We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RESTAURANT STAFF SCARE THE CUSTOMERS AWAY!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millbrook Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Ballynahinch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“RESTAURANT STAFF SCARE THE CUSTOMERS AWAY!!!!!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Having ate in the restaurant on a few occasions, we decided to give it yet another chance, having previously put the unhelpful and extremely unpleasant staff down to being busy. However upon arrival at the bar to request to be seated, my wife and four children and I were told that we would have to find a table at the back of the bar area ourselves which was completely full with only a small table for two available, whilst the front of the restaurant was entirely empty. We approached staff a few times to explain that there were six of us in to have dinner and the area they were directing us to did not accommodate us they were uninterested and frankly didnt have a clue what to do with us they just stood looking empty back at us! that is other than one bar maid in particular who still insisted we sit in the over crowded area that didnt have any room for us as the restaurant area to the front was all booked at some stage that evening. We were frankly disgusted and extremely embarrassed, we have never been to a restaurant where the staff have been so unhelpful, unpleasant and uninterested in our custom. The bar maid might as well have held the door open for us to leave. We chose to walk out in the end as it felt rather like we were begging to be seated and to be fair the food is probably not even as nice as some of the local chippys!! Would not recommend at all, unfriendly staff and thats putting it nicely and over priced, over cooked food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank glenn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    47
    41
    20
    15
See reviews for
86
63
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel looks lovely from the outside and is set in nice grounds. However, it is shabby and in need of refurbishment, particularly the bedrooms. The breakfast and dinner menu is quite limited and service was slow. Reception staff surly. Wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yentl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed three nights at this hotel to attend a family funeral. First impression was good. Set in nice grounds just outside Ballynahinch. Staff that greeted us were friendly and helpful. To be fair this was my experience throughout our stay. Our room was warm and clean. The drink making facility included packets of biscuits which I thought was a nice touch. Breakfast was served in the restaurant allowing us a view of the squirrels whilst we ate. Breakfast itself was not so enjoyable. The food was plentiful but was let down by quality. The bacon was so dried out it was like cardboard. The two mornings I ordered fried eggs they arrived with solid yolks and on both occasions appeared to contain small pieces of shell. On the third morning my wife ordered a fried egg and that was in fact ok. Perhaps they had been practising in the kitchen. One other problem we experienced on the culinary side was a ham sandwich arrived with a pot of mustard on the side. So far so good until I found they had also spread mustard inside the sandwich. Rather a pity that these things took the edge off of what otherwise was a pleasant stay. The hotel is undergoing a refit an in room safe would be nice touch in keeping with current practice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KilkennyPoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just home from Millbrook lodge was really looking forward to Sunday dinner what a disappointment staff no where to be seen and when they did come to the table they where rude food cold no one near us to ask if everything was ok did intend to have dessert but after sitting 20 minutes after main course was finished we just ask for a bill it then took a further 10 minutes to pay bill even though I was the only one there MILLBROOK TAKE NOTIE OF THE REVIEWS

Room Tip: Don't go to the Millbrook and say nothing if the service is poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Staff were rude and ignorant, food was cold, dry and far too expensive. We waited 30 minutes in the restaurant before any of the staff even looked at us, and when we FINALLY got out food, we were greatly disappointed by the quality.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wedgewelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed for one night, never been here before. Receptionist on arrival very nice, staff throughout the hotel very friendly and accommodating until....We thought checkout was 12, at 11.20 the phone in the room rang, I answered 'hello' and a woman's voice said curtly 'check-out was 11'. I apologised explaining our (most hotels have a 12 o'clock checkout) and she promptly hung up without another word. When I handed our key in at reception 20mins later she hardly looked up. She did not ask if we had enjoyed our stay, if everything had been ok.....nothing! I am a business owner, albeit not in hospitality, but we do have a receptionist. If anyone in my employ, but especially a receptionist, was as curt as the lady in this hotel they would no longer have to worry about being pleasant to members of the public because they would no longer work for me. Such a shame as this hotel seems to have been upgraded recently and everyone else was very nice. My husband and I are in our forties and the days of accepting this rude manner from anyone are long gone!

To the owner of the hotel I would say-sack the middle-aged blonde receptionist who was on the desk Sunday 29th September because no amount of improvements will make up for rude staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank paula r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My daughter's wedding was held here on the 21st and it was a magical day. Everyone was so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for all the staff. We had stayed the night before and fully booked the hotel for the night of the wedding too. No one had a bad word to say about the accommodation at all. Although I only found out the coffee/tea equipment was in the wardrobe of our suite when we were leaving lol. The food was beautiful, homemade vegetable soup, roast beef melted in the mouth and the pavlova was to die for. Everything was arranged beautifully and the room for the evening disco was really well laid out. The courtyard outside was so lovely to sit in as it was a balmy night and the guests all appreciated being able to sit in elegance and watch the water cascading down the big granite wall. This Hotel was once very tired looking but it has had one heck of a wake up call. Well done Millbrook and thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Suites and it was lovely. So quiet and just the birds to listen to in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballynahinch
12.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
123 reviews
11.4 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
153 reviews
11.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
270 reviews
23.6 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
20.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Lodge Hotel

Property: Millbrook Lodge Hotel
Address: 5 Drumaness Road, Ballynahinch BT24 8LS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Ballynahinch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ballynahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Millbrook Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from the scenic Mourne Mountains, The Millbrook Lodge is a family-owned hotel, where the charm of a beautiful Georgian building has been carefully integrated with modern comfort and amenities. The hotel has sixteen bedrooms all en-suite, offering comfort, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Exquisitely landscaped gardens provide six acres of tranquility and a perfect setting for photographs. The Head Chef provides a wide range of mouth-watering food options from breakfast through to dinner and Sunday lunch with Pensioner's lunches and Early Bird Menu also available. Afternoon Tea, with a sumptuous selection of scones, traybakes and sandwiches has become one of the hotel's most popular eating experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Millbrook Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Ballynahinch
Millbrook Lodge Hotel Ballynahinch, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing