We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Adair Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adair Arms Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ballymena
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here for one night as me and my wife were atteding a wedding nearby. Reasonably priced room which was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was very good but would be nice to have potato and soda bread for visitors to try. The only downside, albeit a small one, was having to pay £1 everytime you wanted to get the car out of the car park. This was never explained on the website or in the hotel itself. I would expect car parking for residents to be free. Would recommed this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    94
    43
    13
    13
See reviews for
69
103
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

stayed at this hotel as we were attending a wedding nearby.staff were friendly and very helpful and the rooms were spotless and functional.our bathroom was spotless but could have been doing with a little bit of updating.its a gorgeous hotel and we were very impressed.
The breakfast buffet didnt disappoint either it was a fresh well stocked tasty buffet with all the usual extras.
Now we found the carpark a pain.its so pokey and tight to turn and also we had to pay a pound to exit.
My one annoyance was after a great sleep in a very comfy bed we were wakened by doors being opened and closed and hoovers going at 8 in the morning.8 isnt an obscene wake up call but if it had of been earlier i would have been mighty peeved.
All round a fab place to stay and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Recently organised an evening function here for the wedding anniversary of my parents.
From the initial contact to settling the bill, we received excellent service.
The events manager couldn't have been anymore helpful.
The evening went off so well. The room was very nice and we were able to use the lounge area outside. It was just perfect for the number of people there.
The food served at the supper was very tasty and the corkage charges for wine brought was very reasonable indeed. We were most impressed by it all.
Would certainly recommend anyone considering organising a function to think about having it here.
My parents had their wedding reception here 40 years ago was extra special for them. The fact the hotel is still going strong, says it all!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff in a wonderful hotel, would highly recommend going. Hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Ballymena. Food is amazing, with gorgeous desserts. Entertainment at the weekend is a bonus

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed in the this hotel just for one night. It is in the centre of Ballymena which is great. Its a beautiful hotel inside. Staff at the desk were lovely and very welcoming. Our room was fine, spotlessly clean with plenty of pillows and towels in the bathroom. Breakfast was tasty and again, the waiting staff were lovely. My only complaint was the housekeeping staff. From about 06.30, the door banging started. They would leave a room and allowed the door to slam behind them. Drove me mad as its not often I get away and get to have a lie in. Might seem trivial to some, but there you have it. Aside from this, this hotel is beautiful and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carberry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgene, General Manager at Adair Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am really pleased that you enjoyed the surroundings and atmosphere in the hotel and that you were well looked after by our team.

I am sorry to hear about the problems with the doors on the morning of your visit. We do checks to see that the doors are quiet closing, and it appears that a few of the doors have been missed and are needing maintenance attention.

Thank-you for bringing this to my attention and I will see that this problem is corrected. We strive to ensure that our guests get a great night’s sleep and are sorry that you did not get this experience.

I hope you return again soon and look forward to seeing you then.
Kind regards Stella Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We visited the Adair Arms in July as we were attending a wedding at the Galgorm Resort and wanted a more affordable option.

When we arrived on the morning of the wedding enquired about somewhere to leave our bags as we were about 3 hours early. We were told by the lovely staff that we could have early check in so that we could get ready in our room. The room was spacious and clean as was the modern bathroom. When we rang room services for an iron they were more than wiling to oblige and brought the iron within 5 minutes of us calling.

The night porter was very friendly when we arrived back at around midnight and assisted us as we had trouble with our taxi driver.

The breakfast buffet was varied and the cooked breakfast was tasty and plentiful. As we were leaving we enquired about somewhere we could print off a boarding pass and Mable on reception allowed us to use one of their computers.

Overall a good stay and I would recommend it to anyone attending a wedding at Galgorm as it is a 10 minute taxi journey, about £5.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We found this through Tripadvisor and my God we were not dissapointed,from start to finish we say no more than, FABULOUS.
Free easy Parking, staff wonderful, Bar excellent ,food surperb, we cannot praise them all enough.
Central to N.Ireland good for sight seeing, and known by locals as the best shopping town , outside Belfast.

Room Tip: WE had 110 111 and fron facing great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymena
2.9 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,995 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
842 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Dunsilly Hotel
Dunsilly Hotel
#1 of 3 in Antrim
366 reviews
17.1 mi away
Corrs Corner Hotel
Corrs Corner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtownabbey
382 reviews
12.8 mi away
Dunadry Hotel
Dunadry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunadry
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adair Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adair Arms Hotel

Property: Adair Arms Hotel
Address: 1-7 Ballymoney Road, Ballymena BT43 5BS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballymena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ballymena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adair Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1846, the Adair Arms Hotel has proudly stood in the centre of the popular and busy town of Ballymena. The hotel was originally built by Sir Robert Adair and was designed by Sir Charles Lanyon, who was responsible for many well known buildings in Northern Ireland, such as the prestigious Queen’s University in Belfast. Illuminating the character of yesterday and capturing the ambiance of today, the Adair Arms Hotel offers 41 luxurious bedrooms, 6 conference and banqueting suites, a coffee bar, public bar and serves an extensive grill menu all day everyday in the Adair Grill. Guests can avail of free carparking, unlimited free Wifi access and enjoy live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday Night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Adair Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adair Arms Hotel Ballymena, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing