We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Inn should be 4* - it's a lovely, intimate hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Inn Crawfordsburn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“The Inn should be 4* - it's a lovely, intimate hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2006

My husband and I stayed on a Saturday night in Sept 06, although we bkd a superior room we were given the Mount Stewart Suite and it was wonderful. The room was spacious and very comfortable. We ate in the 1614 fine dining restaurant and the food/wine were excellent. The whole atmosphere around the hotel is warm and welcoming. Our only negative is we sat in the Residents Lounge after dinner and as it was very busy we left after 20 mins as no one had asked us if we wanted a drink and we were unable to catch anyone's eye. Having said this, the lounge was very busy but there didn't seem to many staff on duty. We had breakfast in our room and it was lovely, equivalent to some 5* hotels we've stayed in. We've bkd to go back for our anniversary in November and we can't wait. The hotel is well worth a visit and would be a lovely treat for any couple.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireeTurnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    180
    95
    53
    42
See reviews for
186
467
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2006

What a beautiful part of the country! We love the Belfast area and are getting married there next year so we've been trying out various venues.
The Crawfordsburn had lovely rooms, my partner asked for an upgrade on the sly and got it! The height of luxury though the food was very over-priced but this didn't stop it being mobbed! The only prob I had was that all levels of staff were very aloof, sometimes even ignoring us, perhaps this was because we got a late deal, I'm not sure but we're certainly not a couple who look out of place in any establishment, so this has stopped us from returning, and indeed choosing it for our wedding.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazstiof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2006

'Old Inn' sums up a building which is the result of haphazard additions to the original structure. You need a training program to find the way from the lobby to the restaurant!

Rooms very clean and charming with canopied bed and creaking floor plus great bathroom, one of the best I've seen in an old hotel. On the other hand, expect some noise if you're in the front of the building which is right on a country road.

Our package included a dinner and the menu made it look mouthwatering. The result, though, was a disappointment with steaks a little too small and tough and ice cream that had spent too long in the freezer.

Friendly Ulster and eastern European staff were quick to act when asked to change a room, but could not come up with a softer pillow (these little details can make all the difference).

One other word about Northern Ireland: unlike the Republic, which has had a blanket 'no smoking in public places' law for a couple of years, this part of Ireland is still a smokers' paradise. The law changes next year. Roll on Summer 2007!

  • Liked — Charm
  • Disliked — tobacco smoke
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clive49a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2006

We stayed at the inn last week and loved our quaint room with low ceiling and high bed. It had a nice bathroom although I think the bath was too small for the price of the room. Shockingly, the hotel also charges £15 for a child's cot. We travel quite a bit and have never before come across this charge. The hotel is really charming and the day we arrived thatchers were repairing the roof, which was interesting to watch. On the major downside though the woman responsible for serving food in the bar was extremely rude. i listened to her chastise two separate families for daring to try to fund a table for themselves. She asked if they had not seen the sign asking for people to wait to be seated. (This sign was out of eye shot on entering the bar). It was awful to watch her embarassing people and I am sure I am not the first to notice her attitude. Later in the day I was ignored by her for at least 20 minutes while waiting for service. I did not complain to the manager because I did not want to dampen the occasion for us. On the other hand, I could not praise the staff in the restaurant and those behind the bar highly enough.

  • Liked — quaint rooms
  • Disliked — the horrible woman in the bar
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cara99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2006

Spent a weekend here with partner June 2006 wonderful ambience four poster bed etc. Arrived and had a beautuful meal in the Hotel Bistro Comfortable surroundings, clean would certainly visit again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2006

i recently stayed in this hotel with my partner and found it a lovely place and would def recommend it...the food was gorgeous and staff friendly...only fault i could say is that it took 25 mins to get our desert after dinner whilst everyone else around us got served but the waitress apolyigised for the delay....the room was perfect and even though im 6 months pregnant and find the heat unbearable i managed to sleep without any problems...partner said it was the best sleep he ever had....cant wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawfordsburn
1.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
3.0 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
2.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
4.5 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 3 in Holywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn Crawfordsburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn Crawfordsburn

Property: The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Address: 15 Main Street | County Down, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor > Crawfordsburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn Crawfordsburn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn is over 400 years old. With thatched roof, open turf fires and ornate furnishings - this cosy Northern Ireland retreat offers 2AA rosette dining, Dinner Bed and Breakfast is our most popular package. We also have close links to nearby spa and golf facilities to make your short break a wonderfully relaxing break away from it all. Family run for generations, the welcome is as warm as the famous fires. Family rooms available and a luxurious outdoor pavilion with... You guessed it, a roaring open fire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Inn Crawfordsburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Hotel Crawfordsburn
Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing