We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anything but welcoming” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Inn Crawfordsburn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anything but welcoming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

A few friends and I happened to call in the other evening for a quick drink. When we arrived, we were greeted with an abrupt question of what we were doing in the reception and when we moved in to the bar, the barman was short in asking us what we would like to drink. When we took more than 30 seconds to make the decision he made a look that made it very clear we were a nuisance to him.

After ordering, I looked around to find a table. The only one available still had a couple of dirty dishes on it, however I didn't see this as a problem so moved towards the table. The same barman did come straight over to clear it, however when I thanked him, he grunted and moved away. Once again making me feel very much like a nuisance to him.

We stayed there for our drink, and did enjoy the surroundings however I felt the atmosphere created by some of the staff made it difficult to fully enjoy the evening. Which is a shame and would put me off visiting this bar in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kelbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear kelbbb, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to see that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us. As a reaction to customer feedback, some generated by the Tripadvisor medium, we have been asked for our staff to recognise 'lost' looking customers with more urgency and give them some guidance through the hotel. It would appear that you maybe felt that this was either too fast or too sharp in its delivery and somewhat set the tone for your visit. We are sorry to see that this was compounded by the attitude of some of our staff but unfortunately we do not have the names of the individuals concerned to give more effective feedback and training. We were, however, delighted to see that you enjoyed the convivial atmosphere that the hotel exudes. We hope that your experience does not deter you from visiting us again in future. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    180
    95
    53
    42
See reviews for
186
467
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is such a beautiful place, lovely food, nice bars but the drinks are far to expensive, the rooms are gorgeous though in the room we had was a standard double bed and far to small. Will be back again for sure and would recommend it to everyone.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank seirceil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear seirceil, thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you would be happy to recommnd us. Maybe next time you could enquire about the variety of rooms that we have available that are all full of character and many with four poster beds. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed in the Castleward suite on Saturday night. .... wow... has to be the best room we have ever stayed in. I loved every minute of our stay. The evening meal was excellent and the service very good. The service at breakfast not as good, our waiter never came back to take our order, luckily one of his colleagues was on the ball and we enjoyed a beautiful breakfast. Go on and treat yourself you wont regret it. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carsdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear carsdeb, thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you felt that you had experienced the "WOW" factor. Thank you also for your kind words on our dining room team and quality of food. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed for one night as a winter treat for our family. We found the staff very family friendly , We booked our excellent evening meal for the earliest time possible. Everything was ideal and we plan to stay there again soon

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KingKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear KingKirby, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you intend to stay again soon. Thank you also for your kind words of praise for the restaurant team. Even in the build up to Christmas we try to excel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the new year. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I was attending an annual Christmas dinner party last night at The Old Inn and decided it would be best to stay the night.

It was a beautiful sunny day and I had no difficulty in parking at the car-park directly beside the hotel.

On arrival, I was greeted at Reception and allocated The Azalea bedroom. The foyer is like the rest of this beaufiful old country inn: wonderful, warm ambiance, with a cheery fire to welcome guests.

My bedroom was splendid. It had everything one could wish for; the height of luxury.

The list of features in my room is far too lengthy for me to mention. Suffice it to say that I simply cannot find anything to complain about at all.

I particularly liked the stylish and imaginative design and decor, though, including the wardrobe with window doors and lighting, and lots of little thoughful features, like note-pad and pen beside the bed, extra cushions, folded towelling-robes and slippers, etc.

Breakfast in the morning was also quite memorable, including the biggest sausage I reckon I've ever had for breakfast; fine, thick Ulster bacon; artisan potato and soda farls; abundant toast; chilled fruit juice; and a lovely pot of tea (or coffee).

The dining-room is opulent indeed.

The sense of well-being at this inn is supreme.

I checked out after breakfast and bade Farewell to the lovely female receptionist.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear earlof belmont, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about our front desk team and in particular on the excellent standard you found for breakfast. These have been two focu areas for us recently and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your entire stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while shopping in Belfast,. Great quiet location. Wonderful old building with a very pleasant restaurant. What made our stay really special was the amazing service and help that the hotel provided. We had a huge trailer that was happily parked in the car park even though it took up several spaces. When we left there had been accident on the main road with a consequent tail back. The manager paid for a minicab to drive ahead of us and guide us through the side roads to avoid all the congestion. What amazing service . We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julia190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear julia190, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found our service to be amazing. As a family owned and managed business we feel that it is important to do the little things well and the bigger picture will develop itself. We look forward to welcoming you back again in future. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked in for one night -a Saturday night just as a wee treat. We were allocated the lotus room which was lovely but there was no heat on in the room. After ringing down to reception a member of staff came up looked at radiator and went away- he then rang to say he had switched the heat on. The heat never came on, two of the electric sockets didn't work. All the lighting in the room seemed to work off the same circuit so I couldn't have the lamp on by itself as all the lights had to be on - personally I think this is a way to save money so that guests won't leave a lamp or side light on. The bathroom was clean and the shower over bath was excellent. In the bar that evening the barmaid got our order wrong twice. Breakfast was ok although the cooked breakfast was just average. The sausage was slightly undercooked, very fatty bacon and the potato and soda bread portions were tiny. I had ordered scrambled eggs with my fry but the waitress brought out fried eggs to us both. Outside smoking area and fire great, reception area was lovely and nice atmosphere. There was a wedding on and lots of kids running around up and down past the bedroom. We were disappointed after our stay as we had previously stayed a few years ago and it was great.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear a bingham, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to see that you experienced some issues when you stayedwith us on Saturday and that you experienced some issues with the heating. Unfortunately after the duty manager had been to the room to check for himself, he did turn all of the heat back on in the hotel but did not come back to you to double check that you were happy. Thank you for your constructive criticism on our breakfast provision. Your comments have been shared with the breakfast team. Your comments on the noise of some of the junior guests have been noted. The management team did try their best to monitor and control this aspect of the day for all concerned, but were simply outnumbered! Hopefully , this will not deter you from visting again in future. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawfordsburn
1.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
3.0 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
2.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
4.5 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 3 in Holywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn Crawfordsburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn Crawfordsburn

Property: The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Address: 15 Main Street | County Down, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor > Crawfordsburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn Crawfordsburn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn is over 400 years old. With thatched roof, open turf fires and ornate furnishings - this cosy Northern Ireland retreat offers 2AA rosette dining, Dinner Bed and Breakfast is our most popular package. We also have close links to nearby spa and golf facilities to make your short break a wonderfully relaxing break away from it all. Family run for generations, the welcome is as warm as the famous fires. Family rooms available and a luxurious outdoor pavilion with... You guessed it, a roaring open fire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Inn Crawfordsburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Hotel Crawfordsburn
Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing