We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Splendid”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have had the pleasure of staying at the old inn, the first time being a couple of years ago. I can thoroughly recommend it. I have been very well looked after. The inn itself is lovely, the rooms cosy and the general atmosphere of the place is great. It's a fine looking set of buildings to start with, and the interior is just as impressive. I had the luck of glorious weather as well, so sitting on the large terrace at the back, listening to the river gurgling away below with the sun on my face was fantastic. To cap it off I had an excellent meal in the restaurant with my colleagues and had great service from the staff. I would come here again, no question.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank leonf679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Leon

Thanks for taking the time to review us and so glad you got the best of the very fine weather.
The garden is still a little bit 'undiscovered' in the area and we're very glad you have written about it, it's a real gem in the midst of county down overlooking the country park.
Hopefully we will get to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    203
    100
    61
    47
See reviews for
203
498
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I arrived at The Old Inn totally shattered after traveling for around 33 hours from Auckland, New Zealand. The greeting I received from the staff was outstanding. They were warm, friendly and welcoming. The check-in was easy. My room was fantastic - a wonderful blend of old, historical charm and modern, comfortable facilities.

I arrived late at night and despite the fact that the restaurant kitchen had just closed the staff were able to arrange a fantastic meal for me.

The breakfast were wonderful. I go the full Ulster Fry each morning and it was great.

The location is excellent. The Crawfordsburn Country Park is right next door with lots of great walking trails. The beach, which is accessed through the Park, is very beautiful even if the sea is a little cold!! Belfast is an easy 20 minute taxi ride away.

The Inn does host a lot of weddings but despite there being a lot of guests the weddings never disturbed my sleep.

Overall, a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewB_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Andrew, thank you for your review. It's very nice to read feedback commenting of the very focus of a lot of recent training. Our staff have responded very well and add a lot of personality to the bricks and mortar of the building! We are very proud of them, the food, the surroundings and the building and we are so glad that from all the way from New Zealand, our little part of the world left a big impression.
I will pass your comments to the serving team and chefs.... Can't do so much about the cold sea though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have been to this hotel for weddings so was quite looking forward to staying for 1 night. On arrival we were met by a very pleasant receptionist who provided us with our room details. When we went into the room I was really surprised by how small it was, barely enough room to walk around the bed. To add to the disappointment of this we noticed that the car park was right outside the window, as the room was on the ground floor noise was a particular problem. My advice would be to ensure when booking that you get a room that is a decent size and away from the car park. The TV was also a problem as additional commentary would sometimes override the normal television sound which meant I had to turn off the television.

Room Tip: Ensure at time of booking that you specify you want a decent sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Brian, I'm sorry to hear you were not happy with your room allocation. If you are not happy and let our staff know we will generally move you to a more suitable room if one is available. I am unsure of the full details, but hoping that you were offered this as an option. As a 400 year old building on the edge of a waterfall we are unfortunately land-locked on 3 sides by the car park, the road and a neighbouring property, therefore it is very difficult not to have some slight noise pollution, and also many of the rooms are quite old and to consider removing walls to make rooms bigger might detract from the overall character of the inn, but hopefully it did not trouble you too much. The issue with the TV has been resolved, it is for hard of hearing and was set by a previous guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Co Down
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We enjoyed a delicious birthday lunch at The Old Inn. Service was quick, friendly and very
professional. Excellent menu ,reasonable prices and lovely surroundings.
We like to celebrate all family occassions here, weddings, special birthdays etc. We have never
been disappointed. Highly recommended

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you Patricia for your review of The Old Inn, we are glad you are a frequent visitor to the hotel and the team here have really been working hard on good service while creating the right environment for the staff to relax, be themselves and be friendly. We look forward to your next visit and welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter on a Treat Ticket promotion and it was a first class experience. From check in until check out, nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
The room, the Clandeboye, was amazing, right on the main street with quaint olde worlde windows, luxurious furnishings and fluffy robes and slippers. The tray of dainties and bottled water were a lovely touch as was the well filled hospitality tray and toiletries.
The hotel staff were a credit to the hotel, efficient and professional and most importantly extremely friendly, we were seated for dinner, drinks order taken and menus left for perusal, all with a beaming smile and professional manner.
The food in the Lewis restaurant is second to none, served quickly, well presented and adequate portions. The choice from the menu is also extremely good. We went for the steak which was cooked (or not, in my case, according to my daughter) to perfection. I like the steak rare, and rare is what i got - absolutely fabulous.
The dessert - coconut panna cotta, and the honey and pear tart were exquisite.
We finished off the meal with cocktails from the bar and they were also perfect.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends and family and to be honest, I think I have my favourite hotel so far!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamelab1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Pamelab1048, Thank for writing such a glowing and comprehensive review on Tripadvisor. We are grateful for all of your kind and detailed comments. It is fabulous to see such feedback on every department. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed last night 4 July on a treat ticket deal, we had cocktails served in the bar by friendly staff, we also sat out side in a lovely patio area and enjoyed the surroundings. Dinner in the restraunt was really lovely, a good choice of dishes on the menu, head waiter was very attentive and friendly as where all other staff that served us, the service was very quick. Our food was very tasty especially the desert and I really enjoyed the calipso coffee! Our room was spotless and very quaint with a Large bed, pleanty of tea, coffee etc to make in room also toiletries. Our only complaint would be that the room was noisy as was over the main bar at the front of the hotel, we could hear the piped music from the bar also traffic from 5.30 in morning. Breakfast was served by lovely friendly staff, a great selection to choose from and again the service was first class. Overall we had a great time and will be back. Well worth a visit, we would defiantly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Longg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Manager at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Longg L, Thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor. we are delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We were particularly pleased that that you enjoyed the breakfast experience and that you found the team to be so helpful. we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just back from an overnight stay in the Old Inn Crawfrodsburn - Lovely location lovely staff and pretty as a picture bedroom - Breakfast very tasty. All in all a lovely mini breakaway.
Only slight drawback is you have to travel a bit for a selection of restaraunts/bar Taxi 10 approx each way but other than that will be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear seec, Thank you for taking the time post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. Thank you for your kind words on the food and the waiting staff with breakfast being a particular highlight. We look forward to welcoming you back for next night 'inn'. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawfordsburn
3.0 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,729 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
4.4 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
215 reviews
6.3 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#10 of 45 in Belfast
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn Crawfordsburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn Crawfordsburn

Property: The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Address: 15 Main Street | County Down, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor > Crawfordsburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn Crawfordsburn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn is over 400 years old. With thatched roof, open turf fires and ornate furnishings - this cosy Northern Ireland retreat is AA 4 SILVER star(highly commended) and offers 2AA rosette dining, Dinner Bed and Breakfast is our most popular package and is perfect for a staycation or romantic short break. We also have close links to nearby spa and golf facilities to make your short break a wonderfully relaxing break away from it all. Close to Helen's Bay Beach and Crawfordsburn Country Park it's great for Hikers and walkers. Tourism NI Approved Walker Welcome scheme. Family rooms available and a luxurious outdoor pavilion with... You guessed it, a roaring open fire!Family run for generations, the welcome is as warm as the famous fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Inn Crawfordsburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Hotel Crawfordsburn
Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing