We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Northern Ireland”
Review of Whitepark House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballintoy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitepark House
Ranked #1 of 3 Ballintoy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2006

I was very sad to read that someone has experienced "bad service" at Bob's wonderful B&B. My friends and I stayed at Whitepark House for two nights in late July and it was wonderful. Bob is the very definition of an Irish welcome and you will want for nothing! He thinks of everything and works so hard but always seems so relaxed. The rooms are wonderful, the decor unique, the views are magnificent and the breakfast will set you up for the whole day along this outstanding coastline.

Would recommend anyone to go a hundred miles off their planned route to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JBMEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 244 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2006

We were amazed to read the review by Greenwood NS which we think says rather more about the writer than Bob, the host at Whitepark!

We had a great stay. Its a place of real style and character. Our room was comfy and spotlessly clean, the bed linen perfect, fluffy towels, oriental rugs and herds of elephants( carved ones!) A House surrounded by a green garden with views over the nearby White Park Bay. Bob was a kind and attentive host. It is not often you find a place you can totally relax in as if you were at home. We were greeted with tea and biscuits and a huge welcoming fire. There are thoughtful touches like provided glasses and a bottle opener in the sumptious sitting room. Go to Whitepark if you want to experience Antrim hospitality at its best - you will not be disappointed.
Steve and Mary
England

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaryOrla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2006

We have just returned from a weekend in Northern Ireland - and we could not have been more satisfied with our accomodations on the Antrim coast, at Bob's Whitepark House. The view of the sea across the street was breathtaking, and the property itself was very beautiful and well-maintained. Bob was a very welcoming host, and greeted us using our first names at the door - tea was waiting for us inside. The non-en suite rooms were not a problem in the least - Bob was careful to "schedule" all of the guests for their breakfast, letting us know when the bathroom would be free for our morning showers. The room was very comfortable - we had a double room with a view of the back garden, and there was a sink and kettle for tea/coffee inside. The breakfast was also a treat - a true "full Irish" breakfast, the best we've had since we moved to Ireland 4 months ago. Bob had great tips about the area, and gave us recommendations on dinner in nearby Bushmills - he also gave us a great idea to wait on visiting Dunluce Castle (just a few minutes away by car) until sunset, when we had the place all to ourselves and ended up with great photos of the sun behind the castle. It's just a few minutes drive to the Giant's Causeway, Bushmills Distillery, and the Carrick-a-rede rope bridge. We hope to visit this area again in the near future when friends and family come to visit, and we will definitely stay at Bob's!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmbeatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2006

We have just returned from staying with Bob at Whitepark House, and I have to say the experience was better than some of the leading hotels of the world I have stayed in - certainly on the "personal" service that you receive from the minute you arrive until you leave and the rooms decor. Also breakfast is one of the best "Fry's" (AKA cooked breakfast) you will have!

You can see why Bob has attained his awards, with his superb service and happy disposition. He is ready and waiting to answer any questions, and give you sound advice where re to go when wanting to tour the local area. Bob is such a good host proven by our nightmare arrival time.On our way out to Ireland we got delayed by 6 hours, and did not arrive until three in the morning - Bob was still at the door with a smile and greeting us, even though he had to get up in four hours to cook breakfast for the other guests. As we arrived so late he even cooked us a late breakfast at 10 a.m. - now tell me what hotel you would find with that kind of personal service!

The house is absolutely beautiful, with ornate features, and unusual furniture that is so in keeping with the decadent/oriental style of the house. We were fortunate enough to be staying in the "blue room" at the end , that has the most fantastic four poster bed, and view of the sea. What more could one ask for? You even get given your own private robe to wear!

I find it astounding in that one of the earlier reviews someone has had the audacity to comment on Bob and Whitepark house without even visiting it - tell me how you can have an informed opion of a place or host when you haven't even stayed there - LUDICROUS!

I highly advise anyone staying in Northern Ireland to try and make a pit stop at Bob's. Whitepark House is overlooking one of the best beaches in the country and has the best rooms and the politest "Landlady" one could wish to meet!

Don't miss out! We will certainly be going back and cannot wait to stay with Bob again...

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank CharlotteR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2006

I was really disappointed to see a bad review of a great place to stay. I stayed two nights in July 06 at this perfect spot, surrounded by the Atlantic ocean to the north, and nature on the other three sides. Bob Isles makes available every comfort and antisipates every need. He also gives great trip advice. I hope I have the opportunity to stay there again and will recommend it to all my friends.

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank Ahne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2006

I recently booked rooms at Whitepark house for several guests but ran into car trouble on the way and was unable to arrive to spend the night. The owner was called and advised of our problem and was not sympathetic in the least to our cause. I was made to feel guilty for putting him out despite having to pay for car repairs and end up in a more expensive hotel for the night, and did not get to see the sights.

We later drove by and the guesthouse has a stunning location and looks lovely, but do not expect any sympathy or good service if you have problems on the way.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Service
9  Thank Squaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2006

We'd been trying to get a break at Whitepark for ages. Ever since the publicity about Bob winning Landlady of the Year back in 2003.
Each time I tried the place was full. Having finally got to stay last week, I can see why.
All the plaudits for Bob from the industry, people on this site and the guestbook in his hall are well deserved.
A homely atmosphere, pots of tea, more than our fair share of fifteens, really comfy beds, amazing breakfasts and a friendly, knowledgeable host.
All too often we travel the world for pleasure when it can just as easily be found on our doorstep.
Thanks Bob for the wonderful stay. We;ll be back in try out that big room. Get the kettle on.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnIrishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballintoy
5.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
697 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,877 reviews
4.5 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
291 reviews
6.6 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
688 reviews
10.0 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitepark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitepark House

Address: 150 Whitepark Road, Ballintoy BT54 6NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballintoy
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ballintoy
Price Range: $40 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Whitepark House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and characterful bed and breakfast situated on the north coast of County Antrim , Northern Ireland, between the famous Giants' Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede rope-bridge above Whitepark Bay Established 25 years...Many awards and recommendations AA 5 Gold Stars Guide de Routard Lonely Planet Frommers Cadogan Alistair Sawdays' Special Places Georgina Campbell guide Karen Brown Michelin ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whitepark House Hotel Ballintoy
Whitepark House Ballintoy, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing