We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot better than I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Countryman

The Countryman
Ranked #9 of 141 Restaurants in Ballymena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A lot better than I expected”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Ballymena isnt blessed with too many good places to eat and the last place I expected to be spending my Saturday was in the Lounge side of my old teenage haunt and the bar where I did most of my underage drinking (many years ago). But it was good.
The service was a bit sultry (mainly because many of the staff seemed to be pregnant and uncomfortable to be working) but it was efficient. The prices were good and the food was well prepared and presented.
I think I would go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flying-inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    50
    18
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a bad experience”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

In fairness if you get a good table the restaurant is quite comfortable, however the school type tables and chairs on the wooden floor are not pleasant. The quality of the food and the standard of the service leaves something to be desired. If you want pub grub at restaurant prices then this is the place. Also the price of the drink is also top end restaurant rates. All of the servers are foreign which makes it difficult to communicate and a smile would be nice but with our eastern European colleagues that rarely happens.

What ever you do never complain about the food. The owner will always say that it is your fault and when he can speak without shaking and shouting he will tell you to leave.

Not a great experience...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“more praise”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Have visited the Countryman quite a few times since my last review an as always it never disappoints. That's why I keep going back. Hopefully will be back later in the week!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went here for a bite to eat and to be honest I didn't have high expectations. I ordered the chilli beef and it was so tasty that I think I will return next week to have it again. Good service and the staff were friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good food as always”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I visit the countryman qiute often and the food is always good as is the service. The staff are very friendly and the meals are good value. will be visiting again tomorrow night.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Countryman also viewed

Ballymena, County Antrim
Ballymena, County Antrim
 
Ballymena, County Antrim
 
Ballymena, County Antrim
Ballymena, County Antrim
 

Been to The Countryman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing