We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal in the Adair Arms”
Review of Adair Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adair Arms Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ballymena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Went to the Adair Arms with work colleagues for our Christmas meal out. Lovely hotel ,friendly and helpful staff,good wholesome food- not fine dining but well cooked traditional fare which is really good value for money. On site parking.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate123belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Adair Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 324 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Perfect hotel highly recommended. I have no regrets for staying there. Breakfast was excellent, staff extremely friendly and helpful. Live music in the bar was brilliant! More like 4 star hotel than 3 star.

Room Tip: Just want to warn anybody who is staying in the rooms above the bar. Might be noisy with the music p...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosy898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I last stayed at the Adair Arms in 1991, at which time it was a rather shabby and run-down place, although with lots of character. It was good to see that the place is still in existence and seemingly flourishing. It seemed to have rather gone upmarket in the last 20 years.

The Adair is situated close to the town centre of Ballymena and local amenities. It has a private car park and serves food in a grill and bar. The food was excellent and service friendly. Much patronised by local people, which is always a good sign. Our room was clean, well equipped and well maintained. In spite of having been upgraded in recent times the place still has bags of character.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BobScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with 4 other work colleagues. I was very happy with my stay the food was first class and the staff were friendly and helpful.
In one of the rooms the shower was broken we reported this and it was repaired the next day. One of my colleagues was staying in the room which was above the bar where the live music was playing so he found it hard to sleep so, if you stay there do not sleep in the front of the hotel.My room was clean and nicely decorated.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Sian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We tend to go to The Adair Arms most Friday nights and the music usually plays to 12.30am. Twice lately the music stopped at 12 as there were guests in the bedrooms above. I think the hotel needs to look after their regular customers and have music until 12.30 not those who stay occcassionally.

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank vivyviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I Stayed here a couple of weeks ago on a long weekend motorcycling weekend, I have to say this is a very good hotel with private parking, rooms where clean and tidy on the small side but thats not a problem you only sleep in them. Beds where very comfortable and loads of hot water and a good shower what more could you ask for.
We where on a half board basis( Evening meal in the deal) now I have to say the food was out of this world and loads of it those Irish folk certainly know how to feed you the bar was a good bar entertainment on Friday and Saturday night it was ok but on the Thursday there was a group of locals wandered in and started playing some traditional folk music now that was very very good Guinness was very reasonable priced all in all a very enjoyable weekend

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was attending a wedding nearby and after looking at various hotels in the area I opted for The Adair Arms.
On checking in the receptionist was lovely and helpful. I was a few hours before the official check in time but she checked that my room was ready and allowed me to check in. My room looked recently refurbished. Very pleasant surprise.
The staff in the restaurant for breakfast were all very friendly.
I enjoyed my stay here and I would recommend it if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DamianBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymena
1.3 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
885 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leighinmohr House Hotel
Leighinmohr House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ballymena
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
325 reviews
8.7 mi away
Dunsilly Hotel
Dunsilly Hotel
#1 of 3 in Antrim
373 reviews
12.8 mi away
Dunadry Hotel
Dunadry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunadry
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adair Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adair Arms Hotel

Address: 1-7 Ballymoney Road, Ballymena BT43 5BS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballymena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ballymena
Price Range: $114 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adair Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1846, the Adair Arms Hotel has proudly stood in the centre of the popular and busy town of Ballymena. The hotel was originally built by Sir Robert Adair and was designed by Sir Charles Lanyon, who was responsible for many well known buildings in Northern Ireland, such as the prestigious Queen’s University in Belfast. Illuminating the character of yesterday and capturing the ambiance of today, the Adair Arms Hotel offers 41 luxurious bedrooms, 6 conference and banqueting suites, a coffee bar, public bar and serves an extensive grill menu all day everyday in the Adair Grill. Guests can avail of free carparking, unlimited free Wifi access and enjoy live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday Night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Adair Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adair Arms Hotel Ballymena, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing