We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hot deal in ham sandwichs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millbrook Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Ballynahinch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A hot deal in ham sandwichs”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed three nights at this hotel to attend a family funeral. First impression was good. Set in nice grounds just outside Ballynahinch. Staff that greeted us were friendly and helpful. To be fair this was my experience throughout our stay. Our room was warm and clean. The drink making facility included packets of biscuits which I thought was a nice touch. Breakfast was served in the restaurant allowing us a view of the squirrels whilst we ate. Breakfast itself was not so enjoyable. The food was plentiful but was let down by quality. The bacon was so dried out it was like cardboard. The two mornings I ordered fried eggs they arrived with solid yolks and on both occasions appeared to contain small pieces of shell. On the third morning my wife ordered a fried egg and that was in fact ok. Perhaps they had been practising in the kitchen. One other problem we experienced on the culinary side was a ham sandwich arrived with a pot of mustard on the side. So far so good until I found they had also spread mustard inside the sandwich. Rather a pity that these things took the edge off of what otherwise was a pleasant stay. The hotel is undergoing a refit an in room safe would be nice touch in keeping with current practice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KilkennyPoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    43
    41
    19
    15
See reviews for
82
61
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just home from Millbrook lodge was really looking forward to Sunday dinner what a disappointment staff no where to be seen and when they did come to the table they where rude food cold no one near us to ask if everything was ok did intend to have dessert but after sitting 20 minutes after main course was finished we just ask for a bill it then took a further 10 minutes to pay bill even though I was the only one there MILLBROOK TAKE NOTIE OF THE REVIEWS

Room Tip: Don't go to the Millbrook and say nothing if the service is poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Staff were rude and ignorant, food was cold, dry and far too expensive. We waited 30 minutes in the restaurant before any of the staff even looked at us, and when we FINALLY got out food, we were greatly disappointed by the quality.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wedgewelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed for one night, never been here before. Receptionist on arrival very nice, staff throughout the hotel very friendly and accommodating until....We thought checkout was 12, at 11.20 the phone in the room rang, I answered 'hello' and a woman's voice said curtly 'check-out was 11'. I apologised explaining our (most hotels have a 12 o'clock checkout) and she promptly hung up without another word. When I handed our key in at reception 20mins later she hardly looked up. She did not ask if we had enjoyed our stay, if everything had been ok.....nothing! I am a business owner, albeit not in hospitality, but we do have a receptionist. If anyone in my employ, but especially a receptionist, was as curt as the lady in this hotel they would no longer have to worry about being pleasant to members of the public because they would no longer work for me. Such a shame as this hotel seems to have been upgraded recently and everyone else was very nice. My husband and I are in our forties and the days of accepting this rude manner from anyone are long gone!

To the owner of the hotel I would say-sack the middle-aged blonde receptionist who was on the desk Sunday 29th September because no amount of improvements will make up for rude staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank paula r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My daughter's wedding was held here on the 21st and it was a magical day. Everyone was so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for all the staff. We had stayed the night before and fully booked the hotel for the night of the wedding too. No one had a bad word to say about the accommodation at all. Although I only found out the coffee/tea equipment was in the wardrobe of our suite when we were leaving lol. The food was beautiful, homemade vegetable soup, roast beef melted in the mouth and the pavlova was to die for. Everything was arranged beautifully and the room for the evening disco was really well laid out. The courtyard outside was so lovely to sit in as it was a balmy night and the guests all appreciated being able to sit in elegance and watch the water cascading down the big granite wall. This Hotel was once very tired looking but it has had one heck of a wake up call. Well done Millbrook and thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Suites and it was lovely. So quiet and just the birds to listen to in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went here for dinner and carvery, fairly average I would say, nothing good or bad to report, it was just ok, would prob go back but it wouldnt be one of my favourites!

We did look at this hotel for our wedding, but didn't receive very helpful advice, no one there to help or show us around, so we quickly decided this wasnt the place for us and moved on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 527LauraH527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are a bit concerned and confused that you have mentioned that you did not receive helpful advise. We are happy to supply our guests with all the information that they would require when viewing the hotel for a wedding or any type of function. This information is available freely at anytime in printed brochures or on our website. For those couples who wish to meet with a wedding co-ordinator we would alway encourage them to make an appointment so that the maximum amount of time can be given to them as their wedding day is something very special and therefore requires sometime to sit down and discuss. We gather that it was a Sunday that you visited the hotel and given that this is one of the busiest days we endeavour to make as many appointments as possible with the banquet department and our future bride and grooms. We can only apologise that we were not perhaps able to fit you in at late notice or a member of banquet was not free at the time. We do collect couples details if an appointment has not been made and always make contact with them to ask if they would like to meet with the wedding co-ordinator. We can only again apologise if you did not receive all of the details you require and would graciously request that you might consider contacting us again and we will be not than happy to schedule an appointment with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wanted to stay somewhere different near to Newcastle Co. Down. Book hotel on the net. Hotel was an old Rectory and has been updated and has 16 bedrooms. My main problem with the hotel was that we were given room 6 for our 2 night stay. The room was clean and tidy but it was directly above the front door and reception area... Very noisy with people coming and going, taxis also, people standing outside talking etc, We contacted reception on the first eve to try to change rooms but all rooms were occupied, we needed to close the window because of the noise and we were roasted ,due to the humid weather . I rang reception an asked for an electric cooling fan which was brought to us from the kitchen, this helped a little but not great... The next night was just the same, lots of people turning up for a disco, i rang reception again at 11.30pm and did this time we got a room further away from the front door.. This helped but hated the thought of moving rooms at that time of the eve. I must say the staff were very nice and friendly at all times and food was good, but a wee bit expensive if you wanted steaks . I would recommend this hotel but be aware of the rooms near reception.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broxi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook100, Manager at Millbrook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for forwarding your review. As at the time of you being in the hotel we apologised that you found your room noisy and we did explain due to being fully booked on the Friday night we could not move you but we were able to do so on the Saturday evening to a much quieter room. We do politely ask our quests to be as quiet as possible at a late hour but cannot force them to be. We are glad that we were able to bring you a fan to cool your room during the heat wave. We hope that you will be able to return to Millbrook Lodge Hotel once again and if requested we will ensure you receive a bedroom further away from the front of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballynahinch
12.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
120 reviews
11.4 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
146 reviews
11.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
104 reviews
12.1 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Spa Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Spa Cottage Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Ballynahinch
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Lodge Hotel

Property: Millbrook Lodge Hotel
Address: 5 Drumaness Road, Ballynahinch BT24 8LS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Ballynahinch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ballynahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Millbrook Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from the scenic Mourne Mountains, The Millbrook Lodge is a family-owned hotel, where the charm of a beautiful Georgian building has been carefully integrated with modern comfort and amenities. The hotel has sixteen bedrooms all en-suite, offering comfort, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Exquisitely landscaped gardens provide six acres of tranquility and a perfect setting for photographs. The Head Chef provides a wide range of mouth-watering food options from breakfast through to dinner and Sunday lunch with Pensioner's lunches and Early Bird Menu also available. Afternoon Tea, with a sumptuous selection of scones, traybakes and sandwiches has become one of the hotel's most popular eating experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Millbrook Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Ballynahinch
Millbrook Lodge Hotel Ballynahinch, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing