We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely venue, food could be better.”

Lewis at The Old Inn
Price range: $11 - $56
Cuisines: Bar, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely venue, food could be better.”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We has Sunday lunch here, the service was excellent as well as the overall atmoshere, we were in the bar and they must have changed the chairs since we last visited and they are quite uncomfortable, however the food was not bad slightly better than average but once you go off set menus can be expensive. Staff really friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calhame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Calhame, thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed Sunday lunch with us recently and that you were impressed by the surroundings and the service. Our leather sofas and soft seating which replaced wooden benches 2 years ago have been a big hit and have been an asset to the overall ambience in the bar. We are sorry that you thought them uncomfortable. However, we hope that this does not deter you from visiting us again in future. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    103
    48
    40
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“A touch of class - nice atomosphere”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Faily regular diner over the last few years. Service excellent. Friendly and willing staff. Alway happy to make me an omelette (don't eat meat) and an alternative starter. Nice wines!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Anne M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoy your visits with us and that you find us to be very accommodating. Your feedback is very interesting and we will be sharing it with the kitchen brigade. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“6pm”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Let down, always had good experiences here and was looking forward to spending a gift voucher for £60. We were there between the bar meals finishing and the Restaurant starting and obviously between chefs. The Vegetarian dish was PENN PASTA supposedly with a load of veg well there was pasta and brockley with cheese and some corgette slivers my husbands meal arrived later than ours so we had to start without him and when it did arrive (the poached egg got broken when putting it on the fish origianally) the fish then was cold. We were offered desserts which we chose only to be told that was the wrong menue and the other desserts were not to our liking. I have to say we were offered a complememtary cup of tea or coffee but by now we wanted to go home and get our own.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irenee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Irenee H, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us. We have investigated your complaint and you are spot with the description of the fish dish. The original delay on the dish was that the first soft poached egg had opened while the dish was being plated and was therefore not allowed to leave the pass; unfortunately the same thing happened at the second attempt, but rather than keep the table waiting any longer, the dish was served. This was a genuine human error on our part and we are very sorry. We are somewhat perplexed on your description of the pasta dish. Our penne pasta with tenderstem broccoli, mangetout, courgettes and peas, soft herb cream, Tomato bread, has been one of our most successful dishes, vegetarian or otherwise, and we are sorry that you did not enjoy it. We are glad to see that you acknowledge that we did try to make amends, but unfortunately you were too 'far through' to allow us to do this properly. We will of course take your comments on board and reply to your subsequent letter of complaint received today. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“The food was delicious and presentation was superb!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was with my mum and uncle in the Crawfordsburn inn and we had a delicious meal. The presentation was fabulous! We really enjoyed the meal and would definitly go there again! So congratualtions to all staff and management and compliments to the chef!!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay-Gee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Jay-Gee123, Thank you for making us your first Tripadvisor review. Thank you, also, for your kind words on your recent visit and in particular the food. The brigade in the kitchen have been working very hard on our new menu launched last week and have been addressing their tasks with added 'gusto'. We are pleased to see that their hard work is bearing fruit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I have been going for dinner to the Old Inn regularly for the last twenty years or more, it is my 'local', as it is within walking distance, but never before have I felt so 'short changed'.

My husband and I were shoved into a table outside the main dinning area beside one large table, we felt like gate crashers at a private party!

An hour after we sat down we finally received our starters, no bread offered as in years gone by! The staff were obviously under pressure and far from attentive. My starter was cold, unfortunately when I pointed this out to the waitress I was ignored. (The horrible bit of black slate that it was served on probably didn't help)

The main course was OK, but the entire experience was unpleasant, we felt that our custom was a nuisance rather than a pleasure.

In the past we have never minded the expense as our experience was always good, however I now feel that the restaurant is over priced and over rated.

I am very sad to see their standards fall so far. My husband and I will pay for a taxi to go farther afield in future.

Helpful?
Thank saraleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear saraleet, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to see that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us. Reacting to customer feedback, some from this site, we have been using our beautiful upper gallery, where you were seated, to accommodate diners for the restaurant, at the weekend. Whilst we would admit that there was a longer than usual wait to provide your starters, due to the large party you mentioned in your review, we would contest the length of time lapsed. A further, and braver, step that we have taken (again after customer feedback, some mentioned on this site) is to move away from our fixed price meal for 2 including a bottle of wine and move towards a fixed price table d'hote menu alongside an a la carte menu. With these changes both in dining venue and menu provision we feel that we are now offering more of what the customer wants and not what we think they want. We feel that this change in direction is more a refreshing restructure, and not a drop in standards. We hope that your experience of our revised structure does not deter you from visiting us again in future. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis at The Old Inn also viewed

 
Bangor, County Down
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Lewis at The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing