We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely slice of heaven”

The Red Door Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Ballintoy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Irish, British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
1 review
“Lovely slice of heaven”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Loved the coffee and cakes! Lunches looked tasty too:) wonderful service and great atmosphere. Well worth a visit :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eoghanoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    78
    14
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
co down, northern ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Drove round the coast from portstewart having read other reviews on trip adviser. Friend and I had really excellent late breakfast in this delightful tearoom. Food was superb and fairly priced, freshly brewed coffee and extremely friendly attentive staff. Spotlessly clean. Couldn't fault and will definitely recommend and come again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dianearmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely little find”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Found this little tea Room , lovely surroundings, does lovely meals ad breakfasts. Well worth a visit. Great smell of turf Burning. I had chocolate cake ad cream And my sister had scones jam And cream. Lovely!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank celtictiger_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“More than a tea room-excellent lunches”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Having just revisited the The Red Door I was more than pleasantly surprised that the quality of the food - try the soup or Irish Stew - as well as the tea, home made scones and cakes - had not deteriorated, but had actually got better! The service is friendly and first class and long may this little gem continue. It makes the ideal visit before going down to Ballintoy harbour where a walk along the coastal path can help you walk all those excess calories off!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HughMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Lovely place, Lovely staff”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

It would be easy to miss this little gem on the road down to Balintoy Harbour but thankfully we didnt!!
We enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea and would highly reccommend it to all. The staff in this family run restaurant were so helpfull and friendly. One of the best welcomes we have had in Northern Ireland!! The tea and cakes were extremely tasty and very good value and we will definitely be back for more on our next trip !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oonagh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Door Tea Room also viewed

Ballintoy, County Antrim
 

Been to The Red Door Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing