We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most superior B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whitepark House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballintoy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitepark House
Ranked #1 of 4 Ballintoy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
carrickfergus
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A most superior B&B”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Whitepark House must be near the summit of the B&B pile. It is wonderfully located overlooking the magnificent Whitepark Bay and when you arrive the informative and chatty Bob Isles serves you afternoon tea and biscuits.

Our room was more of a suite than a double bedroom with a lovely four poster bed and every mod-con from an electric kettle to an ironing board. In the bathroom, with both bath and shower, even the twin face clothes were tied up with a red ribbon!

Breakfast is served by Bob in the conservatory at a communal table and we had a fine meal over a very interesting chat with an American couple and their grandson from Ohio.

There is no TV - which does not really bother me very much - but I like to read in the evening and, as in so many places, the lighting in the cosy drawing room is inadequate in this respect.

Whitepark House is the sort of place of which Northern Ireland needs many more and Bob and Siobhain are to be warmly congratulated on what they offer..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esler c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    15
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
149
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We enjoyed our night at White Park House. Bob gave us a welcoming cup of tea and made a great number of suggestions, some of which we took up. Our room felt more like a suite with a grand double bed, comfortable chairs, and a view onto the garden. Its location is very good and it allowed us to be the first visitors (on a lovely sunny morning) to the Giant's Causeway which is quite close. We had also paid an evening visit to Ballintoy Harbour which was quite atmospheric at dusk. Although this stay was top of the price range for us, it was a memorable place to stay and we found Bob to be very knowledgeable and helpful .

Room Tip: The room looking onto the back garden was quiet and elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed one night at the Whitepark House in Ballintoy, Northern Ireland. What a wonderful time we had. It is a prime location for exploring the northern coast. Bob, our host, was gracious and very accommodating providing a beautiful, well appointed room and a wonderful full Irish breakfast. The B&B is full of warmth and a rich collection of the hosts' extensive travels. We could have spent a day simply relaxing at Whitepark House. Our stay far surpassed our expectations and we would highly recommend a longer stay had we had the opportunity. Our room was comfortable, spotless and very welcoming. Thank you, Bob, for your hospitality and we hope we have the opportunity to return in the future.

Room Tip: Any room will do! They are all spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123478
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a great couple of days here. Bob is a very attentive host - providing sensible suggestions for getting the most out of the local attractions. His breakfasts are excellent and his home intriguing.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 123478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

After seeing the pictures of Whitepark House online, I really wanted to spend a night there, and I'm so glad we did! We had not reserved a room and weren't sure when we would get into the Giant's Causeway area, but we were able to email Bob while on the road, and he was very kind and went out of his way to accommodate us. Whitepark House is very convenient to Giant's Causeway, Dunluce Castle, Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge, and Bushmills, so it makes an excellent base for sightseeing. Bob graciously served tea and goodies upon our arrival, and made time to chat with us about our plans. He gave us some wonderful recommendations and we were grateful for his advice. Our room was superb...spotless, luxurious, and roomy. Bob is an excellent chef as well, and we enjoyed one of the most delicious breakfasts of our vacation at Whitepark House. My only wish is that we could have stayed longer to enjoy the wonderful company and beautiful grounds! I would highly recommend the Whitepark House -- it's worth the cost, and you can see how dedicated the owners are just by stepping through the doorway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We loved our stay at the Whitepark house and cannot recommend it highly enough.
For just 30 quid above our usual b&b budget we decided to treat ourselves to a little luxury at this five star b&b and my my, was it worth every penny!

We got:
- a luxuriously decorated room (or rather, a suite) with beautiful views
- a huge bathroom with both a bath and shower
- scrumptious breakfast in the lovely conservatory overlooking an immaculate garden
- a host with excellent wit and a great sense of humor
- excellent location, the b&b sits between the carrick-e-rede rope bridge and the giants causeway and is within easy reach of other attractions like the Bushmills distillery, Dunluce castle but is also sufficiently removed from them to give you a sense of seclusion, if that is what you are looking for
- the lesser known but exceedingly beautiful Whitepark Bay beach is also within walking distance of the house

We really enjoyed our stay and would love to return again.

Room Tip: Not suitable for anyone who wants to veg out in front of the TV, there isn't one in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhiviya X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had high expectations before we visited Whitepark House and were not disappointed. Bob is a superb host who provided excellent tips (thanks especially for directing us to the walking tour in Derry!) and even better breakfasts. Hugely accommodating. The bed was so comfortable we would have slept in it all day had it not been for all the incredible things to see in the area. All in all, we couldn't have asked for anything better. Would definitely stay here again and couldn't recommend it more highly.
PS: Book more than a night's stay to allow yourself to properly unwind and see and do all on offer nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballintoy
1.9 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
250 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,679 reviews
4.5 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
637 reviews
8.2 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
361 reviews
10.0 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitepark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitepark House

Property: Whitepark House
Address: 150 Whitepark Road, Ballintoy BT54 6NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballintoy
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballintoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Whitepark House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and characterful bed and breakfast situated on the north coast of County Antrim , Northern Ireland, between the famous Giants' Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede rope-bridge above Whitepark Bay Established 25 years...Many awards and recommendations AA 5 Gold Stars Guide de Routard Lonely Planet Frommers Cadogan Alistair Sawdays' Special Places Georgina Campbell guide Karen Brown Michelin ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whitepark House Hotel Ballintoy
Whitepark House Ballintoy, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing