We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few little irritations!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Certificate of Excellence
Co Antrim
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A few little irritations!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Old Inn on !st August for 1 night. We dont get away often on our own so decided to push the boat out a little and stay in this lovely hotel. We arrived at 6pm and checked in, browsed the menu and found it expensive so decided to eat out. After our return we had a good look at our room, which was the Buttercup room. It was beautiful if a little on the small side. After being in the room for a little while we noticed the squeakiest door we've ever heard into the bathroom. Also, one of the lights in the window was flickering off and on so we tried to find a switch to put it off and discovered it was controlled by the main light. This meant we couldnt switch it off so had to put up with it until bedtime.
When we finally went to bed, alas the pillows were like stones, so not much comfort in bed. Add to that a broken hinge on the toilet seat and we were more than a little irritated with so many problems in what should be a very special hotel.

In the morning, we went down for breakfast which was very good, with very good service. When we checked out we expected to be asked if everything was ok for us but no-one asked, just finalised our payment and said goodbye. I suppose we should have brought these issues up at this point but decided when staff couldnt be bothered to enquire about our comfort and enjoyment, why bother!

Overall, we feel that this hotel does not live up to the image it creates and with a little more attention to detail these problems should have been spotted and put right.

As I said, we pushed the boat out a little for this stay, but were disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellerknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    203
    100
    61
    47
See reviews for
203
498
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Craigavon
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We had visited the "Old Inn" several times for drinks and meals enjoying the Atmosphere, Superb Food and Service in this Olde Country Inn and so decided to book a room to celebrate our 33rd Wedding Anniversary.
We were not dissapointed with our stay at this beautiful old inn enjoying our one night stay, our only small criticism would be on the room size which we found to be on the small side otherwise we were delighted with the Accomodation and would thoroughly recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting or travelling through the area.

Room Tip: Try booking on web site for special deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crumlin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and i stayed for the weekend at the Crawfordsburn, we got a DBB rate. The hotel is so beautiful, it was such a pleasant change from the chains of hotels that are the norm now. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent. The weather was was unusually warm for Northern Ireland so we were able to sit out in their grounds with a glass of wine and watch a wedding that was taking place in the hotel that day. The only gripe I would have with this hotel is the staff at reception, well two of them are very abrupt for no apparent reason, but the rest of the staff are very professional and couldn't do enough for you. Definitely would go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank microo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NI
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Really good restaurant! We stayed in one of the suites which was newly done up- unbelievable decor. Really lush with four poster bed but in keeping with the theme of the Old Inn. Staff were very attentive. Cosy in winter!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzzySunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for the very positive comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My wife & I spent one night on a dinner & bed offer. The hotel is quaint with a warm friendly bar. The food & restaurant were wonderful. Our stay was unfortunately spoilt by the old shoddy rooms which are in urgent need of updating. The bathroom was fine but the room was well past it's sell by date. Such a pity!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor, I'm sorry that you were unhappy with the standard of room. Without knowing the detail it is hard to know which room you stayed in, however all of our rooms are renovated on an ever running cycle and we invest over £100,000 per annum on maintenance, repair and redesign of bedrooms, but keeping to the original feel of the Old Inn. This Old World feel does not compare directly to many modern hotels and is in fact often more expensive to achieve. I would hope that our view of 17th Century room decor has not made you feel that we don't keep the rooms fresh and well maintained. I'm glad you enjoyed the food and bar, and with 30 other bedrooms to choose from, all individually styled, you might find one that you prefer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We have stayed here 40 plus times as this is where my husband proposed over 20 yrs ago, so The Inn will always be special to us.We booked the cottage for 2 nights to celebrate our 20th wedding aniversary and were dumbfounded to realise on check in there was a wedding fair and the place was hiving.We were further amused, annoyed at the persistant amount of people who tried to get intio view the cottage, peered in the window, tried the door etc, eventually we complained and reception put a sign up to say cottage was occupied.The next day was not much better with wedding guests, hotel needs to sort this out as the booking was expensive.
Food excellent, cottage quaint but our special occasion was somewhat tainted by our goldfish experience, disapointed hotel didnt even acknowledge the issue on checkout.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie551726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. At the time of your booking in January we did not have the bridal fair planned, however we have now made provisions that if we are to schedule another one, and the cottage is booked, that we will offer an alternative suite in the hotel. Your discomfort should have been recognised by the reception on your departure and more effort made to make you feel more comfortable during your stay. These points have been highlighted and we appreciate your loyal custom over the last 20 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I was looking forward to the stay at the Old Inn however I was distinctly disappointed given the price paid.

The room was a small room which smelled of fried food given the proximity of the small window presumably near a kitchen. It was also quite warm weather and the room was too warm with no way to cool it down. The bathroom however was impeccably clean and looked much more modern than the dated bedroom furnishings.

The outdoor seating area out the back is nice, but the rest of the facilities left me unexcited. Breakfast was ok... however the cooked fry was stodgy and greasy.

Overall I wouldn't be back. The staff on reception were reasonably friendly, but I found all the staff in the food&beverage area sections unfriendly and seemingly dis-interested.

It definitely wasn't a value for money stay given the service and accommodation received.

I also paid a deposit in advance... but there was no deduction or consideration of this when it came to pay the full balance, thus meaning I was forced to over-pay and the pre-paid deposit was pointless.

Wouldn't be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank icyoubaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldInn1614, Owner at The Old Inn Crawfordsburn, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for taking time to post on tripadvisor - we take everything on board from all feedback methods. The Old Inn being almost 400 years old cannot accommodate some modern facilities such as air conditioning and other in-room facilities which would detract from the historic nature of the building. We do howere receive good feedback on our service staff and food and was suprised to see your comments on these aspects. I had fed back your observations and we would hope that this is an isolated incident. We also tried to guess your date, price and room and would point out that you did not appear to over pay on your bill. Internet booking fees are charged up front by the agent you booked with. The room rate we feel is very reasonable for a four star bedroom situated where we are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawfordsburn
3.0 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,729 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
4.4 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
215 reviews
6.3 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#10 of 45 in Belfast
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn Crawfordsburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn Crawfordsburn

Property: The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
Address: 15 Main Street | County Down, Crawfordsburn, Bangor BT19 1JH, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor > Crawfordsburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crawfordsburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Inn Crawfordsburn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Inn is over 400 years old. With thatched roof, open turf fires and ornate furnishings - this cosy Northern Ireland retreat is AA 4 SILVER star(highly commended) and offers 2AA rosette dining, Dinner Bed and Breakfast is our most popular package and is perfect for a staycation or romantic short break. We also have close links to nearby spa and golf facilities to make your short break a wonderfully relaxing break away from it all. Close to Helen's Bay Beach and Crawfordsburn Country Park it's great for Hikers and walkers. Tourism NI Approved Walker Welcome scheme. Family rooms available and a luxurious outdoor pavilion with... You guessed it, a roaring open fire!Family run for generations, the welcome is as warm as the famous fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Old Inn Crawfordsburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Hotel Crawfordsburn
Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing