We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have just spend another fabulous night at the Old Inn. The Rowallane room was just wonderful, very spacious and beauifully decorated. We dined in the Lewis Resturant, the service and food were excellent, the new resturant is lovely.Gregg looked after us for the evening, nothing was too much trouble. We also spend some time in the bar which is charming, all of the staff made us feel very welcome.We have been visiting the Old Inn for the last 30 years, and have never been disappointed, we would never dream of staying anywhere else, and cannot wait for the opportunity to visit again soon.Don't miss the Irish Coffees !!

Elaine and Jim Allen

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyawaypeterBelfast, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Elaine A,
Thank you for your review of your latest visit to the hotel. As a regular customer, we appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards, The Team at the Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    183
    96
    58
    44
See reviews for
193
475
13
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel & room were both beautiful, stayed in the "Mount Stewart" suite I think, lovely room.
Reception Staff were very helpful & friendly.
We had dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday night, food was gorgeous (had the beef wellington) however the wait was LONG, we waited 45 mins for a table which we had booked & then another 45 minutes for the food. Waitress was really really lovely but the restaurant management staff were not helpful or friendly, infact quite rude although they were under pressure because everyone else around us was complaining about the wait.
We had breakfast delivered to our room, thought this was going to be a lovely little luxury but it there was no milk for tea, butter for toast & some items missing.... a bit unorganised.
I would recommend to go because of the nice walks surrounding, the cosy bar area, the garden patio & the lovely (individually decorated) rooms. The restaurant manager(S?) and breakfast were disapointing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyawaypeterBelfast, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear JM,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We value all feedback, both positive and negative, to help us improve. We have taken your comments on board and hope that you will not be deterred from visiting us again in future.
Kind regards, The Old Inn Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived without booking our Afternoon Tea on Sunday about 3pm. Booked out we were told but if we stayed at the bar they would facilitate us. So my daughter and two year old granddaughter, sister and friend duly sat at the bar to wait. Then out of the blue a gentleman appeared and asked us what our situation was. We told him and he said ' leave it with me'. Now we were happy enough to wait at the bar but everything happened very quickly once this guy got involved! I think he must've been the restaurant manager because a table in the restaurant was quickly found for us. We were told they couldn't facilitate us for the Victorian Teas but they would make us a selection of sandwiches and pastries. They asked us what my granddaughter would like, and made a fuss of her providing her with a bowl of vegetable soup which they had cooled! We were presented with a selection of the most gorgeous sandwiches and pastries it was hard to believe they were not the selection provided on the Victorian Tea menu. We were treated very very well and made very welcome. My sister and friend were visiting from Dublin and I was so pleased that we got the service we did. We felt special, as if we mattered. And that's what real service is about. We will be back.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loloooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyawaypeterBelfast, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear loloooo,
Thank you for taking the time to post a response on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and that we excelled ourselves in terms of hospitality and service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards, the Team at the Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We recently had our wedding here and i couldn't recommend the old inn enough. The food was delicious and the hotel was beautifully decorated and very clean. The staff are so helpfull especially shaun and the two girls working at the bar in the waterfall suite true credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: Cottage is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthab0yd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyawaypeterBelfast, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear samboN_ireland,
Thank you for taking the time to recommend the Old Inn following your recent wedding reception here at the hotel. We value your feedback and appreciate your comments.
Kind regards, the Team at the Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This is 1 of our favourite places & to return as part of wedding party did not dissapoint!! We were in for 2 nights & it was amazing, staff are fantastic, friendly & professional! Shaun looked after us very well at the wedding, nothing is ever 2 much. Cannot wait to return!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinkydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyawaypeterBelfast, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear dinkydog,
Thank you for your review of the Old Inn. We are delighted that the hotel is one of your favourite places to visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards, The Old Inn Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Food was delicious and very generous portions. Decor on the inside was quite surprising from seeing it on the outside. It was very sleek and different but comfy and warm at the same time! The staff were friendly and service was good! I would definitely go back next time I'm in Northern Ireland

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theblueplanet687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyawaypeterBelfast, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear the blueplant687,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent visit to Northern Ireland, where you sampled the Old Inn's food and hospitality. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the vicinity.
Kind regards, The Team at the Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helens Bay
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I attended the Wedding Fair at the Old Inn with my daughter and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. All the staff were friendly and on hand with offers of canapes and tea or coffee. Plenty of exhibitors to browse through and it was well worth attending for any bride to be.

My husband and I had also coincidentally decided to make use of a gift voucher for that night. We returned later on in the evening for dinner and an overnight stay. The service in the restaurant was fantastic. Our waitress was friendly and knowledgeable of the menu and the food was well cooked and presented.

Our room was fabulous, very spacious and comfortable. We even had a balcony to ourselves, which is great for smokers. The four poster bed was just lovely and we enjoyed the seating area with the massive flat screen TV.

After a great night's relaxation and a wonderful sleep, we had breakfast delivered to our room. It didn't disappoint. May I also say that the bathroom was absolutely spotless and a credit to the housekeeping staff. Checkout was smooth and we were asked if everything had been to our satisfaction.

A few hours away from home left me feeling as if I had been away for a short break. I look forward to a family wedding coming up soon at the hotel and am confident that all will run smoothly and our wedding guests who are staying the night will have a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: If you are able to book the Castleward room You will not be disappointed, it's fabulous !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seapoint40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyawaypeterBelfast, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear seapoint40,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, which coincided with the hotel's latest Bridal Fair. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to the room, food and service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for the family wedding you are attending.
Kind regards, the Team at the Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawfordsburn
1.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
3.0 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
8.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
4.4 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 3 in Holywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn Crawfordsburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn Crawfordsburn

Property: The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Address: 15 Main Street | County Down, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor > Crawfordsburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn Crawfordsburn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn is over 400 years old. With thatched roof, open turf fires and ornate furnishings - this cosy Northern Ireland retreat is AA 4 SILVER star(highly commended) and offers 2AA rosette dining, Dinner Bed and Breakfast is our most popular package and is perfect for a staycation or romantic short break. We also have close links to nearby spa and golf facilities to make your short break a wonderfully relaxing break away from it all. Close to Helen's Bay Beach and Crawfordsburn Country Park it's great for Hikers and walkers. Tourism NI Approved Walker Welcome scheme. Family rooms available and a luxurious outdoor pavilion with... You guessed it, a roaring open fire!Family run for generations, the welcome is as warm as the famous fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Inn Crawfordsburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Hotel Crawfordsburn
Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing