We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst indian”
Review of Spice - CLOSED

Spice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Spice Ballymena (Spice Palace) is an authentic Indian restaurant located in the centre of Ballymena town offering collections, deliveries and in-restaurant dining. Spice also cater for private functions, provide buffets upon request and are fully licensed with a bring-your-own option. There is ample car-parking facilities available nearby.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This restaurant is well over rated from what i have experienced, first of all the food is never hot only just warm even when requesting to make sure it was hot as we had eating here previously they still could not get it right which was disappointing.found the starters to be like they had been reheated a few times and not fresh ,which is a shame as Ballymena could do with a good Indian restaurant but it.s not be this one so quess it will have to the Khyber in Galgrom which a lot better .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelD90, Public Relations Manager at Spice, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Hi B M,

Thank you for your feedback, I'm very sorry to hear that your meal with us was not what you were expecting. All of our food, from our starters to our main courses and our naan breads are made fresh from scratch and we also use individual candle-lit hot plates at our tables to ensure that when your food is brought out hot from the kitchen it stays that way until you have eaten it. Perhaps you will dine with us again in the future and let us know how we do.

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 126 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have eaten here on numerous occasions - food is very good, well priced and nicely presented and to add to it you can BYO wine etc. However the atmosphere is non existent - we would usually be there on a Friday or Saturday night and as yet its never near full. Also if you are going bring cash with you - the card machine never works. I would like to see them do well but if it doesnt "spice" up I fear they are going to loose it !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kilcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelD90, Public Relations Manager at Spice, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Hi Kilcurry,

Thank you for your review, great to hear you like our food and our new bring your own option. Our restaurant is split across two levels with our upstairs section, we are the biggest Indian restaurant in Ballymena, so later in the evening it may seem as though the restaurant is not as busy. We are thinking about changing our music to create more of an atmosphere, what do you think? You can contact us through our Facebook page to share your ideas. We have also resolved the issues we were having with our card reader, so hopefully next time you eat with us you won't have a problem paying by card.

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Spice didn't "do exactly what it said on the tin "
The irony being that what it really lacked was spice!
In Fairness we were going to the cinema Saturday evening and had an hour window to eat a main with some Nan bread. The manager and staff were very accommodating and extremely pleasant. Indeed the food wasn't bad at all it was passable.
My partner asked for starter dish of prawns as her main and the management were glad to oblige, though it turned out to be extremely bland and did not compare to the opposition in Galgorm. Though it has to be said the prawns were beautifully fresh; the Puri sauce let the dish down.
There was less than a hint of chili or ginger to give the flavor some kick , and the same complaint is true of my madras which i ate casually without breaking sweat so timid was the heat from a rated, four star dish for hot spice.
A tip for the chef is to inquire if the customer wants the dish dumbed down.
also the chicken was a little on the dry side and there was not enough of it.
All this considered i will give this restaurant another try but tell them not to hold back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelD90, Public Relations Manager at Spice, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Hi arty m,

Thank you for your feedback, it is disappointing to hear that you did not feel our food was spicy enough on your last visit, we try to ensure our dishes are suitable for the majority of customers but we can and do make our dishes hotter upon request. It is great to know our customer service reflected our reputation on your visit, we aim to be as accomodating as possible for our customers, and our prawns are often commented on both for their size and their freshness. Our chicken is marinated in-house daily and I am surprised that you found yours to be dry - perhaps you will dine with us again soon and leave another review to let me know what you think? Please do request that your dishes are given an extra "kick" if you like the hot stuff!

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This Restaurant always meets the very highest standards. Superb food beautifully presented, and service which is second to none. The manager makes a point of talking to his customers and has a knack of recommending different dishes to try, so if you are visiting it is nice to try something slightly different.

I cannot recommend Spice highly enough!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wavespotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelD90, Public Relations Manager at Spice, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Hi wavespotter,

Thank you very much for your comments, wonderful to hear that you like our restaurant and food so much, we take great pride in our food and it's great to hear the response from customers when they enjoy their visit. We are asked quite often to recommend dishes because we offer much more than the typical Indian meals, and we like to think we have gotten good at it! Hope you will eat with us again soon.

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Popped into Spice un-announced and received a very warm welcome. Excellent service, menu and variety. You can't go wrong here folks !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VIPPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelD90, Public Relations Manager at Spice, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

VIPPilot,

Thank you for your review of your visit. Hope you will eat with us again.

Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice also viewed

Glarryford, Ballymena
 
Ballymena, County Antrim
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing