We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family run business”

Millbrook Lodge Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Ballynahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Family run business”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Could be more than average now that Management has changed. Food usually good. Prices have gone up though

Helpful?
Thank helenmcveigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    27
    10
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Early Bird Special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The beautiful setting of this establishment complimented the delicious meal . For less than 8 pounds we enjoyed cod mornay with an array of vegetables and potatoes. The food was served promptly and was fresh and plentiful. In fact we could easily have divided the meal between 2. The early bird specials are available 4.30 - 6.00 and are especially good value although meals and snacks are served all day. I especially enjoyed my visit since I work as a trainee manager in this hotel more than 30 years ago

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice food, pleasant surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

While driving through the Co Down countryside (as you do), we happened upon the Millbrook Lodge. Set back from the road, up a sweeping drive, it looked a rather majestic place, but feeling peckish and certainly not wishing to subject the taste buds to the usual road trip diet of fast food, we decided to take a chance and venture forth.
Its a nice, welcoming hotel. The decor could do with a bit of updating but for what and where it is, I'm sure it suffices. Went into the bar, where after about 5 minutes a waitress appeared with menus. Chose, ordered and the food arrive almost faster than the menus had. Food was nice, nothing special and we have eaten better but that said we have also eaten an awful lot worse.
Prices are quiet reasonable and would be in line with other similar establishments. Service, apart from the initial delay with the menus was good. The place is clean and the staff friendly. All in all, if you find yourself in around Ballinahinch, you could do a lot worse than paying the Millbrook Lodge a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KandL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awful meal...............”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Went there last Sunday for a meal, asked for menu and chose our meal, sat at table for less than 10 minutes, meal arrived and it was totally awful. Burnt and soaked in grease... First waitress didnt really care, said she would inform chef, came back to say chef says hes sorry... second waitress was more apologetic and said yes the food was burnt, but soo sorry could we choose something different.
I was so angry that the meal had even been served to us we just left.. The waitress said she would take the meal off our bill, we both had the same and both meals wre burnt, we had a portion of chips which we didnt eat as we had nothing to eat with them, so how could she 'take it off the bill' really disgusted, never again............

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hthrleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have eaten here on a few occasions and thought it was just okay. The overall experience is just average. The primrose in the town is a much better experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tugboat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Millbrook Lodge Hotel also viewed

Ballynahinch, County Down
Ballynahinch, County Down
 
Ballynahinch, County Down
Ballynahinch, County Down
 
Ballynahinch, County Down
 

Been to Millbrook Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing