of done so we would immediately rectified the problem and made sure that you left happy.

I really am bemused that after 6 months you feel the need to go onto a public forum to make a review of a visit in August last year. Also you may have noticed that our reviews are by in large very positive and that we are the no1 rated restaurant in Comber. This only come by way of happy customers that all seem to return week on week as we really do want everyone to enjoy both the food and customer service. We, like any business in not faultless and we always listen to our customers wether the feedback is positive or negative.

I do hope you choose to visit us again and that your next visit is a good one.

Best of luck

Peter McCleery
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Popped into the Sugarcane Cafe Bistro for lunch. Excellent atmosphere in the place, and the menu was very good also. Seems to be an emphasis on using locally produced food (bread, cheese & meats etc) which is good to see. We chose the soup & sandwiches combo, and it was very tasty indeed. We inquired about the different menus that were available for our next visit to a staff member Chloe, and she very kindly printed off copies of the menus for us to take away.
All in all, the food was excellent, and Chloe looked after us very well and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be back to sample the rest of what the Sugarcane has to offer! First class!!

1  Thank keithcrawford2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I am a regular customer at Sugarcane, I've been many times with family and friends. As soon as you walk through the door you are welcomed by the very friendly staff, you never have to wait too long for a table or meal. The atmsophere and decor is lovely, I would definitely recommend! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarcane Cafe Bistro also viewed

Comber, County Down
 

Been to Sugarcane Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing