We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better than my ladt visit”
Review of Granny Bo's

Granny Bo's
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Ballynahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Even better than my ladt visit”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I was treating my mum to lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the food we had ordered. It was cosy and although it was busy we did not have to wait long before our food arrived beautifully presented. Mum really enjoyed her visit and has already arranged to take her friends there. I was impressed that the male manager even managed a smile perhaps his lovely female staff are having a positive effect on him :). Keep up the good work !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    22
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“brought by a friend”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My friend brought me for a cuppa & a traybake , granny bo's would not have been somewhere I would have chosen ,when I pass it the front window display & the front door put's me off , inside is a bit too much for me little is more, though I did like the tea cosy with the roses on the top . The staff are friendly I liked the china cup & saucer for my tea men get mugs , my friend had apple pie with ice cream with fresh fruit on the side he enjoyed it as l did the traybake . l will go backas l have 2 auntie's who would love it !! The owners must be doing something right because it had a steady trade whilst we were there also they have a 5 tick for hygenie

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank norma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a treat !! :)”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

So lovely to have such a Cosy quaint little place in Ballynahinch Superb presentation of excellent food. A real boost for Ballynahinch Highly recommended

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank HappyLunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, great value and quirky decor”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I recently visited granny bo's as it was recommended to me by a friend, i was not let down. This entire feel of this establishment is so homely. I had already had lunch so my friend and I where only in for desserts and coffee, the cheesecake is too die for, coming with a helping for cream and fresh fruit salad! I also got a hot chocolate which is the best i have ever seen, and only costing £1.95! The decor is so quirky and adds to the experience. I will certainly be returning to granny bo's with my two children, the will just love it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank sarah_may26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Return Visit - 'High Standards Maintained' - Proving Popular And No Doubt Making a Good Name For Itself!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hi,

This was a return visit to Granny Bos again on a quick stop business lunch. An even better experience this time and i even got a smile from the staff!

We opted for the Special being ‘roast beef’, tasty enough though still served with those ‘frozen’ veggies (i presume to be frozen, feel free to correct me)

The portions are not the largest, though this is not a problem as the array of sweets often tempt you towards a wee treat at the end.

Great value at 2 x roast beef, 2 drinks & 2 x ‘Malteser’ tray bakes weighing in at just approx £15.00.

Service was very prompt, polite and efficient, always a good site when ‘table reserved’ signs already up at lunchtime almost all the remaining tables taken, we were lucky to get a seat.

Free on street car parking available just outside the front door with a time limit of 1 hour.

The toilets are spotless and also they don’t seem to have a problem with a mum breast feeding the hungry wee one, unlike some establishments.

Recommended yet again,

Enjoy!

If this review has 'Informed' your decision please tick the 'Was this review Helpful' box.

Les

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Further_The_Better
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granny Bo's also viewed

Ballynahinch, County Down
Ballynahinch, County Down
 
Ballynahinch, County Down
Ballynahinch, County Down
 
Ballynahinch, County Down
Ballynahinch, County Down
 

Been to Granny Bo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing