We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Husband and I spent our 4th wedding anniversary at the Old Inn and we were spoilt from arrival to departure. We stayed in the Castleward Suite and dined in the Lewis and I have to say it exceeded all our expectations. Clean, friendly, and nothing a problem. Our sincerest thanks to Ciaran the assistant manager whose faultless attention to detail was fantastic. Well done to you all for an absolute pleasurable stay. We will most certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murpees79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Heather W, Thank you for taking the time to post a 'beautiful' review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that I have posted your response and that of 'murpees' to the wrong pages. Thank you for your kind words on your visit. We were delighted that you enjoyed your dining experiences with us and that you found the Cottage to be very comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here several times and never been disappointed! Every room is different! Just a beautiful place to be! Lovely seating area outside to sit with a drink - open fire in the evening also!! Food is also amazing and they do a great deal for two with wine! Def recommended!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Joanne M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you have enjoyed several stays with us so much. As you correctly point out, all of our rooms are individually styled and decorated and many now have four poster beds. Our outside areas also encourage a lot of positive feed back even in the autumn and winter months when we have a real fire blazing in our Pavilion every day. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say other than I love this hotel. My family and I had dinner for my 40th birthday celebrations on Friday 13th June and all I can say is it was absolutely perfect. The hotel is gorgeous, the food is delicious and off a very high quality and the staff are so welcoming, attentive and friendly. I thank you all for making my birthday just a perfect day/night. My husband and I then stayed over in a deluxe room. The only complaint is the heat in the bedroom even though there was no heating on, but really what can the hotel do to rectify the problem. .....I certainly would hate to see air conditioning installation ruin the old and tranquil experience of a stay in this hotel. I love this hotel and couldn't recommend it highly enough. Thanks for helping me make excellent memories. Your hotel played a big part in making me a very happy 40 year old.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank SMICK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear SMICK74, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your 40th birthday with us so much. Thank you for your kind words in particular on our lovely team, we have been working hard in the background and we are pleased that you liked the results. Thank you also for your kind words on our accommodation; there a certainly quirks to be managed when managing an hotel, thats 400 years old! We look forward to welcoming you back for your 41st! Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed for 1 night in a deluxe room. Room was beautiful and very clean.
Dinner in the Lewis restaurant was amazing and we had fantastic service throughout out our stay.
Have stayed before and each time have had the same experience. The staff are friendly and helpful. Sitting in the garden on a sunny day with a glass of wine is pure bliss!

Room Tip: Each room is different so I would advise choosing a different room each time you stay! I have staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juls541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear juls541, Thank you for taking the time for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recentstay with us. Thank you, in particular, for your kind words on the appointment of your bedroom. All of our bedrooms are individually styled and named instead of numbered. Rather unique we think. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope you bring the weather with you (again). Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Had a one night stopover here visiting friends in Bangor. The Hotel is very old and full of character. On entry a warm wood fire was burning in reception and it had a good feel right away. The bar and restaurant areas are very warm and inviting and are individually different the hotel being long and narrow. Our bedroom was in the old part with uneven floors and very quaint. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and the hot food was delivered to the table. A nice place to stay

Room Tip: book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zanique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Zanique, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our fire at reception is indeed one of the key focal points of the hotel and ceratinly helps to 'set the scene' for anyone visiting the hotel, especially on a rainy, miserable day such as today (in June!) Thank you also for your kind words about your freshly cooked breakfast; we do consider it to be the most important meal of the day as for many it is the last food memory that they will have of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had the pleasure of spending this afternoon in the opulent surroundings of the Lower Gallery in the Old Inn, Crawfordsburn. Our party (consisting of family and friends) had a meal in the hotel following my daughters First Communion. The food was fabulous and the service was superb. I was also extremely impressed with the welcome we received and the attention to detail was impeccable. Thank you so much to Kieran and all of the team for helping to make this a very special day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoDownVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear CountyDownVisitor, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your special day with us on Sunday. Thank you also for your kind words about Ciaran our assistant manager. His sharp eye for detail and inherent sense of hospitality keep us all on our toes!, and how fortunate to have the opportunity to dine in our gallery. Sometimes it doesn't do any harm to bend the rules a little. We are glad that you appreciated it, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for one night in a junior suite which was lovely. Furnished perfectly in keeping with the tradition of the building. Booked the room on hotel`s own website as part of the deal of the week and got it at a really reasonable price.
Dined in the restaurant Lewis and chose the Table D Hote menu which was again reasonable .The food was beautiful both starter and main and the restaurant provided a nice experience of being able to see the workings of the kitchen which looked very professional. The kitchen staff all looked happy at their work .One small criticism is that although the waitress was well trained in the serving of food there was no checking during the meal if everything was satisfactory and at the end of the main course a good fifteen minutes or more passed before we were asked about desert by which time the notion of desert had gone. Although this did not ruin the overall experience and I would recommend the hotel to anyone

Room Tip: book a junior suite as they are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stamfordBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear stamfordbelfast, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you also for your kind words on the manners of the kitchen brigade, they do work at their 'P's and Q's' and genuinely enjoy working in such as 'funky' kitchen. We were also glad to see that you booked directly through our new website and that overall you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawfordsburn
1.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
3 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,789 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
8 mi away
Titanic Hotel Belfast
Titanic Hotel Belfast
#27 of 46 in Belfast
244 reviews
21.2 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn Crawfordsburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn Crawfordsburn

Address: 15 Main Street, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor > Crawfordsburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Price Range: $107 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn Crawfordsburn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn Is the CURRENT AA NORTHERN IRELAND HOTEL OF THE YEAR! Over 400 years old, with thatched roof, open turf fires and ornate furnishings - this cosy Northern Ireland retreat is AA 4 SILVER star (highly commended) and offers 2AA rosette dining, Dinner Bed and Breakfast is our most popular package and is perfect for a staycation or romantic short break. We also have close links to nearby spa and golf facilities to make your short break a wonderfully relaxing break away from it all. Close to Helen's Bay Beach and Crawfordsburn Country Park it's great for Hikers and walkers. Tourism NI Approved Walker Welcome scheme. Family rooms available and a luxurious outdoor pavilion with... You guessed it, a roaring open fire!Family run for generations, the welcome is as warm as the famous fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Inn Crawfordsburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Hotel Crawfordsburn
Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing