We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carnlough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I love here but my only criticism is that they need to up the portions. Ive been a few times & always felt i could of ate just a little bit more. Service was good & staff very friendly.

Please just a little more on the plate!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 549 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I spent the night here this past November. What a treasure! Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean - the bathroom literally sparkled. Dinner was lovely, sitting by the fire and enjoying the delicious food. The entire building was filled with so many items of interest - photos, art work, books. We loved exploring. Carnlough is such a delightful village and the locals were helpful and kind. This was a perfect place to spend a night while exploring the glens of the beautiful Antrim Coast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Decided to take my parents here for a short break as I had stayed here before and enjoyed it. We weren't let down. The Hotel is among the most hospitable and cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The location, views and food were all excellent but what made the stay an absolute delight was the staff. They are without doubt some of the most attentive and friendliest I have ever encountered - nothing was a bother and they were unswervingly pleasant. At over 150 years as an Inn, the hotel is reassuringly old and has that wonderful oldey-worldly feel that cannot be replicated and harkens back to a bygone age. However, don't for once think that it is old fashioned - it is far from it but has just managed to retain its heritage and roots when so many have lost them. On a cold and wet Winters day with the sea lapping over the sea wall, the rain tapping on the windows and the glow of the wonderful fire kissing my cheeks as I sip my lovely Guiness - there are few places I would rather be than the cosy Londonderry Arms, especially as the only decision I have to make is whether or not to have the steak or the seafood (both wonderful). An absolute delight and long may she live!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This charming hotel was once owned by the Churchill family. Delightful in all respects. The room was quaint and comfy. The meals were very good. Beautiful bar and lounge. I enjoyed looking at all the memorabilia displayed throughout the Inn. Highly recommend this lovely Inn !

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Spainin2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This hotel has a very homely, old fashioned atmosphere about it with very welcoming staff on a cold, windy pre-Christmas evening the real fires adding that extra welcome. We enjoyed a delicious evening meal with a visit from some very good carol singers, dinner/dance was in the function room, very relaxed evening. The bedroom we had was very comfortable with all you would expect from a 3star hotel. Full Irish breakfast served the following morning was of an excellent standard served by very friendly, cheerful staff. All-in-all very good value for money hotel, good food, lovely staff, could not fault it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I loved our stay here.
The rooms was very comfortable, the food was lovely and the staff were very friendly.
The village of Carnlough is a really nice . There is lots to do and see in the area too.
I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irishlad1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I regularly use the Londonderry Arms Hotel for business events and conferences and must commend them on their excellent customer service and attention to detail. This is a lovely venue with lots of charm and nice cosy open fires. The staff are all very friendly, attentive and polite and nothing is ever too much bother for them. The food is delicious and of a very high standard. I also am very impressed that they source the most of their ingredients locally and include this information on their menu.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnlough
8.2 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,415 reviews
17.7 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
690 reviews
15.7 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,183 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
292 reviews
15.0 mi away
Leighinmohr House Hotel
Leighinmohr House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ballymena
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londonderry Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londonderry Arms Hotel

Address: 20 Harbour Road, Carnlough BT44 0EU, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carnlough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carnlough
Price Range: $116 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Londonderry Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Londonderry Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londonderry Arms Carnlough
Hotel Londonderry Arms
Londonderry Arms Hotel Carnlough, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing