We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to the usual high standard”
Review of Spice - CLOSED

Spice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Spice Ballymena (Spice Palace) is an authentic Indian restaurant located in the centre of Ballymena town offering collections, deliveries and in-restaurant dining. Spice also cater for private functions, provide buffets upon request and are fully licensed with a bring-your-own option. There is ample car-parking facilities available nearby.
Northen Ireland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Up to the usual high standard”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I just made another visit to Spice. We tried their £9.95 3 course meal offer. There was a very good choice for "A meal offer menu". The food and service were excellent as always. Well worth a visit. You can also bring your own wine etc and pay a small corkage fee if you prefer. Jay and his staff will ensure that you are well looked after during your visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tully22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelD90, Public Relations Manager at Spice, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi Tully22,

Many thanks for your second review, it's great that both of your visits with us were to your satisfaction. We are often told our £9.95 3 course meal offer is great value and has a good selection of choices. Jay says hello, hope to see you again soon.

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    30
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Went for a meal here tonight after reading many positive reviews. We were not disappointed, the food was excellent, the restaurant was spotlessly clean and very well decorated. There were additional extras, like 3 dips along with the spicy onions, which was complimentary, they had a lovely we lemon squeezer, which i had never seen before. Staff and the manager were very polite, helpful and attentive, would definitely go back... lovely evening had by all. Carol, Larne

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelD90, Public Relations Manager at Spice, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Carol186534,

Thank you for your detailed feedback, great to hear you enjoyed our food so much and the restaurant too. We have heard from customers before that they like our lemon squeezers so I guess they are here to stay! Lovely to know you had such a nice evening dining with us, will hopefully see you again.

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“TASTY”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

very good food always hot and tasty. its very friendly and lovely surroundings. have been many times and always same. we will return again

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie452016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelD90, Public Relations Manager at Spice, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
hollyhole1,

Thank you for your review, we quite liked your review title "tasty" and used it on our Facebook page. It is great to know that all of your visits to us have been of the same standard, hopefully see you again!

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northen Ireland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

On Sat night myself and 7 friends had another excellent meal in Spice. It was the usual very high standard of customer service and outstanding food. This really is the best Indian Restaurant in the Ballymena / Antrim area. I have never had a bad meal in Spice. I would recommend anyone to try it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tully22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelD90, Public Relations Manager at Spice, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Tully22,

Many thanks for your review, it is great to hear another satisfied customer! Our Indian food is 100% authentic and freshly prepared every day, so it is excellent to know our hard work is worth it when we get such great feedback! Hopefully see you again soon.

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymena
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My partner and I decided to try this restaurant last Thursday evening and what a find. We decided to go for the £9.99 menu and it was delicious. We could nt fault the meal it was wonderful. It is grt that you have the choice to bring your own wine especially with the current climate. All I can say is we will return. We have already told are friends to try it. I can't wait to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BallymenaRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelD90, Public Relations Manager at Spice, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi BallymenaRuth,

Great to hear you enjoyed your meal with us! Our dinner offer through the week is very popular and we have continued it into the new year, it can be difficult to afford a nice meal out when pursestrings are so tight, which is why we also went from being a licensed restaurant to introducing the choice of the restaurant bar or "bring your own" to our customers. Hope you will eat with us again.

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice also viewed

Ballymena, County Antrim
 
Ballymena, County Antrim
Ballymena, County Antrim
 
Ballymena, County Antrim
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing