We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience.”

The Red Door Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Ballintoy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience.”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stumbled on the Red Door tea room and were pleased we did. One of the quaintest tea room I've been too. The food was home cooked and utterly delicious. It is family run and very welcoming. If and when I'm in northern Ireland I will make a point to visit The Red Door Tea rooms it's a place I won't forget.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scurvyelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    76
    14
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great wee find!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Came across this place thanks to Trip Adviser and I'm delighted I did. Went with family for lunch and was really pleased with the food and the atmosphere. It's a lovely wee cottage with delicious home-cooked grub. The stew was tasty and if you're going you MUST try dessert. Looking forward to my next visit!

Helpful?
Thank GemmaC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“We will definitely go back.”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Advised by a friend to try the red door and what sound advice it was. The staff are first class and both friendly and efficient . The food was excellent and the sweets where delicious and home made.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevedigger53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

I'm not even kidding but this place is absolutely delicious. The staff make u feel very welcome and the food is just fantastic. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank Orchin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fresh mackerel and sweets to drool over”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Was recommended to visit this eatery by a golfing friend and what good advice it turned out to be. We called in en-route to the causeway with a friend over from England. It was extremely busy but we managed to get a table and all picked the "special", pan fried fresh mackerel. Out of the sea that morning the lady of the house advised. Really it couldn't be faulted and the service and friendliness of the staff made it a meal to be remembered. The home made sweets and cakes are not to be bypassed either.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MHJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Door Tea Room also viewed

Ballintoy, County Antrim
 

Been to The Red Door Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing