We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carnlough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2010

for exploring the Antrim Coast. The hotel sits in the middle of Carnlough village on the busy A2 road. Parking immediately opposite in their private car park. An old coaching inn, built in 1848, it retains it's old fashioned demeanour but with modern facilities. The inn was once owned Sir Winston Churchill.

Don't expect anything to happen too fast, but everyone very pleasant and helpful. Lovely reception and staircase leading to comfortable rooms. There is a restaurant and bistro serving food most of the day, including `High Tea'. Good range of menu and well presented. Our room was sizeable (two large beds locked together) with ensuite and small entrance foyer. Coffee/Tea making in room and TV (although very small). We looked out over a school yard at the front but despite being on the main road we got a good night's sleep.

Great base for exploring the Glens of Antrim or as a stopover on thecoastal road.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cats_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 554 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2010

My daughter & I decided to drive up to the North of Ireland--from Dublin--to see the Giant's Causeway. Hoping that 'the luck of the Irish' would rub on us, we looked at the hotel listings and picked the Londonderry Arms--praying that we would not be disappointed.

And true enough, we were not! We were given such a big and lovely room on the second floor with a big & clean bathroom. Ours was an ocean view--lovely!

We also discovered the lift a few feet from our room. It would have been real helpful if the nice lady manning the reception had mentioned this to us before we lugged our two big suitcases up the two flights of stairs!

After we dropped-off our bags, we decided to immediately drive up to the Giant's causeway, hoping to be back before it got dark. Of course getting lost in Ireland was to be expected. We got back to our hotel by 10:30pm--and went to the Chinese take-out across the street, only to realize that they only accepted pounds. We totally forgot the fact that we were now in British territory. Tired and hungry, and with 15 minutes to spare before the take-out shop closed,we rushed back to the hotel to inquire about getting some of our dollars changed to pounds. And sure enough that nice lady at the desk managed to do just that.

Although our oceanview room was facing the street, traffic was so minimal and we had a good quiet night's sleep ready to tackle the next day's drive to the south of Ireland.

Breakfast was the usual Irish fare served in a bright and pleasant room by the front of the hotel. We managed to explore a bit more of this charming hotel before starting our drive to the South.

Our drive from Dublin to the North was filled with a lot of wrong turns where we ended up miles and hours away from where we should have been. But we managed to meet some very nice people who helped us get back on track. I must say that having such a nice, clean & quiet place to stay in after such an adventurous day was the icing on our cake.

And we did have that Irish luck we so hoped for--the Londonderry Arms did not disappoint!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunflowers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights, the open fires and authentic old style bar made me feel totally relaxed. The meal was included in the price and was tasty and quick. There is not much to do in Carnlough itself but plenty of nice places to drive to, the reception staff are really helpful and give great advice on where to go. The nicest touch was when the owner came over to us and thanked us for visiting!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainGoatIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

My party of 15 were very well looked after for our 1 night stay. We had to plan many weeks before, but the subsequent changes were dealt with without fuss. We had good well presented food and all my party said the beds were very comfortable and we were treated to good service from the initial booking through to our departure

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cowplop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Staying at the Londonderry Arms on one of the AXA insurance offers, we found the hotel to be exceptional value for money. The room was comfortable and it was quiet at night. There was a varied menu and the food was good. The drink prices in the bar were not excessive compared to other places we stayed at. The staff was efficient and friendly and the hotel was ideally placed for exploring along the coast and the charming small towns and villages in the nine Glens of Antrim. Access to the free WIFI was great to connect to the internet and access my emails

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scrabblebuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

we booked an amazing value £50pp inc 3 course meal overnight stay for our anniversary.
The hotel is a historic coaching inn in the centre of the coastal town of carnough.(unsupervised carpark facing hotel) The location is a great spot for touring the area.
Do not expect modern! It is a beautiful building with nooks and crannies and bags of old world charm.
We were welcomed on arrival by a very friendly receptionist, a 2 min check in and our room key was handed over .(at only 1pm!) There is a lift available but we opted to take the short but grand flight of stairs.
Our room was spotlessly clean, very spacious with a huge comfy bed. A small flat screen tv, tea & coffee making facilities. Two chairs and a little table. Sea view (also little school &carpark) The bathroom was small but again very clean and adequate with bath & overhead shower.
We ate lunch in The Coach House, the hotels large bistro. Lots of charm with roaring fire perfect on a wet wednesday. The menu was extensive and the food was fresh and plentiful.
On return to room delighted to find bottled water,chocs, scented candle & handwritten postcard of the hotel wishing us a happy anniversary. A special touch that was a lovely surprise!!
our inclusive evening meal was served in the formal restaurant ,The Tapestry Room. A cosy table for two, attentive yet unobtrusive staff and the food! Superb. Again the freshest of produce and plenty of it. Delicious. A nightcap in the little bar was a nice way to end the meal.
Breakfast was served also in the Tapestry Room. Self serve, cereals,fruit,juices etc (homemade wheaten bread Yum! ) followed by a huge cooked breakfast. When we asked for our leftovers to be wrapped "to go", this was done and with Added sausages from the kitchen!! Thank You!.
We stayed 1 night and felt like we'd been away for a week it was such a relaxing ambience.
We could not recommend it enough if you value friendly efficient staff, 1st class service (oh thanks to the night porter the 3.30am jug of iced water!!) superb food and value for money.
We cant wait to go back! Thanks to all who made it such an excellent visit.
Gary & Sharon

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank specgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Stayed here for a weekend and was delighted with the accommodation which was so different from the impersonal decor of modern hotels. The room was spacious and had a good shower in the ensuite. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was lovely to have breakfast main course served (piping hot) to the table rather than the usual self service. We arrived quite late in the evening and were offered food if needed. There were several lounges to relax in and a lovely open fire in one. A good location for walking, touring or shopping in Ballymena. Will go again. The only improvement I would suggest is duvets instead of blankets.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussydol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnlough
8.2 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,452 reviews
17.7 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
708 reviews
15.7 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,326 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
301 reviews
14.4 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londonderry Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londonderry Arms Hotel

Address: 20 Harbour Road, Carnlough BT44 0EU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carnlough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carnlough
Price Range: $118 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Londonderry Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Londonderry Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londonderry Arms Carnlough
Hotel Londonderry Arms
Londonderry Arms Hotel Carnlough, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing