We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant but homely surroundings.......”
Review of Lewis at The Old Inn - CLOSED

Lewis at The Old Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $56
Cuisines: European, French, Wine Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Good food, excellent service and a warm, inviting and homely environment. Great for a leisurely lunch catching up with friends.......

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nauj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear nauj63, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and that you found the surroundings so comfortable. As a family owned and managed hotel it is great to see that you found the hospitable atmosphere hard to leave. we look forward to welocming you again soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for Lewis at The Old Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 286 of 406 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Having recently dined in the restaurant on a Saturday evening we left feeling hungry yet having spent a clean fortune!

The menu is now very pricey and the portion size is poor (half a baby boiled potato!). Two mains and two desserts, £51 and this was without the added soft drink and pint! Perhaps it was a bad night but firstly our 'booked table' was taken by someone else then we were asked for drinks several times before they eventually arrived. The staff just didn't seem to have a good system in place. No one knew what the other one was doing. Canapes were thrown on our table whereas other people were told what they were and if they'd like one. My salmon was presentated differently on the plate compared to other diners. It was just disappointing considering the money spent. It is the little things that you notice. The food was ok. Nothing to shout about. You don't mind spending £22 for a main course if it has the wow factor but this didn't.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Emma M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us. It is unclear if you were aware that we have a fixed price menu at £52.50 for two people which gives a choice of starters and main courses and includes a range of wines, which represents excellent value for money. We hope that your experience does not deter you from visting us a gain in future. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have just came back from my first visit to The Old Inn and it will certainly not be the last. I went for Sunday lunch with my parents and daughter and the meal we had was absolutely beautiful. The staff were very friendly and and the service was excellent and I will definitely return in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BRIDIEBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear BRIDIEBR, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent Sunday lunch experience with us. As a family owned and managed hotel we acknowledge how important it is to get everyone round the dinner table on a Sunday either formally or informally. We hope that we become your Sunday destination of choice and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our most recent visit to this beautiful restaurant. Although on the third visit I have still ordered the same main course. Enjoy it so much I cant resist ordering it time and time again. Staff were so pleasant and welcoming. If any complaint, I didn't enjoy the cheesecake as it seemed rubbery and a bit tasteless but it certainly didn't put me off this special place. I jusy will try a different dessert next time x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SMICK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear SMICK74, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and that you enjoy the same dish so much that you have ordered it 3 times. Wow! That certainly is consistent. Maybe next time we can persuade you to try something different such as our famous fish and chips with our own secret batter recipe or our homemade burger. Whatever the choice, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Apart from wedding receptions, have never had a meal without one problem or other. Once had an absolutely disgusting burger, but no offer of an alternative. Service poor, and that's being kind. No beer - only lager/stout/cider/spirits.

Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice1614, Owner at Lewis at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear jimitty, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. As your review relates to a visit relating to last year it makes it somewhat difficult to establish why you described the burger in the manner in which you did. All of our burgers are made fresh, using our own recipe and complaints are very rare. Your comments on 'no beer' only lager/stout have also left us scratching our heads. We are however pleased to see that you have enjopyed your visits to our wedding receptions. Kind regards, the team at The Old Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis at The Old Inn also viewed

 
Crawfordsburn, Bangor
Crawfordsburn, Bangor
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing