We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leighinmohr House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ballymena
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickfergus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is shabby .. Rooms were disgraceful ... Food was just okay ... Silver service was appalling actually throwing the food on the plate from a height !!!! Would not recommend and will not be back !!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carper2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    75
    18
    22
    17
See reviews for
139
85
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I recently attended a family wedding reception in the Leighinmohr House Hotel. The hotel staff were attentive , pleasant and eager to please! I feel that I must mention Leslie who was working at the hotel reception for most of the day, he was extremely helpful throughout the day ( even without being asked). The wedding meal was delicious and served promptly . Approximately fifty guests remained overnight in the Leighinmohr House and although many of the rooms are in need of refurbishment we had a comfortable stay! At breakfast the following morning only one waitress was on duty and this proved somewhat difficult , she worked very hard but her task was insurmountable! Overall our visit was enjoyable and I would recommend this venue for a wedding reception.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

hotel looked nice from lobby..room was tiny not very clean hairdryer was in drawer with blown fuse and there was a dirty towel in another drawer from previous guests..price was crazy for what we got..only good thing staff were lovely

Room Tip: room absolutely tiny..would not recommend staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were a party of 16 adults and 8 children. The food was great and lots of it. There was a seating area where the children could watch DVDs and play this was great as we didn't have to constantly tell them to sit down or be quiet. It was all very relaxed considering the size of our party and the staff were very helpful. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mccannandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

to be fair i was warned in advance that this was a small double and i still choose to take it as a twin room is less than ideal when away with a partner but i literally could touch each wall when stretching sideways, the decor is in desperate need of updating in rooms but lobby looks clean and has character

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I found our room in the Leighinmohr to be quite dilapidated and shabby looking. Paint was cracking and coming off the wall, and there were lots of little things that were broken around the room, like the bin, the curtain drapery, and a wobbly shelf. The room size was very small too. I'm aware that this is not a luxury hotel, but I expected a little more room for £75 per night. The sound insulation from room to room is very lacking; it's like the walls are made of paper. During our stay, we were kept awake through the night by some of our more 'nocturnal' neighbours.

In the morning the breakfast was fine. There wasn't a great deal of selection, but we were happy with the standard cooked breakfast. If you are hoping for anything else besides your bog standard cereals, you will be disappointed. The dining room itself seems to be a little small for the number of guests in the hotel, and my wife and I had to share a table with another couple. We noticed a thick layer of dust on the heavy curtains in the dining room that morning, and weren't particularly surprised. The staff are friendly and helpful enough.

Overall I think the Leighinmohr needs to close a few rooms at a time and get the handymen in, and consider updating a few of the fixings. For now I would not go back to this hotel, and would warn my friends off staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Dirty rooms - my toilet still had 'evidence' from previous guest and my bed cover was stained. Run down - peeling wall paper, broken bin in bathroom, broken glass window in communal area and there was an empty Fruit Shoot bottle in the fountain the entire time I was there (2days) which nobody bothered to move

Wifi doesn't work in the bedrooms - only communal area

Hotel has the feel of a run down retirement home which is a shame as it could be a great place with some basic attention.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richardsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymena
0.9 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,781 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adair Arms Hotel
Adair Arms Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ballymena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
17.1 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leighinmohr House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leighinmohr House Hotel

Property: Leighinmohr House Hotel
Address: Leighinmohr Avenue, Ballymena BT42 2AN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballymena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ballymena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Leighinmohr House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leighinmohr House Hotel Ballymena, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing