We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Xmas break at the Galgorm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galgorm Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ballymena
Certificate of Excellence
Holywood
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Xmas break at the Galgorm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Beautiful period building in spectacular surroundings. The staff could not be more friendly or helpful. The dinner, bed and breakfast deal was very good value and the food was excellent. We had a beautiful, clean room with extremely comfortable beds and enjoyed the complimentary hot chocolate and mince pies in our room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSmythGalgorm, Manager at Galgorm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Christine C,

Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your xmas break at the resort. Particularly in this economic climate value for money is paramount and I am glad that we exceeded your expectations. I have passed your kind comments onto the team and we all look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards

Paul Smyth
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,968
    373
    179
    82
    57
See reviews for
501
1,253
25
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have stayed at the Galgorm several times and it never fails to impress. On our last stay we were greeted with cupcakes and a lovely card as I had mentioned it was our anniversary. The staff also go that extra mile to make your stay stand out from other hotels. The food is always lovely and I would recommend to anyone. A special thanks to their very own Mr Christian Grey (yes that is his real name!). Hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmythFamily_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSmythGalgorm, Manager at Galgorm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear SmythFamily_33,

thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and I am pleased that you were able to celebrate your anniversary at the resort. Our staff strive for all opportunities to delight our guests and I am glad that you enjoyed the complimentary cupcakes. We are very proud of the efforts of the team at Galgorm and their significant contribution toewards our success. I have passed your kind comments onto Christian.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind regards


Paul Smyth
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

had another very enjoyable break here again and as usual staff are brillant the veiws r really lovely cant wait to go back hopefully very soon have been every month from sept . im half hoping my family get me gift vouchers for xmas if not will have 2 save a we bit after xmas roll on.

Room Tip: i have stayed in a family room and a twin room both were very comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSmythGalgorm, Manager at Galgorm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Alison D,

Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the resort. We are very proud of our team at Galgorm and appreciate how important they have been to our success. I am glad that you are planning to return to the resort in the very near future and we look forward to that.

kind regards

Paul Smyth
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycastle,Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had our work Christmas do last night at Galgorm Great Hall! What a change from last year in the Adair Arms! The room and tables looked good, the bar in the entrance lobby was well staffed with friendly bar people and when the food was served it was hot and tasty. Band was good also. We also weren't ejected from the premises as soon as the entertainment ended. A great evening out!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FatherTed1_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSmythGalgorm, Manager at Galgorm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear FatherTed1_7,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am delighted that you and your work colleagues had such an enjoyable night. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the ambience and service throughout the evening. The "Christmas Party Nights" in the Great Hall are proving ever popular with many bookings already for December 2013.

I hope that you will join us then.

Kind regards

Paul Smyth
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed with my mum and sister on the autumn deal. Enjoyed the fantastic thermal spa and had a meal to die for in gillies. Service was amazing. Special thanks for acknowledging my sisters birthday with delicious cup cakes. A lovely extra! Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynseyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSmythGalgorm, Manager at Galgorm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Lynseyg,

thank you for your kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed celebrating your sister's birthday at Galgorm. The Spa and Gillies are two very popular aspects of the resort and I am glad you were able to experience them. The little touches are indeed very important and it is our pleasure to provide them.

We look forward to your next visit

Kind regards

Paul Smyth
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed mon-wed enjoyed meals in gillies,Italian and afternoon tea in the beautiful river room, the spa is amazing and enjoyed a back massage!! The staff are so friendly and helpful big thank you for such an amazing time, can't wait to visit again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahkerr1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSmythGalgorm, Manager at Galgorm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear sarahkerr 1984,

Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted that you so enjoyed your stay. It is fantastic that you were able to experience all three of the restaurants at the resort. We are very proud of our team and we appreciate that it is they that truly sets Galgorm Resort and Spa apart.

We are looking forward to you all returning to the resort in the near future.

kind regards

Paul Smyth
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My family attended my Neice's wedding day at Galgorm and what can I say ? Outstanding!! I can honestley say this was the best wedding we have ever attended. The whole day was a "5 Star experience". I am sure my Neice will extend her views and thanks, but, I would like to add our views. We stayed in one of the amazing log cabins in the grounds of Galgorm. We only stayed 1 night but it was amazing, the view from the balcony to the river was breath taking. The staff were so friendly but professional and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel provide a chauffeur service to the cabins. The whole experience was so special. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and if you are planning a wedding let Galgorm Resort work their magic.

Room Tip: They are all good. Just choose your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidFleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSmythGalgorm, Manager at Galgorm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear DavidFleck,

thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. I am delighted that you so enjoyed your stay with us whilst celebrating your niece's wedding. Although the resort is four star we do continually exceed the expectations of our guests through our high levels of service and quality.
The log cabins do indeed have an enviable location adjacent to the River maine. We are very proud of our team at the resort at the care they show to our guests.

I do hope that you can find a reason to return to the resort in the future.

Kind regards

Paul Smyth
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymena
1.9 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
24.0 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
19.2 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
2.6 mi away
Leighinmohr House Hotel
Leighinmohr House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galgorm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galgorm Resort & Spa

Property: Galgorm Resort & Spa
Address: 136 Fenaghy Road, Ballymena BT42 1EA, Northern Ireland (Formerly Galgorm Manor)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballymena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ballymena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galgorm Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Ireland's Premier luxury Hotel and Spa situated only 30 minutes from Belfast is the perfect location to relax and get away from it all...and with some fantastic accommodation and Spa offers this Spring, there really is no excuse not to treat yourself...Galgorm Resort & Spa is set in 163 acres of lush parkland near Northern Ireland's most renowned scenic attractions and is just 30 minutes from Belfast city centre, 20 minutes from Belfast International airport and 35 minutes from George Best Belfast City airport.Our facilities include 122 bedrooms and luxurious suites, designed in a contemporary style whilst keeping the focus on superior quality features associated with a classic country gentleman's residence. Full business communications facilities are provided in-room as well as entertainment for when it's time to relax.The resort also offers delightful countryside self catering cottages on site and unique log cabins situated alongside the flowing and tranquil River Maine.With miles of fishing on the River Maine, on-site stables, the most picturesque of walkways and cycle routes and the world class Spa at Galgorm, you'll find plenty to while away the hours as you escape into this home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Galgorm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galgorm Resort And Spa
Galgorm Hotel Ballymena
Galgorm Manor Hotel
Galgorm Manor Ballymena
Galgorm Resort & Spa Ballymena, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing