We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Marlagh Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marlagh Lodge
Ranked #2 of 15 Ballymena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We found Marlagh Lodge through "Hidden Ireland",having used the guide book on a visit last year.Robert welcomed us with Tea and cake in the lovely Drawing room before showing us our room,which was beautifully decorated,as is the whole house.We had the Blue room with four poster bed and for our 3 night stay we had the best sleep ever!
During our stay,Robert cooked some of the best food we have tasted,(and we travel a lot.)His 5 course evening meal and the "Ulster Fry " was beautifully cooked and presented.Marlagh Lodge is licensed and offers a short but good value wine list.( I particularly enjoyed the Cork Gin each evening before dinner)
Our host was happy to discuss days out with us each morning, organise dinner on the one night we ate out and book taxi's.
We came away feeling totally relaxed and very well looked after,in fact the hospitality was 5 star,we shall definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms are large and well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caroline048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
57
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I found this hotel from a site I had never used before and for the price I did not expect much as I did'nt read any reviews.However when I arrived I was met by Robert a most affable chap and shown to what I can only say is one of beautiful rooms I have ever stayed in,the owners have gone to great lengths to make the rooms authentic to the period (victorian) with lovely detail to furnishings and decor.The room I am staying in has a four poster bed and a cast iron stand alone bath.Now to the practicalities,the heating works and works well,when you run a bath the water is hot and free flowing (no waiting half an hour for it to fill up,when put up the toilet lid will stay up and does not move around,tea and coffee facilities are of good quality,the breakfast was hot and very tasty.I stay in many hotels and these are the things that annoy me,not here I have found perfection.

Room Tip: If a couple or on your own ask for the blue room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sspxb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Beautiful house, Excellent service, very friendly, customer focused, food delcious, i couldnt wish more, highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0142monika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We've just returned from a 4 night stay at the Marlagh Lodge, using it as a base while we visited family and friends in the Ballymena area. We found Robert to be the most convivial host, ready with lots of knowledge about the house and the surrounding area. Our room (The Chintz Room) was extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated. The only pity is, due to other commitments, we didn't get a chance to sample an evening meal at the Marlagh, but if breakfast was anything to go by, I can pretty much guarantee, it would have been a treat.
If you're reading this Robert, I've just made a second batch of your lovely poached plum recipe! Thanks for letting me into the secret.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Wonderful homely lodge, fantastic attentive hosts with superb food. Will be booking here for my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2011

A friend and I stayed at Marlagh Lodge for two nights in December. Everything about the Lodge was wonderful. Robert and Rachel are excellent hosts - very friendly but never overbearing. The house itself - a lovingly restored 19thC building - is absolutely beautiful. And the attention to detail is amazing - from the mineral water and snacks in the rooms, to the dressing gowns and extra heaters on a snowy day.

The food was also fabulous. My friend and I are real food snobs and perhaps difficult to please, but everything we had to eat was mouthwatering. The poached plums and whisky cream porridge breakfast were a highlight of our stay, as was the incredible 5 course dinner.

We will definitely return to Marlagh Lodge and will be recommending it to all our friends and family. Our only fear is that this amazing place will become so popular that we'll not be able to get in again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALTBURN BY THE SEA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Great place to stay, will be coming back very soon.
Lovely friendly people, brilliant room, relaxing, perfect after a long day.
5 Stars

Room Tip: Stay here.. great breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymena
2.7 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
314 reviews
5.2 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,926 reviews
2.4 mi away
Leighinmohr House Hotel
Leighinmohr House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ballymena
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
791 reviews
2.4 mi away
Adair Arms Hotel
Adair Arms Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ballymena
301 reviews
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Antrim M2, JCT.1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlagh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlagh Lodge

Property: Marlagh Lodge
Address: 71 Moorfields Road, Ballymena BT42 3BU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballymena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ballymena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlagh Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic country home provides elegant accommodation in the heart of County Antrim. Whatever the reason for your visit, on holiday or on business, Marlagh Lodge combines the best of the old - elegant antiques, the finest bedlinen, lots of books and interesting objets - with all the requirements of the 21st Century guest - great bathrooms, direct dial telephones and wi-fi access throughout the house. Marlagh Lodge is located just three miles from the centre of Ballymena with its excellent transport links to the whole province and is only a short drive from both Belfast International Airport and Belfast City Airport and the ferry ports of Belfast and Larne. The stunning North Antrim coast is only a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Marlagh Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlagh Lodge Ballymena, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing