We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carnlough
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just delightful”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Having just arrived back from a lovely stay in this hotel, our room was very spacious, the location is great, the food is delicious (can highly recommend the gammon) but it's the staff here that really makes this hotel unique, really could not do enough for us, from directions to extremely good service in the bar
Great value all round

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anabanana2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    170
    70
    28
    19
See reviews for
97
240
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Decided to go back to the Londonderry Arms again after purchasing a voucher online. We had enjoyed our stay last time so we where looking forward to our visit. We had a better room this time which was at the front of the hotel and had a sea view. The room was tidy and quite clean on the surface, however this is an old hotel and so could do with a deep clean and probably some updating of its decor.
However the reason we returned to the hotel was for the food which was excellent the last time and we where not disappointed this time. The staff as all very friendly and nothing seemed to much trouble for them, as my wife has an egg allergy and so has to be careful with what see eats and has to ask all the time what makes up the various dishes. Even when there was nothing that suited her from the sweet menu they came up with an egg free alternative.

So as my title states, to us this is a three star hotel that could do with a bit of a clean and spruce up, but the food is five star.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

my husband and I have just spent a wonderful weekend in this lovely home from home hotel. we were booked in for two night stay and it was enjoyment from start to finish. Onthe Friday night we joined a backed out restaurant for a superb St. Valentines three course dinner, excellent food served by attentive staff. On Saturday evening we attended the Valentines Gala Dinner and again we were delighted with the menu, served by wonderful staff in the lovely surroundings of the Churchill SUite. This hotel is situated in the beautiful wee town of Carnlough. it has a lovely homely feel to it, were the staff like Joe and Jennifer become not just employees but friends. when we have stayed in the past we have been given a fantastic welcome so we will be back and if you haven't paid a little visit call stay, have a meal or just call in for a drink and you will be made most welcome.

Room Tip: Room 114 or 115 lovely rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazFinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I love here but my only criticism is that they need to up the portions. Ive been a few times & always felt i could of ate just a little bit more. Service was good & staff very friendly.

Please just a little more on the plate!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I spent the night here this past November. What a treasure! Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean - the bathroom literally sparkled. Dinner was lovely, sitting by the fire and enjoying the delicious food. The entire building was filled with so many items of interest - photos, art work, books. We loved exploring. Carnlough is such a delightful village and the locals were helpful and kind. This was a perfect place to spend a night while exploring the glens of the beautiful Antrim Coast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Decided to take my parents here for a short break as I had stayed here before and enjoyed it. We weren't let down. The Hotel is among the most hospitable and cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The location, views and food were all excellent but what made the stay an absolute delight was the staff. They are without doubt some of the most attentive and friendliest I have ever encountered - nothing was a bother and they were unswervingly pleasant. At over 150 years as an Inn, the hotel is reassuringly old and has that wonderful oldey-worldly feel that cannot be replicated and harkens back to a bygone age. However, don't for once think that it is old fashioned - it is far from it but has just managed to retain its heritage and roots when so many have lost them. On a cold and wet Winters day with the sea lapping over the sea wall, the rain tapping on the windows and the glow of the wonderful fire kissing my cheeks as I sip my lovely Guiness - there are few places I would rather be than the cosy Londonderry Arms, especially as the only decision I have to make is whether or not to have the steak or the seafood (both wonderful). An absolute delight and long may she live!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, ColorADO
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

This charming hotel was once owned by the Churchill family. Delightful in all respects. The room was quaint and comfy. The meals were very good. Beautiful bar and lounge. I enjoyed looking at all the memorabilia displayed throughout the Inn. Highly recommend this lovely Inn !

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Spainin2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnlough
8.2 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,351 reviews
17.7 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
669 reviews
16.3 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
864 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
278 reviews
2.0 mi away
Water's Edge Glenarm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londonderry Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londonderry Arms Hotel

Property: Londonderry Arms Hotel
Address: 20 Harbour Road, Carnlough BT44 0EU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carnlough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carnlough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Londonderry Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Londonderry Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londonderry Arms Carnlough
Hotel Londonderry Arms
Londonderry Arms Hotel Carnlough, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing